View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 31 of 105 FirstFirst ... 2129303132334181 ... LastLast
Results 301 to 310 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #301
    Guru

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Nevada
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    4,838

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Wiseone View Post
    You can't understand the concept that someone may have the same values as you but speak a different language as their primary tongue?
    In actual practice, that has proven to be completely false.

    The problem America is having with the non-Western immigrants of the past thirty years is that they all seem to rush to the Liberal Democrat Party on a permanent basis, without the random mathematical distribution that would be expected.

    Specific country immigration quotas need to be lowered so there are less immigrants and changed in order to achieve more diversity in the immigrant cultural population. It has been a terrible detriment to America to simply import entire cultures, such as Hispanics and Asians, while shutting out the rest of the world.
    Last edited by Ray410; 02-04-14 at 04:58 PM.

  2. #302
    Sage

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Last Seen
    Today @ 10:31 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    18,306

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Superfly View Post
    We don't need any pesky immigrants coming over to this country. I mean, it was good enough for our parents, grandparents and great grandparents, but not anymore! Borders are closed!
    I think it's more a case of what you think the USA was intended to be.

    Do you see it as a melting pot ...

    Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]-348px-themeltingpot1-jpg

    or as a smorgasbord ...


  3. #303
    Sage

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Last Seen
    Today @ 10:31 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    18,306

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Higgins86 View Post
    So technically America was founded by immigrants
    Ellis Island?

  4. #304
    Guru

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Last Seen
    07-04-15 @ 04:17 PM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    3,032

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcana XV View Post
    So I finally got a chance to actually take a look at the video. I honestly don't understand why so many people are offended or upset. It's actually a huge compliment to the United States. The way I understand the add, it's conveying the message that the country is still a beacon that attracts immigrants from all over the world. What the heck is the wrong with that??
    Absolutely nothing, Arcana. I don't understand why anyone would be upset myself.

  5. #305
    Sage
    Higgins86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    England
    Last Seen
    Today @ 12:57 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    13,253

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by bubbabgone View Post
    Ellis Island?
    came in Americas most important era and was the gateway to America for millions of immigrants who helped build, create and secure America.
    ‘This is not peace, it is an armistice for 20 years.’ (Ferdinand Foch. After the Treaty of Versailles, 1919).

  6. #306
    Question authority
    Grand Mal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    on an island off the left coast of Canada
    Last Seen
    Today @ 12:58 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    16,501
    Blog Entries
    1

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Ray410 View Post
    In actual practice, that has proven to be completely false.

    The problem America is having with the non-Western immigrants of the past thirty years is that they all seem to rush to the Liberal Democrat Party on a permanent basis, without the random mathematical distribution that would be expected.

    Specific country immigration quotas need to be lowered so there are less immigrants and changed in order to achieve more diversity in the immigrant cultural population. It has been a terrible detriment to America to simply import entire cultures, such as Hispanics and Asians, while shutting out the rest of the world.
    Maybe white conservatives just like it where they are. Maybe they don't want to move to the US.
    "I did not mean that Conservatives are generally stupid people. I meant that stupid people are generally Conservatives."
    -John Stuart Mill-

  7. #307
    Guru
    sawdust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Last Seen
    03-04-16 @ 09:47 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    3,177

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Does anyone see the irony of Muslims, many of whom come from countries that execute gays and subjugate women, are in the commercial singing a song written by a lesbian?
    "A democracy cannot exist as a permanent form of government. It can only exist until the majority discovers it can vote itself largess out of the public treasury." Attributed to Alexander Tytler

  8. #308
    Educator
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Last Seen
    12-14-15 @ 04:17 PM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    997

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    The song was fine and the commercial was fine. I don't care if you disliked the commercial, but calling it "unamerican" and "disrespectful" makes you look like an Americentric ass.

  9. #309
    Sage
    disneydude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Last Seen
    12-15-17 @ 12:36 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    25,145

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Grant View Post
    Actually it was the New York Times who referred to Zimmerman as a "White Hispanic". You actually should begin watching Fox News if you want a broader view of what's going on in the world. MSNBC shouldn't be your only source.
    LOL...no thank you. I don't watch FauxNews or MSNBC for the same reason. They are both propoganda outlets. As far as the NY Times, saying that Zimmerman was white and hispanic, I believe is accurate. I believe that he is bi-racial, unless I misunderstood. But it certainly isn't the same as calling him "white" or "Caucasian" which is what Rocketman was suggesting.
    <font size=5><b>Its been several weeks since the Vegas shooting.  Its it still "Too Early" or can we start having the conversation about finally doing something about these mass shootings???​</b></font>

  10. #310
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Canada, Costa Rica
    Last Seen
    05-16-16 @ 09:45 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    31,645

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by disneydude View Post
    LOL...no thank you. I don't watch FauxNews or MSNBC for the same reason. They are both propoganda outlets. As far as the NY Times, saying that Zimmerman was white and hispanic, I believe is accurate. I believe that he is bi-racial, unless I misunderstood. But it certainly isn't the same as calling him "white" or "Caucasian" which is what Rocketman was suggesting.
    Oh, I see the problem now.

    The NYTimes didn't say he was White and Hispanic.

Page 31 of 105 FirstFirst ... 2129303132334181 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •