View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 40 of 105 FirstFirst ... 3038394041425090 ... LastLast
Results 391 to 400 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #391
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcana XV View Post
    To be fair, only 7% of that 7% said that they couldn't speak English at all.

    There's nothing wrong with speaking a different language at home so long as you can speak your community's primary language in public.

  2. #392
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Grant View Post
    Actually we are not in disagreement and we share the same ideals. What bothers me, okay what amuses me, is their demanding tone and suggestions of 'compromise'. Where did they learn that?

    Court Considers “Mexican Heritage Day” US Flag Ban, School Fears Offended Hispanic Punks Violent Reactions

    There are other examples but this was the first I googled.
    yeah, that's really wrong, letting these children intimidate the schools like that? Obviously they aren't learning the right way to behave and get along, that's for sure.

  3. #393
    Sage
    Arcana XV's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Geneva, Switzerland and Rochester, NY
    Last Seen
    10-22-17 @ 10:25 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    6,412

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Grant View Post
    I'm sure you were considerate enough to start speaking Swiss as soon as you got off the boat!
    I actually already was fluent in French and Italian. My German was passable and I learned Swiss German in no time. Almost everyone speaks English here anyway.
    "Yes, but are you a Protestant atheist or a Catholic atheist?".- Northern Irish joke

  4. #394
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcana XV View Post
    This is about people speaking a second language in addition to English. From your link.

    This should not surprise too many Americans, but the number of people in the United States speaking another language other than English at home has nearly tripled since 1980.

    The statistic far outpaces the overall population growth.

    According a new report from the Census Bureau, some 60.6 million people, nearly 1 in 5 people age 5 or older, speak a language other than English in 2011, up from 23 million in 1980.
    This is not the problem that I have. My problem is when immigrants cannot speak English at all.

  5. #395
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Now, these numbers are very low, but this is part of the problem. This problem with English contributes to our overall poverty.

    Here are the shocking statistics:

    - Those speaking a language other than English at home (7 percent), said they spoke English "not at all," including 9.7 percent of Chinese speakers and 9 percent of Spanish speakers. Another 15.4 percent of those who speak another language at home said they spoke English "not well."

    - Among those who speak a language other than English at home, nearly two-thirds or 37.6 million speak Spanish, up from 11 million in 1980.

  6. #396
    Sage


    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    IL
    Last Seen
    Today @ 04:16 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    36,805

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    I followed the thread last night until around post #140 and didn't post.
    I wanted to see whether I still agreed with your points on assimilation and
    different cultures being more to themselves today compared to 100 years ago.
    I see this as a problem in our schools also.
    Different waves of immigrants from Europe every few decades have assimilated.

    I wish I would have kept going in Spanish when I got to college--2 years only in HS were offered--
    at times in school and in public venues I am uncomfortable with what I believe is gang-banger activity in Spanish.
    Schools in the Southwest, as well as here in Illinois, are requiring Spanish-certification, even though you're teaching Chemistry .
    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    I'm actually not opposed to amnesty in this regard, TBH. We simply need to crack down on illegal immigration, so we don't have to deal with such problems in the first place.
    Physics is Phun

  7. #397
    Sit Nomine Digna
    Carjosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    Last Seen
    Today @ 01:31 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    11,190

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcana XV View Post
    I actually already was fluent in French and Italian. My German was passable and I learned Swiss German in no time. Almost everyone speaks English here anyway.
    I found all the Germans speak perfect English even the homeless, the French not so much.

  8. #398
    Sage
    Arcana XV's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Geneva, Switzerland and Rochester, NY
    Last Seen
    10-22-17 @ 10:25 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    6,412

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    To be fair, only 7% of that 7% said that they couldn't speak English at all.

    There's nothing wrong with speaking a different language at home so long as you can speak your community's primary language in public.
    Don't get me wrong, I absolutely agree with making every effort to learn the majority language wherever you happen to live. In my experience, though, the US is the easiest place in the world to get away with not doing that. There are entire communities who never learn English and they're doing just fine. Some parts of the country, it's like being in Havana or Beijing.
    "Yes, but are you a Protestant atheist or a Catholic atheist?".- Northern Irish joke

  9. #399
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Some more interesting data.

    Student Characteristics

    [QUOTE]This study describes students who attended public schools primarily in the 1980s and examines their outcomes through 1990. Although the number of students in urban schools remained stable at about 11 million between 1980 and 1990, the proportion of those students who were living in poverty or who had difficulty speaking English increased over the decade. The proportion of students in urban schools who belonged to an Hispanic or "other" minority group (which includes Asians and Pacific Islanders) increased over the decade, while the proportion who were white declined and the proportion who were black stayed about the same. The increasing proportion of children with non-English backgrounds in urban locations has led to a greater proportion of children with difficulty speaking English in those locations.

    Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]-96184a-gif

    Aside from the greater likelihood of being poor and having difficulty speaking English, urban students were more likely than suburban students to be exposed to risks that research has associated with less desirable outcomes. Urban students were more likely to be exposed to safety and health risks that place their health and well-being in jeopardy, and were less likely to have access to regular medical care. They were also more likely to engage in risktaking behavior, such as teenage pregnancy, that can make desirable outcomes more difficult to reach.[QUOTE]

  10. #400
    Sage
    Arcana XV's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Geneva, Switzerland and Rochester, NY
    Last Seen
    10-22-17 @ 10:25 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    6,412

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Carjosse View Post
    I found all the Germans speak perfect English even the homeless, the French not so much.
    The French suck at learning languages.
    "Yes, but are you a Protestant atheist or a Catholic atheist?".- Northern Irish joke

Page 40 of 105 FirstFirst ... 3038394041425090 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •