View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 56 of 105 FirstFirst ... 646545556575866 ... LastLast
Results 551 to 560 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #551
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Come on smarties! Address post #550.

  2. #552
    Guru
    sawdust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Last Seen
    03-04-16 @ 09:47 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    3,177

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    We are no longer a melting pot. We are more like raspberry vinaigrette. If you let us sit, we separate. We have also become an arm of El Programa 3 x 1 Para Migrantes which assists Mexicans living abroad in sending money back home for social welfare projects. Our state department advertises our social programs on Mexican TV.

    Having said that, I was not a fan of the Coke Super Bowl ad. I told Coke. This was their form letter in response.

    Thank you for your email and your loyalty to Coca-Cola over the years, . We greatly value your business and appreciate hearing from you.

    “It’s Beautiful” was created to celebrate Coke moments among all Americans who together enjoy ice cold, refreshing Coke. For centuries America has opened its arms to people of many countries who have helped to build this great nation. “It’s Beautiful” provides a snapshot of the real lives of Americans representing diverse ethnicities, religions, races and families, all found in the United States. All those featured in the ad are Americans and “America The Beautiful” was sung by bilingual American young women.

    We believe “It’s Beautiful” is a great example of the magic that makes our country so special, and a powerful message that spreads optimism, promotes inclusion and celebrates humanity – values that are core to Coca-Cola.

    You can find out more about our ad by going to Journey. I really appreciate your feedback and hope this will keep you as a valued customer of ours. We appreciate your interest in our Company.

    Kalee J
    Industry and Consumer Affairs
    The Coca-Cola Company

    Please use the record number below should you have additional questions.

    {ticketno:[8003197872]}
    "A democracy cannot exist as a permanent form of government. It can only exist until the majority discovers it can vote itself largess out of the public treasury." Attributed to Alexander Tytler

  3. #553
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    More on construction site accidents and other related issues due to inability to communicate.

    The solution, many people say, is to train everyone in a common language. ''We just view that as a primary safety consideration,'' said Paul Fernandes, spokesman for the Building and Construction Trades Council of Greater New York, noting that the union's apprenticeship programs have an English-as-a-second-language component. ''Ordinarily, everyone should have to be able to speak English on the job, because if even one person doesn't, that could be affecting dozens or hundreds of people.''

    Language barriers on the job are an even bigger problem among day laborers, nonunionized workers who are less likely to speak English, Mr. Fernandes added.

    If English is not a common tongue, a second line of defense is to have an interpreter on hand, construction veterans say. Failing that, said Jim Pakenham, safety director for Bovis Lend Lease, a large national construction company, in emergency situations, ''You use sign language.''

    Even so, many foreign-born workers are unaware of safety hazards and their right to safe working conditions. Fearful over their job security or possibly tenuous immigration status, they are less likely to complain and more likely to be in danger, worker advocates said.

    One of the largest threats to the safety of non-English-speaking employees is their failure to report hazards, said Laurie Kellogg, training representative for the Union of Needletrades, Industrial and Textile Employees. ''There's fear of talking to the boss, and the complete lack of awareness that there are safety rules,'' she said. ''Then you'll have people doing dangerous things because their supervisor told them to.''

  4. #554
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by joko104 View Post
    The level of which people become the most simpleton sheep when they go into the partisan slogans crap is amazing.

    This is "ENGLISH"



    You and others are taking a kindergarten view of language and communication is the most simplistic loyalty to what? Like Hatuey you need Latinos to be a separated from others so you can declare you are fighting against their oppression, while often making your hatred of Latinos known in other ways?
    I think that because they are SO full of hatred, that they think everyone is hateful like they are.

  5. #555
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Hatuey View Post
    Work efficiently? For whom? Are we a hive mind now? Look, I know that when your post gets picked apart you no longer want to play. However, the fact remains that people use English as they need to. Millions of people get by every single day with the same methods of communication and networking others have used. That's not going to change by imposing laws on language. What are we? Quebec? You never answered though: How many languages do you speak other than English? If it's only English, it would explain why you have such a limited vocabulary.
    Address post #550 then. What is your solution?

  6. #556
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by X Factor View Post
    Do you only respect those who agree with you? Because that's how it appears.
    This is par for the course with this poster. I haven't really seen him be respectful towards any fellow posters.

  7. #557
    Sage
    Arcana XV's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Geneva, Switzerland and Rochester, NY
    Last Seen
    10-22-17 @ 10:25 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    6,412

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    What is it that you people cannot understand about what WE are saying? We are not saying we don't want immigrants or that we dislike their culture or their languages.

    Now I'm going to say this again, so pay CLOSE attention to the words here: The problem here is that these immigrants (illegals who cannot speak english), ADD to our poverty level. They are hurting THEMSELVES too. We need to be able to COMMUNICATE with one another in order to make things work. If we cannot communicate with one another, that is going to lead to a lot of misunderstanding and DANGEROUS SITUATIONS.

    Do you get it now? Or are you all still going to cry bigotry because that's all you can see in everything?
    That's fine and perfectly understandable, Chris. I don't think anyone is really disputing that. At least, I haven't seen anyone in this thread advocating for a nation where everyone speaks whatever language they feel like speaking and where there isn't one or more (believe it or not, countless countries make that work) common language(s). I think what many people don't understand is the disproportionate reaction to a harmless and quite positive ad. The problems you raise are real and it would be foolish to ignore them, but is that what the ad in the OP is supposed to be about? Or is the message a much simpler one: America is beautiful no matter what language you say it in?
    "Yes, but are you a Protestant atheist or a Catholic atheist?".- Northern Irish joke

  8. #558
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    (none)
    Last Seen
    04-04-15 @ 09:11 PM
    Lean
    Communist
    Posts
    6,112
    Blog Entries
    1

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    "If English was good enough for Jesus when he wrote the Bible it should be good enough for coke." ~Nobody said that.

  9. #559
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcana XV View Post
    That's fine and perfectly understandable, Chris. I don't think anyone is really disputing that. At least, I haven't seen anyone in this thread advocating for a nation where everyone speaks whatever language they feel like speaking and where there isn't one or more (believe it or not, countless countries make that work) common language(s). I think what many people don't understand is the disproportionate reaction to a harmless and quite positive ad. The problems you raise are real and it would be foolish to ignore them, but is that what the ad in the OP is supposed to be about? Or is the message a much simpler one: America is beautiful no matter what language you say it in?
    Well I agree with your analysis of the commercial, but obviously this conversation has gone beyond just talking about the meaning of the commercial at this point.

  10. #560
    Sage
    Arcana XV's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Geneva, Switzerland and Rochester, NY
    Last Seen
    10-22-17 @ 10:25 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    6,412

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by sawdust View Post
    We are no longer a melting pot. We are more like raspberry vinaigrette. If you let us sit, we separate. We have also become an arm of El Programa 3 x 1 Para Migrantes which assists Mexicans living abroad in sending money back home for social welfare projects. Our state department advertises our social programs on Mexican TV.

    Having said that, I was not a fan of the Coke Super Bowl ad. I told Coke. This was their form letter in response.
    “America The Beautiful” was sung by bilingual American young women.

    Well, there you go. Case closed. American and bilingual. Does anyone have a problem with this?
    "Yes, but are you a Protestant atheist or a Catholic atheist?".- Northern Irish joke

Page 56 of 105 FirstFirst ... 646545556575866 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •