View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 55 of 105 FirstFirst ... 545535455565765 ... LastLast
Results 541 to 550 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #541
    Sage
    shrubnose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Europe
    Last Seen
    11-29-17 @ 03:46 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    18,851
    Blog Entries
    2

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Grant View Post
    You're a rather harsh music critic.



    Mostly for those who sound like xenophobes.

    Others-not so much.

  2. #542
    King Conspiratard
    Dr. Chuckles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Last Seen
    02-13-14 @ 03:04 PM
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    12,895

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Hatuey View Post
    You haven't been to a major city in a while, have you? Try walking into a Chinese restaurant and getting the waiters to say more than "Numba 42. Spicy? Okay!"
    My grand father made a decent living working the steel mills. I doubt that is going to be replicated slinging number 42s at your local ****i-wok. my point being that back in the early and mid 1900's, it was much easier to earn a decent wage while not knowing english due to the type of jobs that were available, now, things are more specialized

  3. #543
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    (none)
    Last Seen
    04-04-15 @ 09:11 PM
    Lean
    Communist
    Posts
    6,112
    Blog Entries
    1

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    I understand what they were going for, but the concept still made me vaguely uncomfortable.

    If a nation's citizens need one thing in common in order to function effectively, it tends to be a language they can all speak and mutually understand. Tolerance for multiculturalism is all well and good, but it cannot be a society's primary objective in and of itself.

    It simply doesn't lead anywhere productive.
    Could that one language be Spanish? or Chinese?

  4. #544
    On Vacation
    joko104's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Last Seen
    12-03-17 @ 03:32 AM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    31,568
    Blog Entries
    2

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Hatuey View Post
    In Joko's train of thought, there are only two languages in existence. English and not-English. We're all philistines.
    Your view of what language and communications is nonsensical. Nor do I believe you know Spanish and French. You think it would be cool to know both so claim that you do.

    Mostly, you apparently have NO clue that languages are to communicate with other people. You WANT people put into ethic and racial categories and what them kept separate - "but equal - by language. How else could you goal of preserving bigotries succeed?

    You logic is the logic of why it was a criminal offense to teach slaves to read English. You do not want inferior people to you - meaning racially and ethnically - to be part of your society.

  5. #545
    On Vacation
    joko104's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Last Seen
    12-03-17 @ 03:32 AM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    31,568
    Blog Entries
    2

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Hatuey View Post
    You haven't been to a major city in a while, have you? Try walking into a Chinese restaurant and getting the waiters to say more than "Numba 42. Spicy? Okay!"
    Bigoted messages are your specialty.

  6. #546
    Sage
    Dragonfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    East Coast - USA
    Last Seen
    Today @ 10:08 AM
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    15,506

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    I fail to see how this particular coke commercial could in any way be offensive or insulting to anyone.

    How soft and pathetic have "we" become when something of this nature causes disgust or discomfort?

  7. #547
    Sage
    Arcana XV's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Geneva, Switzerland and Rochester, NY
    Last Seen
    10-22-17 @ 10:25 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    6,412

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Dragonfly View Post
    I fail to see how this particular coke commercial could in any way be offensive or insulting to anyone.

    How soft and pathetic have "we" become when something of this nature causes disgust or discomfort?
    I was stumped as well at first, but it turns out that, not being an American citizen myself, I was seeing the ad through different eyes. I saw it as a message to other cultures that America's doors are open to them. No matter what country you're from or what language you speak, you'll be welcome to our beautiful country. It seems that many Americans saw the ad and interpreted it quite differently. They saw something sinister that awoke fears of losing their identity as a nation. I'm not saying they don't have a valid point, mass immigration tends to cause cultural shifts and seeing something familiar slowly morphing into something altogether different is very unsettling. Unfortunately, there's not much that can be done about it. It's the very essence of human history. Cultures rise and fall, merge, evolve and change.
    "Yes, but are you a Protestant atheist or a Catholic atheist?".- Northern Irish joke

  8. #548
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Grant View Post
    That happens to all of us on occasion, and welcome home.
    What happens to all of us on occasion?

  9. #549
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    What is it that you people cannot understand about what WE are saying? We are not saying we don't want immigrants or that we dislike their culture or their languages.

    Now I'm going to say this again, so pay CLOSE attention to the words here: The problem here is that these immigrants (illegals who cannot speak english), ADD to our poverty level. They are hurting THEMSELVES too. We need to be able to COMMUNICATE with one another in order to make things work. If we cannot communicate with one another, that is going to lead to a lot of misunderstanding and DANGEROUS SITUATIONS.

    Do you get it now? Or are you all still going to cry bigotry because that's all you can see in everything?

  10. #550
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Now here is an example of just SOME of the things that can happen on the job site when people cannot communicate with one another.

    For Hard Hats, a Confusion of Tongues
    By TINA KELLEY
    Published: December 15, 1999
    EMAIL
    PRINT

    Last summer, as a worker welded steel beams in a church in Aurora, Colo., falling sparks ignited wooden trusses below. Another worker, seeing the flames and smoke, yelled a warning, but the welder did not understand a word.

    He spoke Spanish; his co-worker spoke Russian. So the fire spread, causing several hundred thousand dollars in damages. ''If someone could've communicated there, there would've been less damage, and they could have stopped the spread of the fire,'' said Terry Kish, director of human resources services for the Colorado Contractors Association in Englewood.

    As more immigrants pour into the United States, more workplaces are resounding with the sound of foreign tongues. Keeping the lines of communication open among linguistic groups is important in any work setting, of course, but nowhere is it more critical than in the construction trade, where misunderstandings can set in motion million-dollar mistakes -- or cost lives.

    The Occupational Safety and Health Administration cites the example of a demolition worker who was killed last year when he was struck by the boom of the machine he was operating while demolishing a Manhattan office building. He left the machine while it was running and inadvertently pressed the boom control pedal. The safety instruction book was written in English; the worker understood only Polish.

Page 55 of 105 FirstFirst ... 545535455565765 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •