View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 36 of 105 FirstFirst ... 2634353637384686 ... LastLast
Results 351 to 360 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #351
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Canada, Costa Rica
    Last Seen
    05-16-16 @ 09:45 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    31,645

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Carjosse View Post
    It is impossible to define an what an ideal Canadian is, it many different things to many different people. Canada.
    Many Canadians are not aware of the Canadian culture until they return home after spending some time in foreign cultures. I suspect the same is true for everyone.

  2. #352
    Sage
    opendebate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Last Seen
    09-17-17 @ 01:28 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    7,315

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    .............
    Making an actual effort to behave like one, and become a contributing member of our society.
    What does making an effort mean
    what does one do when they behave like one
    what qualifies someone to be classified as a contributing member

    The basic problems with these is that you, typically, offer a very narrow definition that really only works as long as you're the one making the rules.

    If a person moves to a foreign country, but continues to behave exactly as they did in their old homeland (even to the point of failing to learn the local language)
    For some people learning a second language is very difficult and they never master it. It does not mean the should be excluded from being considered an American

    It is basically an indicator showing that they have no real interest in becoming a member of their new nation, but are rather simply there for their own selfish gain
    Frankly that last part makes it sound like they would fit right in.

    as for being an indicator...that is a matter of your personal judgment and unless you have a big gold hat on your head, it is not a legitimate criteria for determining someones deservedness

    Unless they have something else we need (money, knowledge, valuable skills, etca), those kinds of people simply are not the type we need around.
    That's about as fundamentally an UnAmerican thing as I've heard anyone say. Please go back to your homeland.

    Some degree of proficiency in the English language should absolutely be required for citizenship. Immigrants who cannot communicate in the language used by roughly 99% of a given nation's population are of no use to anyone, and will likely only be a burden.
    Again don't assume inability means unwillingness. You have no idea WHY someone hasn't learned the language. Besides, something tells me that "not speaking english" creates an unwelcome burden for anyone immigrating here that I am sure they would rather not have.

    Are you actually saying that if you don't speak english you are of no use. Man that is so ****ed up I don't even know where to start.

    I've got no problem with diversity.
    As long as they are exactly like you?

    It's heart was in the right place. It's "multicultural" ideological focus was simply fundamentally flawed.
    You read all of that into it. I don't think the creators of the commercial are the ones with the problem here.

    The simple fact of the matter is that "Americaness" should trump all other ethnic considerations when a person chooses to settle in our country
    WTH does that even mean???!!!

    Rather, it was suggesting that common culture and identity did not matter, so long as some loose sense of patriotism was maintained.
    You are being superficial. It got to the very heart of what we have in common. Speaking a different language is not an indicator of what country you are loyal too.
    "Judge a man by his questions rather than his answers" - Voltaire
    "There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow men. True nobility lies in being superior to your former self" -Hemingway

  3. #353
    Global Moderator
    The Hammer of Chaos
    Goshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Dixie
    Last Seen
    Today @ 12:57 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    44,158

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    I think I read into it exactly what was meant; "we're all Americans, we simply speak different languages, and have different cultures."

    Again, that's fine. What I object to is the notion that this is a desirable thing in and of itself. Assimilation, and the unity it creates, should be the goal, not "multiculturalism," and the ethnic factionalism in which it always inevitably results.

    I don't think the ad itself was overly political. I was simply uncomfortable with its premise.


    One of the worst possible things in a given nation is large segments of the population who are utterly unable to communicate with each other.




    Just in my county, we have a large Hispanic community, a fairly large Asian community (mostly Hmong, Cambodian and Laotian, some Korean and Chinese also), fairly decent number of Hindi and a scattering of Pakistani and etc... well, not one person in a million is enough of a polyglot to learn ALL those languages... so we need ONE common tongue everyone speaks that is the official language.

    How can people feel a fellow-citizen-connection with a community they cannot communicate with? Not easily...

    Fiddling While Rome Burns
    ISIS: Carthago Delenda Est
    "I used to roll the dice; see the fear in my enemies' eyes... listen as the crowd would sing, 'now the old king is dead, Long Live the King.'.."

  4. #354
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Superfly View Post
    You don't see this happening, but a lot of people do. Not all immigrants are illegals. Many are hardworking citizens who pay taxes, go to work, put their kids in school, etc. Not these awful miscreants who are just drains on society.
    I'm not saying that they all are. There are plenty of hard working immigrants in this country who seem to legitimately understand how to become productive members of our society.

    Asian Americans, for instance; seem to "get" the idea behind assimilation remarkably well on average. They have prospered (some times, even to a greater extent than native born Americans) as such.

    However, you cannot really deny that there are some immigrant populations out there which seem to struggle with this concept, and that this can be a legitimate problem.

    The last thing we need to be doing right now is blatantly encouraging them to persist in such behavior.
    Last edited by Gathomas88; 02-04-14 at 09:38 PM.

  5. #355
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Canada, Costa Rica
    Last Seen
    05-16-16 @ 09:45 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    31,645

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Chuckles View Post
    Again, cultural assimilation and integration isn't a yes/no question. It's one of degrees and no one has endorsed the idea that everyone needs to be uniform.
    That would be reflected in E Pluribus Unum, a great motto.

  6. #356
    Sage
    opendebate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Last Seen
    09-17-17 @ 01:28 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    7,315

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Grant View Post
    I would think, as a free man, that in order to be a better person you should believe what I believe.

    You are not American, right?
    Are you one of those guys that wants to cram your words down other peoples throats. No thanks.
    "Judge a man by his questions rather than his answers" - Voltaire
    "There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow men. True nobility lies in being superior to your former self" -Hemingway

  7. #357
    Sit Nomine Digna
    Carjosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    Last Seen
    Today @ 02:01 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    11,190

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Grant View Post
    Many Canadians are not aware of the Canadian culture until they return home after spending some time in foreign cultures. I suspect the same is true for everyone.
    Canada kind of lacks the same type of defined culture that a county like the U.S. has. What I missed when I left was the people and things like the CBC. I also missed our politics believe it or not.

  8. #358
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by grip View Post
    Oh yah, I'd like to but the cost for any real, decent stay is astronomical. Even some more exotic places like New Zealand, Cancun, Cozumel, Belize, Morocco and Hawaii.
    Hawaii, that's another place I want to visit. Perfect weather all the time.

  9. #359
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Goshin View Post
    How can people feel a fellow-citizen-connection with a community they cannot communicate with? Not easily...
    Exactly. It simply isn't possible to form a meaningful sense of collective identity or purpose in such an environment.

    Instead, people tend to gravitate only to the interests of their particular ethnic group. This creates unnecessary factionalism, which can be (and often is) harmful to society as a whole if left unchecked.

  10. #360
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Canada, Costa Rica
    Last Seen
    05-16-16 @ 09:45 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    31,645

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Superfly View Post
    Not all immigrants are illegals.
    Who knew??

Page 36 of 105 FirstFirst ... 2634353637384686 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •