View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 42 of 105 FirstFirst ... 3240414243445292 ... LastLast
Results 411 to 420 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #411
    Sage

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Last Seen
    09-24-17 @ 04:38 AM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    29,261

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    This land is my land, and only my land. I've got a shotgun, and you ain't got one. If you don't get off, I'll blow your head off. This land is private property.

    Then in a Grapes of Wrath way I'll do asit in

  2. #412
    Sit Nomine Digna
    Carjosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    Last Seen
    Today @ 02:01 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    11,190

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Grant View Post
    And they mistrust l'anglais. Don't blame them though with the prejudiced media they have in Quebec, which is one of the disadvantages of speaking just one language. You're stuck with just one media source.
    It's not just Quebec, any French speaking region. Most English speaking people are limited to one news source as well then.

  3. #413
    Sage
    sangha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Lower Hudson Valley, NY
    Last Seen
    09-17-17 @ 05:48 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    59,990

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    I think it's a bit obtuse to debate the meaning of this commercial when the meaning is clear

    It's meant to get people to buy their product.

    End of story.
    Quote Originally Posted by matchlight View Post
    Justice Thomas' opinions consistently contain precise, detailed constitutional analyses.
    Quote Originally Posted by jaeger19 View Post
    the vast majority of folks that need healthcare are on Medicare.. both rich and poor..

  4. #414
    Sage
    Arcana XV's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Geneva, Switzerland and Rochester, NY
    Last Seen
    10-22-17 @ 10:25 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    6,412

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Grant View Post
    Life is too short to learn German.
    It could be worse. I could have ended up in Astana or Bucharest.
    "Yes, but are you a Protestant atheist or a Catholic atheist?".- Northern Irish joke

  5. #415
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by sangha View Post
    I think it's a bit obtuse to debate the meaning of this commercial when the meaning is clear

    It's meant to get people to buy their product.

    End of story.
    Didn't work. I'm still drinking Pepsi. Also, it's a more patriotic soda because it's red, white and blue.

  6. #416
    Sage
    Arcana XV's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Geneva, Switzerland and Rochester, NY
    Last Seen
    10-22-17 @ 10:25 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    6,412

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Carjosse View Post
    It's not just Quebec, any French speaking region. Most English speaking people are limited to one news source as well then.
    Nah. It's mostly the French. Belgians, Swiss Romands and even French Canadians are much less reticent to learn another language.
    "Yes, but are you a Protestant atheist or a Catholic atheist?".- Northern Irish joke

  7. #417
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Canada, Costa Rica
    Last Seen
    05-16-16 @ 09:45 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    31,645

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by winston53660 View Post
    It ain't necessarily so. Supreme Court Expands the Power of Eminent Domain

  8. #418
    Sit Nomine Digna
    Carjosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    Last Seen
    Today @ 02:01 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    11,190

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcana XV View Post
    Nah. It's mostly the French. Belgians, Swiss Romands and even French Canadians are much less reticent to learn another language.
    That is what I said. Though my friend in Belgium speaks four languages including German and English.

  9. #419
    Sage

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Last Seen
    09-24-17 @ 04:38 AM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    29,261

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by sangha View Post
    I think it's a bit obtuse to debate the meaning of this commercial when the meaning is clear

    It's meant to get people to buy their product.

    End of story.
    That fits in perfectly with the song and that is what it was and still is about. And I really have no problem with that. I have a problem with problem with people getting suckered by that

  10. #420
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Canada, Costa Rica
    Last Seen
    05-16-16 @ 09:45 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    31,645

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcana XV View Post
    It could be worse. I could have ended up in Astana or Bucharest.
    Or Cologne, if you were traveling alphabetically.

    I learned Spanish in Central America and this often surprises people because I'm blond. Sometimes I need a dark haired person to translate my Spanish to the other dark haired person's Spanish. Life can be confusing for us gringos of non-color.

Page 42 of 105 FirstFirst ... 3240414243445292 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •