View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 38 of 105 FirstFirst ... 2836373839404888 ... LastLast
Results 371 to 380 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #371
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Carjosse View Post
    You can also promote bilingualism like we do and language differences tend to end with the first generation immigrants, the children will speak whatever language is the official/dominant language(s) in the country.
    Are you kidding? That is ridiculous. Of COURSE, they have to be able to read, write and speak English in order to become a legalized citizen. How will they get a job and work? How can they read signs? Just a couple of issues there.

  2. #372
    Sit Nomine Digna
    Carjosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    Last Seen
    12-16-17 @ 10:41 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    11,208

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Goshin View Post
    That's part of the problem: some people seem to think we're being horrific terrible bigots if we expect them to learn to speak English.
    It is perfectly reasonable, speak the official language as a first language and and you can speak whatever you want as a second.

  3. #373
    American
    cpgrad08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Lakewood,WA
    Last Seen
    10-18-17 @ 07:14 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    5,388
    Blog Entries
    10

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Goshin View Post
    Exactly, thank you.


    It's one thing to have your own family traditions and celebrate your origins and such... nothing wrong with that.

    But when an inability to communicate with large swathes of the general population is the norm... how do you integrate? How do you establish a sense of belonging and fellow-citizenship when you can't even have a frigging conversation??



    As I said, in my own county (rural south), we have fairly substantial populations who speak Spanish, Vietnamese, Cambodian/Laotian, Korean, Chinese, Hindi and Arabic as their native tongues... can anyone seriously suggest that we accommodate ALL those languages in every gov't office? Even if we did, how do we form a community when most of the local natives can't talk to most of the Hispanics, who can't talk to the Cambodians, who can't carry on a conversation with the Hindi, etc etc... unless we pick one language as the real official language?

    Like say I dunno... English? Just a suggestion...
    Naw I think we should go with Latin.

  4. #374
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Canada, Costa Rica
    Last Seen
    05-16-16 @ 09:45 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    31,645

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    Exactly, they are responsible for themselves. There is no reason why we have to coddle immigrants and change our ways to make things easier for them, while at the same time making things even more difficult for ourselves. It doesn't even make sense to me that people would want a country where no one speaks the same language. How would you ever communicate with others to get anything accomplished? It would create such problems and cost so much extra money for signs in other languages, etc. It's just such a stupid suggestion.
    It seems there are some non-Americans who feel they have the power to tell Americans which laws they should enact and follow. Even an even tempered fellow like myself might get annoyed with this lot. http://www.nytimes.com/2014/02/04/us...mise.html?_r=0

  5. #375
    Global Moderator
    The Hammer of Chaos
    Goshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Dixie
    Last Seen
    Today @ 01:06 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    44,190

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    If I moved to Paris and applied for a work permit with intention of becoming a French citizen, one of the first and biggest items on my agenda would be "learn to speak French quickly and then work hard at mastering it!"


    Can't really be a Frenchman if you don't frigging speak French...

    Fiddling While Rome Burns
    ISIS: Carthago Delenda Est
    "I used to roll the dice; see the fear in my enemies' eyes... listen as the crowd would sing, 'now the old king is dead, Long Live the King.'.."

  6. #376
    Sit Nomine Digna
    Carjosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    Last Seen
    12-16-17 @ 10:41 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    11,208

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    Are you kidding? That is ridiculous. Of COURSE, they have to be able to read, write and speak English in order to become a legalized citizen. How will they get a job and work? How can they read signs? Just a couple of issues there.

    They should have to speak the language to a point unless claiming refugee status. Being fluent is unreasonable.

  7. #377
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Carjosse View Post
    It is perfectly reasonable, speak the official language as a first language and and you can speak whatever you want as a second.
    Has anyone here suggested that American citizens be denied that right?

  8. #378
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Grant View Post
    It seems there are some non-Americans who feel they have the power to tell Americans which laws they should enact and follow. Even an even tempered fellow like myself might get annoyed with this lot. http://www.nytimes.com/2014/02/04/us...mise.html?_r=0
    Okay, now here is where we might run into a bit of disagreement. I am not necessarily against amnestying children of illegal immigrants who were born and/or raised in this country. I just think it would be terrible to send a kid to his/her supposed "home country" when they really never even lived in that country and have only ever lived here.

    I'm really kind of torn on this particular issue when it comes to the children of immigrants, because they are kind of victims too.

  9. #379
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Carjosse View Post

    They should have to speak the language to a point unless claiming refugee status. Being fluent is unreasonable.
    I didn't say fluent. I stated earlier in the thread that immigrants should have at least a compulsory knowledge of English, including reading and writing. It is a requirement in this country anyway. People who cannot speak, read or write any English are more than likely going to be illegal.

  10. #380
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Port Jarvis NY
    Last Seen
    03-22-14 @ 02:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    1,039

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by APACHERAT View Post
    It's hyphen-Americanism and as one of the most famous progressives said, "But a hyphenated American is not an American at all.

    Showing the Huntington Beach Pier was All American.

    I might be switching from Coke to Shasta Cola.
    I worked for 15 years at Coca-Cola, but this stuff I do not drink.

Page 38 of 105 FirstFirst ... 2836373839404888 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •