View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 33 of 105 FirstFirst ... 2331323334354383 ... LastLast
Results 321 to 330 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #321
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Canada, Costa Rica
    Last Seen
    05-16-16 @ 09:45 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    31,645

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by disneydude View Post
    What does the term "White Hispanic" mean to you?
    I'm more familiar with 'Hispanic' standing on its own than calling anyone a 'Black' , 'Brown' or 'White' Hispanic. Do they use those terms were you live?

  2. #322
    Sage

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    okla-freakin-homa
    Last Seen
    Today @ 11:52 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    12,630

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ocean515 View Post
    Of course I can. However, the topic is a commercial, and the story it's trying to tell in a matter of seconds.
    Ummm that in America, people who came from across the world have a common thread and love for the new homeland?

    Oh and have a Coke and a smile.....

  3. #323
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Robbie Loucks View Post
    The song was fine and the commercial was fine. I don't care if you disliked the commercial, but calling it "unamerican" and "disrespectful" makes you look like an Americentric ass.
    "Americentric?"

    It's an American commcerial, singing a patriotic American song, broadcast during the largest American sporting event of the year, dealing with an American socio-political issue. What the Hell else could it possibly be, but "Americentric?"

    Some of us happen to believe that this nation should be run primarily with the interests of its citizenry in mind, rather than "good intentions" and magic pixie dust. I apologize if you find the idea offensive.
    Last edited by Gathomas88; 02-04-14 at 07:38 PM.

  4. #324
    Sage
    Phys251's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Georgia
    Last Seen
    Today @ 02:50 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Liberal
    Posts
    12,784

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Superfly View Post
    Can you honestly say that if 100 Frenchmen came over, you would have a problem with it?

    Honestly, it's hypocritical that people are OK with some immigrants, but not others. If we are going to allow for certain nationalities, we have to allow for all of them. I am not pointing a finger at you, Chris - most people who are anti-immigration are actually anti-Mexican immigration, or anti-Cuban immigration.

    I just don't know why. Europeans come over here and within 5 days, they've gotten jobs, impregnated the boss's daughter and are building a house. Mexicans come over and they are cutting the Frenchman's grass, and looking over their shoulders for immigration.

    I don't understand why some is OK but not all.
    Because 'MURICA!
    "A man you can bait with a tweet is not a man we can trust with nuclear weapons." --Hillary Rodham Clinton
    "Innocent until proven guilty is for criminal convictions, not elections." --Mitt Romney

  5. #325
    Educator
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Last Seen
    12-14-15 @ 04:17 PM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    997

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    Some of us happen to believe that this nation should be run primarily with the interests of its citizenry in mind, rather than "good intentions" and magic pixie dust. I apologize if you find the idea offensive.
    Sorry, forgot that Coke runs the nation. Oops.

  6. #326
    King Conspiratard
    Dr. Chuckles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Last Seen
    02-13-14 @ 03:04 PM
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    12,895

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Superfly View Post
    Honestly, it's hypocritical that people are OK with some immigrants, but not others. If we are going to allow for certain nationalities, we have to allow for all of them. I am not pointing a finger at you, Chris - most people who are anti-immigration are actually anti-Mexican immigration, or anti-Cuban immigration.
    Why shouldn't I prefer one immigrant over another? Are we really pretending that all immigrants bring the same level of skill, education, and views with them? Would you tell a french man he was a bigot because he was against the idea of importing american well-fare queens or a bunch of backwards klansmen from the south, but ok with Indian doctors?

  7. #327
    Sage
    disneydude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Last Seen
    12-15-17 @ 12:36 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    25,145

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Grant View Post
    I'm more familiar with 'Hispanic' standing on its own than calling anyone a 'Black' , 'Brown' or 'White' Hispanic. Do they use those terms were you live?
    What does the term "white hispanic" mean to you? Caucasian?
    <font size=5><b>Its been several weeks since the Vegas shooting.  Its it still "Too Early" or can we start having the conversation about finally doing something about these mass shootings???​</b></font>

  8. #328
    Sage
    opendebate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Last Seen
    09-17-17 @ 01:28 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    7,315

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    "Americentric?"

    It's an American commcerial, singing a patriotic American song, broadcast during the largest American sporting event of the year, dealing with an American socio-political issue. What the Hell else could it possibly be, but "Americentric?"

    Some of us happen to believe that this nation should be run primarily with the interests of its citizenry in mind, rather than "good intentions" and magic pixie dust. I apologize if you find the idea offensive.
    What exactly does it take to be considered an American from your perspective? No one is required to speak english to become a citizen and once they do become a citizen they have just as much right to sing that song in any tongue they choose and they are every bit the American as you are.

    I would think, as an American, you would take pride in what was on display through that rendition of the song. Inclusiveness, tolerance, freedom.

    Seems like you are reading an awful lot into something pretty innocent and actually pretty lovely.
    "Judge a man by his questions rather than his answers" - Voltaire
    "There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow men. True nobility lies in being superior to your former self" -Hemingway

  9. #329
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by opendebate View Post
    What exactly does it take to be considered an American from your perspective?
    Making an actual effort to behave like one, and become a contributing member of our society.

    If a person moves to a foreign country, but continues to behave exactly as they did in their old homeland (even to the point of failing to learn the local language), they are clearly doing something wrong. It is basically an indicator showing that they have no real interest in becoming a member of their new nation's community, but are rather simply there for their own selfish gain.

    Unless they have something else we need (money, knowledge, valuable skills, etca), those kinds of people simply are not the type we need around.

    No one is required to speak english to become a citizen and once they do become a citizen they have just as much right to sing that song in any tongue they choose and they are every bit the American as you are.
    Some degree of proficiency in the English language should absolutely be required for citizenship. Immigrants who cannot communicate in the language used by roughly 99% of a given nation's population are of no use to anyone, and will likely only be a burden.

    I would think, as an American, you would take pride in what was on display through that rendition of the song. Inclusiveness, tolerance, freedom.

    Seems like you are reading an awful lot into something pretty innocent and actually pretty lovely.
    I've got no problem with diversity. I've also already stated that I did not find the commercial to be wholly objectionable.

    It's heart was in the right place. It's "multicultural" ideological focus was simply fundamentally flawed.

    The simple fact of the matter is that "Americaness" should trump all other ethnic considerations when a person chooses to settle in our country. If a person is not willing to make this sacrifice, they really have no business being here in the first place.

    That position clearly was not the idea the commercial was advocating in its message. Rather, it was suggesting that common culture and identity did not matter, so long as some loose sense of patriotism was maintained.

    This idea is counter-productive, unrealistic, and ultimately destructive. That is exactly why I was uncomfortable with the ad in question.
    Last edited by Gathomas88; 02-04-14 at 09:20 PM.

  10. #330
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Canada, Costa Rica
    Last Seen
    05-16-16 @ 09:45 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    31,645

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by disneydude View Post
    What does the term "white hispanic" mean to you? Caucasian?
    Why not send a letter too the editor of the NYTimes asking them what they mean by this? They used the term, not me. Or are you being deliberately thick here?

Page 33 of 105 FirstFirst ... 2331323334354383 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •