View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 4 of 105 FirstFirst ... 234561454104 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #31
    Guru
    Republic Now!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Last Seen
    09-12-14 @ 11:40 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    2,671

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by opendebate View Post
    Exactly why not?
    The commercial was not making the suggestion that we abandon the core principles that this country promises to represent and serve. It's reminding us what those fundamental promises are. That people no matter what their faith or ethnicity are welcome here and will be provided equal opportunity and be judged by their deeds not their color or their faith or their language.

    It is also not making the suggestion that we abandon english as our primary language, it has nothing to do with the language we speak or teach. It is about the diversity that makes us strong and makes America unique.
    You're racist to imply someone is a different color because they speak a different language.
    One who makes himself a worm cannot complain when tread upon.

  2. #32
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Ft. Campbell, KY
    Last Seen
    12-31-14 @ 08:37 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    12,177

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Republic Now! View Post
    No, I was agreeing with you. If you think its absurd, stop saying things like it.



    Oh.

    What does the first amendment have to do with anything if there are no laws being proposed that mandates English be spoken?



    Racist!



    There it is.



    Of course. No one has proposed otherwise.



    No one has proposed otherwise.



    No one has proposed otherwise.



    No one has proposed otherwise.



    No one has proposed otherwise.



    No one has implied such.



    And the notion that you must have a big toe shorter than the middle toe in order to be a pizza man is ridiculous and goes against the spirit of common sense.

    Fortunately, no one has implied such and therefore we should be okay and don't really need to bring it up until such a thing is proposed.
    I'm glad you aren't implying it, and I never said you were, now can you cut down on the sarcasm or is this going to get even dumber than it already is?

  3. #33
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by opendebate View Post
    Exactly why not?
    Sunnis, Kurds, and Shia.

    Bosnian Muslims and Serbian Christians.

    Tutsis and Hutus.

    Making too much of a point of playing up ethnic distinctions within national populations simply doesn't lead to anything productive. People come to relate more to their specific group than they do the national body as a whole.

    We already see shades of this in our current society with incidents like the Trayvon Martin shooting.

    The last thing we need to do is encourage further differentiation. Whether by design or not, that is exactly what the coke ad in question does.
    Last edited by Gathomas88; 02-04-14 at 12:43 AM.

  4. #34
    Pragmatist
    SouthernDemocrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    KC
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:51 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    17,420

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Republic Now! View Post
    Every country has a culture. I'm tired of the "America has no culture" meme. Of course we do. We just don't notice it because it seems arbitrary to us.

    One example of an aspect of America's culture is Antiquarianism. We like history, and we like to preserve history for ourselves and future generations. We have buildings all over the country that are preserved to remember the past. 9/11 is a good example as well, as many were concerned with how we were going to honor those lost at the site. Not everyone does this. Another example is our admiration of freedoms such as freedom of speech, which isn't shared in a lot of places. Of course, we also appreciate people sharing their cultures with us, but that doesn't mean we don't have our own.
    Almost every country preserves its historical landmarks, there is nothing uniquely American about that. Certain parts of the country have a distinct culture, but unlike most countries we don't have a national culture. For example, culturally the upper midwest is so different than the deep south that they may as well be different countries. How much culture does Wyoming have in common with Massachusetts? The Pacific Northwest culturally has far more in common with Canada than it does with say, Arkansas or Tennessee.

    That said, while we don't have a national culture, we do have something of a national character. For example, and this is subjective of course, but I think the most American in terms of character / persona president we have ever had is Teddy Roosevelt. While he didn't embody a national culture, he did embody what I think most of the world sees as the American character more than any other president we have had.

    I think what defines America more than anything else is our diversity and our land / wilderness more than anything else.
    "You're the only person that decides how far you'll go and what you're capable of." - Ben Saunders (Explorer and Endurance Athlete)

  5. #35
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Removable Mind View Post
    Multiculturalism isn't achievable. Respecting others cultures who want to keep their traditions and values within our borders, while understanding the importance of mutually subscribing to common traditions and values, which are imperative for a nation such as our to be cohesive and strong for the good of our nation...is how it really works best.

    Multiculturalism creates a lot of minority groups who ultimately vie for power...which in the process divide our common interests as a nation.

    And to be clear...none of the above is in anyway in conflict with the idea of diversity. Diversity is how America came into its own. But those within the diversity recognized the need for shared common values, traditions and beliefs so that we would always come together for the general welfare of the whole.

    Just my 2 cents.
    I actually agree with this.

  6. #36
    Sage
    opendebate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Last Seen
    09-17-17 @ 01:28 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    7,315

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    Sunnis, Kurds, and Shia.

    Bosnian Muslims and Serbian Christians.

    Tutsis and Hutus.

    Making too much of a point of playing up ethnic distinctions within national populations simply doesn't lead to anything productive. People come to relate more to their specific group than they do the national body as a whole.

    We already see shades of this in our society now with incidents like the Trayvon Martin shooting.

    The last thing we need to do is encourage further differentiation. Whether by design or not, that is exactly what the coke ad in question does.
    I don't think they are the ones that make the distinction or separate themselves. I believe that is imposed on them by people who think that unless you look and act like me you can't belong to my club. There is nothing wrong with acknowledging and retaining the parts of your individual culture that you are proud of, ours is not better then theirs.
    "Judge a man by his questions rather than his answers" - Voltaire
    "There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow men. True nobility lies in being superior to your former self" -Hemingway

  7. #37
    Pragmatist
    SouthernDemocrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    KC
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:51 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    17,420

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    Sunnis, Kurds, and Shia.

    Bosnian Muslims and Serbian Christians.

    Tutsis and Hutus.

    Making too much of a point of playing up ethnic distinctions within national populations simply doesn't lead to anything productive. People come to relate more to their specific group than they do the national body as a whole.

    We already see shades of this in our society now with incidents like the Trayvon Martin shooting.

    The last thing we need to do is encourage further differentiation. Whether by design or not, that is exactly what the coke ad in question does.
    You are describing tribalism with that. Moreover, getting upset over an ad like this that most people would not give a second thought to is an example of tribalism on your part.

    Social conservatives tend to have an authoritarian tendency to want others to conform to the culture and beliefs of their tribe.
    "You're the only person that decides how far you'll go and what you're capable of." - Ben Saunders (Explorer and Endurance Athlete)

  8. #38
    Sage
    opendebate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Last Seen
    09-17-17 @ 01:28 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    7,315

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by DiAnna View Post
    I ****ing hate it.
    You're not serious. Are you?
    "Judge a man by his questions rather than his answers" - Voltaire
    "There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow men. True nobility lies in being superior to your former self" -Hemingway

  9. #39
    Sage
    Phys251's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Georgia
    Last Seen
    Today @ 12:12 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Liberal
    Posts
    12,785

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Man, if some people are getting butthurt about THIS ad, I'd hate to think what the reactions would be to the banned anti-Redskins ad...
    "A man you can bait with a tweet is not a man we can trust with nuclear weapons." --Hillary Rodham Clinton
    "Innocent until proven guilty is for criminal convictions, not elections." --Mitt Romney

  10. #40
    Pragmatist
    SouthernDemocrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    KC
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:51 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    17,420

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Kobie View Post
    Take it back to North Korea, commie.
    I don't like it because it was written by a communist sympathizer, I like it because I think of the United States as a land more than anything else. I am sure others see it differently.
    "You're the only person that decides how far you'll go and what you're capable of." - Ben Saunders (Explorer and Endurance Athlete)

Page 4 of 105 FirstFirst ... 234561454104 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •