View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 45 of 105 FirstFirst ... 3543444546475595 ... LastLast
Results 441 to 450 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #441
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Hatuey View Post
    After about 60-150 years. Which makes your current complaining about all those relatively new immigrant groups who won't assimilate: Unwarranted.
    The Irish, Italians, and other European groups were "assimilated" within two or three generations. The latest wave of Latin immigration has been going on for almost that long already, and shows no such signs of integrating into our mainstream culture.

    There was never any ridiculous talk of becoming a "bi-lingual" nation when those earlier waves of immigrants arrived on our shores either.

  2. #442
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Behind the Orange Curtain
    Last Seen
    01-30-15 @ 01:29 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    15,633

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by loader View Post
    I now difference between fructose (corn syrup, Coke made in US) and sucrose (sugar,Coke made in Mexiсo and Coke made specially for Passover in US), but i can't taste a differences. I drink tea. Hot black tea grown in India and Ceylon. I brew it in a special ceramic vessel. Nothing can compare with the color, taste and aroma of the real tea leaves. I never drink trash in the bags.
    I'm an iced tea drinker by choice. Went on a green tea kick for ten or so years.

    But when it comes to hot brews it's Colombian coffee, nothing else. Black Columbian coffee.

    The only time I drink a Coke or Shasta is when I'm eating pizza, Tex-Mex or burgers. Never as a beverage by itself.

    What I understand that it's advised to chase down pizza and Mexican foods with a carbonated drink, either a carbonated soft drink or beer.

  3. #443
    Sage
    sangha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Lower Hudson Valley, NY
    Last Seen
    09-17-17 @ 05:48 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    59,990

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    And they all (with the exception of the Africans and the Native Americans, which wasn't even their fault anyway) assimilated into mainstream American culture, and happily embraced American notions of nationalism.

    If the only reason you're in our nation is to leech off of the benefits our economy and welfare state provides, while giving nothing back in return and not even bothering to try and learn our language or customs (which is pretty much exactly what you just suggested), you can go fly a kite for all I care. We neither need nor want you here.
    Speak for yourself.

    Regardless of why people come here, the fact is clear that their ancestors will become fully assimilated into American culture.




    Which is an excellent argument for why we need to pick up our own birthrates, and not blindly rely upon immigrant populations who may very well have no intention of respecting our values or way of life instead.

    If we're not careful, they might very well wind up taking over outright.


    PS - immigrants are more likely to have traditional values than american citizens.
    Quote Originally Posted by matchlight View Post
    Justice Thomas' opinions consistently contain precise, detailed constitutional analyses.
    Quote Originally Posted by jaeger19 View Post
    the vast majority of folks that need healthcare are on Medicare.. both rich and poor..

  4. #444
    Sage
    sangha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Lower Hudson Valley, NY
    Last Seen
    09-17-17 @ 05:48 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    59,990

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    The Irish, Italians, and other European groups were "assimilated" within two or three generations. The latest wave of Latin immigration has been going on for almost that long already, and shows no such signs of integrating into our mainstream culture.
    Nonsense. Latinos are assimilating just fine.
    Quote Originally Posted by matchlight View Post
    Justice Thomas' opinions consistently contain precise, detailed constitutional analyses.
    Quote Originally Posted by jaeger19 View Post
    the vast majority of folks that need healthcare are on Medicare.. both rich and poor..

  5. #445
    Sage
    Hatuey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Last Seen
    Today @ 03:57 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    42,048

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    The Irish, Italians, and other European groups were "assimilated" within two or three generations.
    The latest wave of Latin immigration has been going on for almost that long already, and shows no such signs of integrating into our mainstream culture.
    That's 60 years at best. 115 years at worst. So which one are we going with? Either/or I'm fine. If we're going by 20-25 year generations: In the 1950s there were about 1 million Latin American immigrants in the US. Today, about 40% of Hispanics were born outside of the US. This essentially means that out of maybe 20-25 million Latin American immigrants a good 8-10 million will be first generation immigrants that fit well within my statement about immigration trends. The other 12-15 million will be just now entering the assimilation phase of immigrants. Which again makes your complaining: unwarranted as they are fulfilling the trend all other groups have. They own stores, speak English, wave your precious flags and eat hot dogs. Don't worry though in another 30-40 years, they'll be complaining that people aren't coming here and speaking English.

    There was never any ridiculous talk of becoming a "bi-lingual" nation when those earlier waves of immigrants arrived on our shores either.
    That happens when you live in a society that thinks the Irish are subhumans, the Italians are all murderers and the Scottish are good for nothing drunks. Today, most people ain't taking that ****. Good for them.
    Last edited by Hatuey; 02-05-14 at 12:20 AM.
    I refuse to accept the view that mankind is so tragically bound to the starless midnight of racism and war that the bright daybreak of peace and brotherhood can never become a reality. - MLK

  6. #446
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by sangha View Post
    Speak for yourself.

    Regardless of why people come here, the fact is clear that their ancestors will become fully assimilated into American culture.
    That is far from a given, especially considering how our existing culture seems to be in decline at the present moment.

    Seemed to work out swimmingly for Lebanon, didn't it?

    Lebanese Civil War

    Frankly, demographic shift wouldn't even be all that much of a problem, if, the immigrants in question would simply assimilate into mainstream American culture, as every past wave of immigrants did. These most recent arrivals are not.

    This is creating a cultural rift within our country which could become dangerous if current trends continue.

  7. #447
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Behind the Orange Curtain
    Last Seen
    01-30-15 @ 01:29 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    15,633

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by sangha View Post
    Actually, with our declining fertility rates, we do have a need for immigration to bolster our population growth
    There are already 150 million to many people in America today. Congress during the 1920's after adopting the Dillingham Commission Report to Congress suggested that America cap it's population at 150 million.

    When America did reach the 150 million mark (and I was around when we did) and if you were around back then you should remember the government telling Americans to stop popping out so many babies.

  8. #448
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Port Jarvis NY
    Last Seen
    03-22-14 @ 02:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    1,039

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by APACHERAT View Post
    I'm an iced tea drinker by choice. Went on a green tea kick for ten or so years.

    But when it comes to hot brews it's Colombian coffee, nothing else. Black Columbian coffee.

    The only time I drink a Coke or Shasta is when I'm eating pizza, Tex-Mex or burgers. Never as a beverage by itself.

    What I understand that it's advised to chase down pizza and Mexican foods with a carbonated drink, either a carbonated soft drink or beer.
    My wife is "coffee people". Morning coffee and coffee at night. I have high blood pressure and I stopped drinking this drink at all

  9. #449
    Sage
    sangha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Lower Hudson Valley, NY
    Last Seen
    09-17-17 @ 05:48 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    59,990

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    That is far from a given, especially considering how our existing culture seems to be in decline at the present moment.
    It has far more to support it (ie all of our history) than your speculation, which has nothing to support it.


    Seemed to work out swimmingly for Lebanon, didn't it?
    You think Lebanon's problems are due to immigration?
    Quote Originally Posted by matchlight View Post
    Justice Thomas' opinions consistently contain precise, detailed constitutional analyses.
    Quote Originally Posted by jaeger19 View Post
    the vast majority of folks that need healthcare are on Medicare.. both rich and poor..

  10. #450
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Behind the Orange Curtain
    Last Seen
    01-30-15 @ 01:29 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    15,633

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by sangha View Post
    Nonsense. Latinos are assimilating just fine.
    Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]-daylaborercontempt-jpg

    Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]-theman-jpg

Page 45 of 105 FirstFirst ... 3543444546475595 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •