View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 5 of 105 FirstFirst ... 345671555 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #41
    Sage
    Phys251's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Georgia
    Last Seen
    Today @ 03:52 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Liberal
    Posts
    12,771

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by soccerboy22 View Post
    In terms of commercials it was one of the better ones, although that isn't saying much because most of them were about as terrible as the actual game, but I didn't see anything really wrong with the commercial.
    Agreed. I can count the number of good commercials on one hand. This was one of them.
    "A man you can bait with a tweet is not a man we can trust with nuclear weapons." --Hillary Rodham Clinton
    "Innocent until proven guilty is for criminal convictions, not elections." --Mitt Romney

  2. #42
    Sage
    opendebate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Last Seen
    09-17-17 @ 01:28 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    7,315

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Wiseone View Post
    I thought I was paraphrasing the Constitution, apparently I saying something Orwellian. How disconnected are you?
    You don't want an answer to that question
    "Judge a man by his questions rather than his answers" - Voltaire
    "There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow men. True nobility lies in being superior to your former self" -Hemingway

  3. #43
    Pragmatist
    SouthernDemocrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    KC
    Last Seen
    Today @ 06:04 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    17,414

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Phys251 View Post
    Man, if some people are getting butthurt about THIS ad, I'd hate to think what the reactions would be to the banned anti-Redskins ad...
    Don't you know they fixed that?

    WASHINGTON—Following an outpouring of criticism from across the country, the Washington Redskins announced Wednesday that they are officially changing the team’s name to the D.C. Redskins. “We’ve heard the concerns of many people who have been hurt or offended by the team’s previous name, and I’m happy to say we’ve now rectified the situation once and for all,” said franchise owner Dan Snyder, adding that “Washington Redskins” will be replaced with “D.C. Redskins” on all team logos, uniforms, and apparel. “It was a difficult decision—and one that, frankly, I’m a little embarrassed took me so long to make. So hopefully we can now put this issue to bed and start cheering on our D.C. Redskins.” In light of Snyder’s decision, Cleveland Indians owner Larry Dolan told reporters he will change the feather in Chief Wahoo’s headdress from red to a “more appropriate” shade of red.
    Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]-700-jpg

    Washington Redskins Change Their Name To The D.C. Redskins | The Onion - America's Finest News Source
    "You're the only person that decides how far you'll go and what you're capable of." - Ben Saunders (Explorer and Endurance Athlete)

  4. #44
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by pbrauer View Post
    It was one of the Super Bowl ads:

    Lame as hell is what I thought.

  5. #45
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by opendebate View Post
    I don't think they are the ones that make the distinction or separate themselves. I believe that is imposed on them by people who think that unless you look and act like me you can't belong to my club. There is nothing wrong with acknowledging and retaining the parts of your individual culture that you are proud of, ours is not better then theirs.
    The immigrants of the 19th Century faced far more discrimination and prejudice than any today. They assimilated just fine, precisely because they didn't really have any other choice.

    Today's culture, by way of contrast, encourages "multiculturalism" instead. As a consequence of that, many minority groups are opting not to assimilate, but rather remain distinct from the main body of our society.

    As I have already stated, this is problematic for a variety of reasons; most of which center around the fact that this philosophy leads individuals to identify more with their ethnicity than with their nation, or culture of their nation, as a whole.

    Quote Originally Posted by SouthernDemocrat View Post
    You are describing tribalism with that. Moreover, getting upset over an ad like this that most people would not give a second thought to is an example of tribalism on your part.

    Social conservatives tend to have an authoritarian tendency to want others to conform to the culture and beliefs of their tribe.
    This is our tribe's land. Why on earth wouldn't we expect them to conform to our standards if they want to live here?

    Surely, you agree that a single, more or less unified, tribe is better than a loose confederation of different tribes jealously vying against one another for power and privilege?
    Last edited by Gathomas88; 02-04-14 at 01:00 AM.

  6. #46
    The Dude
    Kobie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Western NY
    Last Seen
    Today @ 06:04 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    42,903

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by SouthernDemocrat View Post
    I don't like it because it was written by a communist sympathizer, I like it because I think of the United States as a land more than anything else. I am sure others see it differently.
    Relax, I was just funnin'.
    Freedom of speech is not freedom from criticism.

  7. #47
    Pragmatist
    SouthernDemocrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    KC
    Last Seen
    Today @ 06:04 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    17,414

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    This is our tribe's land. Why on earth wouldn't we expect them to conform to our standards?

    Surely, you agree that a single, more or less unified, tribe is better than a loose confederation of different tribes jealously vying against one another for power and privilege?
    That is my point, we are and always have been a land of many tribes. I think its better to have a land of many tribes where most people could care less about tribalism myself. That is my thing, I don't care how many cultures we have. I just get worried when people start getting tribal about it.
    "You're the only person that decides how far you'll go and what you're capable of." - Ben Saunders (Explorer and Endurance Athlete)

  8. #48
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Ft. Campbell, KY
    Last Seen
    12-31-14 @ 08:37 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    12,177

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    The immigrants of the 19th Century faced far more discrimination and prejudice than any today. They assimilated just fine, precisely because they didn't really have any other choice.

    Today's culture, by way of contrast, encourages "multiculturalism" instead. As a consequence of that, many minority groups are opting not to assimilate, but rather remain distinct from the main body of our society.

    As I have already stated, this is problematic for a variety of reasons; most of which centering around the fact that it leads individuals to identify more with their ethnicity than the nation or culture of the nation as a whole.



    This is our tribe's land. Why on earth wouldn't we expect them to conform to our standards if they want to live here?

    Surely, you agree that a single, more or less unified, tribe is better than a loose confederation of different tribes jealously vying against one another for power and privilege?
    Problem is that you'd have a hell of a time writing any law that would define how much of a person's culture they could practice without first throwing out the Constitution first. And hell what if it isn't even their culture but just a culture they want to practice? For example I've spent a lot of time studying Chinese, studying abroad in China, I've got a lot of experience and appreciation for that culture and language. However I'm still white American who grew up as a military brat and have no family connection to Chinese culture whatsoever but what I wanted to practice that culture, move myself to Chinatown, eat, work, and live like the other folks living there?

    Why shouldn't I be allowed to?

  9. #49
    Dungeon Master
    Hooter Babe

    DiAnna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Northern California
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    32,637
    Blog Entries
    1

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by opendebate View Post
    You're not serious. Are you?
    Yes, I am. I love that song, grew up loving it, and to hear it suddenly sung in unrecognizable gobble-d-gook just for the sake of an ideological agenda offended me to the core.

    I love the "we are the world" songs; I love Mexican music, I love hearing it in their language, despite my own Spanish being sadly deficient; I grew up surrounded by Mexican culture, and the children of that culture were my playmates and my friends; I love the diversity of this country, and the various cultures.

    I do not love having the songs of this country, the ones that have given me pleasant tingles since childhood, ravaged to where I can no longer even understand the words. I felt the same way when I heard the opening of a sports event preceded by the Star Spangled Banner sung in Spanish. It was incredibly rude, pathetically transparent, and yes, I ****ing hate it.

  10. #50
    Guru
    Republic Now!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Last Seen
    09-12-14 @ 11:40 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    2,671

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Wiseone View Post
    I'm glad you aren't implying it, and I never said you were, now can you cut down on the sarcasm or is this going to get even dumber than it already is?
    No one is implying it.
    One who makes himself a worm cannot complain when tread upon.

Page 5 of 105 FirstFirst ... 345671555 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •