View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 3 of 105 FirstFirst 123451353103 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #21
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Ft. Campbell, KY
    Last Seen
    12-31-14 @ 08:37 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    12,177

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by APACHERAT View Post
    Do you know what you just said ?

    FYI:

    " Those who control the language control the argument, and those who control the argument are more likely to successfully to translate the believe into policy."
    I thought I was paraphrasing the Constitution, apparently I saying something Orwellian. How disconnected are you?

  2. #22
    Guru
    Republic Now!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Last Seen
    09-12-14 @ 11:40 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    2,671

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by SouthernDemocrat View Post
    I think everyone should learn English in this country as its by far the dominate language. However, we have no American culture. Set aside immigrants, and there are still vast cultural differences between different areas in this country. If anything, what defines American culture is diversity.
    Every country has a culture. I'm tired of the "America has no culture" meme. Of course we do. We just don't notice it because it seems arbitrary to us.

    One example of an aspect of America's culture is Antiquarianism. We like history, and we like to preserve history for ourselves and future generations. We have buildings all over the country that are preserved to remember the past. 9/11 is a good example as well, as many were concerned with how we were going to honor those lost at the site. Not everyone does this. Another example is our admiration of freedoms such as freedom of speech, which isn't shared in a lot of places. Of course, we also appreciate people sharing their cultures with us, but that doesn't mean we don't have our own.
    One who makes himself a worm cannot complain when tread upon.

  3. #23
    Angry Former GOP Voter
    Fiddytree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Last Seen
    Today @ 11:12 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    25,631

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by SouthernDemocrat View Post
    I have said for years that with many conservatives, culture is more important than anything else, and the responses to this ad is very indicative of that. I don't see what the big deal is either way with it, I guess its just off my radar or something.
    Well, it certainly wasn't giving the country a middle finger, it wasn't going down the path of relativism...it was straight up Americana with two languages.
    Michael J Petrilli-"Is School Choice Enough?"-A response to the recent timidity of American conservatives toward education reform. https://nationalaffairs.com/publicat...-choice-enough

  4. #24
    Sage
    Lutherf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Last Seen
    Today @ 10:23 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    24,629

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    I can't say that I was offended by the ad but it would be nice if every once in a while someone remembered that "The New Colossus" is not our immigration policy.

  5. #25
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Behind the Orange Curtain
    Last Seen
    01-30-15 @ 01:29 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    15,633

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Wiseone View Post
    I thought I was paraphrasing the Constitution, apparently I saying something Orwellian. How disconnected are you?
    I'm over here on the American side.

    Disconnect and join US.

  6. #26
    The Dude
    Kobie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Western NY
    Last Seen
    Today @ 10:01 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    42,861

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by SouthernDemocrat View Post
    I don't know what the big deal is. That said my favorite patriotic song is This Land is Your Land so maybe I don't have the emotional investment in America the Beautiful to get upset when someone sings it in any other language than American.
    Take it back to North Korea, commie.
    Freedom of speech is not freedom from criticism.

  7. #27
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by SouthernDemocrat View Post
    I think everyone should learn English in this country as its by far the dominate language. However, we have no American culture. Set aside immigrants, and there are still vast cultural differences between different areas in this country. If anything, what defines American culture is diversity.
    We do have a culture. That's exactly the point. It might be a somewhat ad hoc and non-uniform culture, but we do still have one.

    Encouraging people to conform to it, rather than "do their own thing" is a desirable goal.

    Quote Originally Posted by Fiddytree View Post
    To an extent I can agree, but I also disagree. While it is understandably desirable to wish the hegemonic group to maintain dominance in all areas, including language, I feel that there is some short-sightedness going on too. For instance, if and/or when english does not become the dominant primary language, I would want the institutions, mythology, etc of the United States to be able to thrive without it. After all, although our language is dominantly english, we Americans pride ourselves on being based on a set number of ideas, rather than religion, ethnicity, and so forth. As the Coke ad does not diverge from the American ideological foundations (and instead seems to prop it up), I mostly say that this is another piece of good nationalism. I wouldn't wish this "Empire of Liberty" to be so totally reliant upon a language that it falls apart when it is no longer the most spoken. I'd rather it adopt a language as it needs to (although english is hardly going away, it's the most common language of international commerce-which is also a testament to our empire).
    We weathered the flood of immigrants that arrived on our shores in the 19th and early 20th centuries without losing the fundamental essence of our society. Losing that essence (of which, the English language is a central aspect) now would seem to indicate to me that something has gone pretty seriously wrong.

    Absent the culture responsible for its creation, can the United States even really be said to be the same nation anymore?

    Frankly, besides even that point, the other problem with the ad's ideology is that it doesn't propose anything to replace our current cultural consensus. It simply shows everyone sticking with their original cultural trappings and languages.

    As I said before, this strikes me as being problematic. That kind of thinking usually tends to lead not to national unity, but ethnical factionalism and partisanship.
    Last edited by Gathomas88; 02-04-14 at 12:35 AM.

  8. #28
    Sage
    opendebate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Last Seen
    09-17-17 @ 01:28 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    7,315

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    I understand what they were going for, but the concept still made me vaguely uncomfortable.

    If a nation's citizens need one thing in common in order to function effectively, it tends to be a language they can all speak and mutually understand. Tolerance for multiculturalism is all well and good, but it cannot be a society's primary objective in and of itself.

    It simply doesn't lead anywhere productive.
    Exactly why not?
    The commercial was not making the suggestion that we abandon the core principles that this country promises to represent and serve. It's reminding us what those fundamental promises are. That people no matter what their faith or ethnicity are welcome here and will be provided equal opportunity and be judged by their deeds not their color or their faith or their language.

    It is also not making the suggestion that we abandon english as our primary language, it has nothing to do with the language we speak or teach. It is about the diversity that makes us strong and makes America unique.
    "Judge a man by his questions rather than his answers" - Voltaire
    "There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow men. True nobility lies in being superior to your former self" -Hemingway

  9. #29
    Guru
    Republic Now!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Last Seen
    09-12-14 @ 11:40 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    2,671

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Wiseone View Post
    I was confused for a moment when I read this post, then I realized it was some straw man which explains why it has no connection whatsoever to my post.
    No, I was agreeing with you. If you think its absurd, stop saying things like it.

    Anyway, I didn't say anything you suggested I said.
    Oh.

    What does the first amendment have to do with anything if there are no laws being proposed that mandates English be spoken?

    I think everyone in this country should be able to speak English, English should be taught in schools, English should be the official language of our government (that's not to say government products cannot be offered in other languages), but do need to learn how to speak and use English to become productive members of society. Multiculturalism is fantastic and you have have every freedom there is to belong to whatever culture you want to, but pragmatism makes it pretty clear that a society needs a basis of language in order to function.
    Racist!

    BUT
    There it is.

    I also think that everyone has the freedom under the 1st amendment to speak whatever they language they want,
    Of course. No one has proposed otherwise.

    to learn whatever language they want,
    No one has proposed otherwise.

    to speak a foreign tongue in their homes,
    No one has proposed otherwise.

    their communities if they wish,
    No one has proposed otherwise.

    to use it as their primary tongue if they wish.
    No one has proposed otherwise.

    Freedom of speech is not freedom of English speech.
    No one has implied such.

    The notion that you can't be an American unless you speak English, and ONLY English, is xenophobic, racist, and goes against the spirit of the Constitution.
    And the notion that you must have a big toe shorter than the middle toe in order to be a pizza man is ridiculous and goes against the spirit of common sense.

    Fortunately, no one has implied such and therefore we should be okay and don't really need to bring it up until such a thing is proposed.
    One who makes himself a worm cannot complain when tread upon.

  10. #30
    Irremovable Intelligence
    Removable Mind's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Last Seen
    Today @ 11:12 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    23,479

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Multiculturalism isn't achievable. Respecting others cultures who want to keep their traditions and values within our borders, while understanding the importance of mutually subscribing to common traditions and values, which are imperative for a nation such as our to be cohesive and strong for the good of our nation...is how it really works best.

    Multiculturalism creates a lot of minority groups who ultimately vie for power...which in the process divide our common interests as a nation.

    And to be clear...none of the above is in anyway in conflict with the idea of diversity. Diversity is how America came into its own. But those within the diversity recognized the need for shared common values, traditions and beliefs so that we would always come together for the general welfare of the whole.

    Just my 2 cents.

Page 3 of 105 FirstFirst 123451353103 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •