View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 29 of 105 FirstFirst ... 1927282930313979 ... LastLast
Results 281 to 290 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #281
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Canada, Costa Rica
    Last Seen
    05-16-16 @ 09:45 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    31,645

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Grand Mal View Post
    I think that, in some, just the word 'immigrant' evokes fear and loathing.
    "A socialist, a Muslim, and an illegal immigrant walk into a bar. The bartender says, "What can I get for you Mr.President"?

  2. #282
    Sage
    Higgins86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    England
    Last Seen
    Today @ 12:23 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    13,243

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Grant View Post
    So I suppose that everyone in the untied States at the time of the signing became a 'naturalized' American citizen, sans ceremony or documents, and prior to that were a people without a country.

    In any case, it's an interesting trivia question.

    yeh had that one thrown at me at a family xmas party
    ‘This is not peace, it is an armistice for 20 years.’ (Ferdinand Foch. After the Treaty of Versailles, 1919).

  3. #283
    Sage

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    okla-freakin-homa
    Last Seen
    Today @ 05:09 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    12,619

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Manc Skipper View Post
    I just sat through it. Frankly, it's a boring tune, as most nationalist dirges are. Certainly nothing to get your Depends in a wad over.
    It works for Yanks as we are not a nation of singers like the 'Mother Country'....

    That Star Spangled Banner is just too uppity for most of us to even attempt.

    And it probably means a bit more to a Yank than a Tommy as we love our American imagery- purple majesties and all. All that was missing was a busty blonde in Daisy Dukes holding a Yoo-hoo and a sparkler.... Gawd Bless Ameerica, ya'll......

  4. #284
    Sage

    ocean515's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Southern California
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    24,705

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Wiseone View Post
    Lot of butt hurt man...



    Could have had the same impact, the message of lots of different kind of people coming together as one.
    Same impact? I'm thinking, profound...

  5. #285
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Ft. Campbell, KY
    Last Seen
    12-31-14 @ 08:37 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    12,177

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ocean515 View Post
    Same impact? I'm thinking, profound...
    Matter of perspective.

  6. #286
    Sage

    ocean515's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Southern California
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    24,705

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Wiseone View Post
    Matter of perspective.
    I suppose. One champions the separation, the other would have celebrated, well, you get the idea.

    Oh well, separation is the flavor of the era.

  7. #287
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Ft. Campbell, KY
    Last Seen
    12-31-14 @ 08:37 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    12,177

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ocean515 View Post
    I suppose. One champions the separation, the other would have celebrated, well, you get the idea.

    Oh well, separation is the flavor of the era.
    You can't understand the concept that someone may have the same values as you but speak a different language as their primary tongue?

  8. #288
    Sage

    ocean515's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Southern California
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    24,705

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Wiseone View Post
    You can't understand the concept that someone may have the same values as you but speak a different language as their primary tongue?
    Of course I can.

    However, the topic is a commercial, and the story it's trying to tell in a matter of seconds.

  9. #289
    Global Moderator
    Moderator

    Zyphlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    NoMoAuchie
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    47,939

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Wiseone View Post
    Could have had the same impact, the message of lots of different kind of people coming together as one.
    Personally, I think the impact of the "message" they were seemingly trying to send would've been more widely received and would've been more impactful...

    However...

    The controversy, and thus the amount of free additional publicity, would've been less.

    Contrary to the ridiculous stereotypes of bigoted folks...most conservatives are not anti-immigrant. They have a strong disdain for illegal immigration, and they also have a strong disdain in general for multiculturalism and a seeming celebration of non-assimilation.

    As I said in an earlier post, I think there would've been significantly less backlash had they went the route of everyone speaking English, but clearly affected by each person’s individual accent. Doing so would’ve kept one part of the message strong, that of a culturally diverse country, while helping to even out the strength of the other half of the message, that despite our diversity we all share a common heritage (love of country).

    By having each sing in English, with each individual accent showing through, you’d have a situation where the song itself isn’t simply part of the theme, but a wonderful unification of the themes….a commonly understood, bonding, symbol of our heritage that is clear and yet unmistakably touched upon by the unique differences of each person singing in the commercial. By simply using the melody, rather than the words, being that unifying factor I think it actually weakens the broad appeal of pushing that message.

    For those who appreciate multiculturalism, the presence and celebration of various cultures being spotlighted in the commercial would’ve been an uplifting bit of imagery. For those who appreciate assimilation, the presence of a clear common and patriotic thread through the singing of America the beautiful would’ve been an uplifting bit of imagery. Going this route, you have a broad appeal to those who come at the notion of immigration and cultural diversity in different ways.

    I personally don’t think there’s anything WRONG with the commercial. It’s not something that got me bothered; but it wasn’t exactly something I found uplifting either. I generally don’t support the tendency towards celebrating ones previous heritage over embracing and assimilating into the heritage of your new home, so the clearly one-sided focus of it didn’t touch me as it likely would others. I just kind of shrugged at it, and in my head went “ugg…this is going to cause a controversy”.

    But I do think with a simple tweak they could’ve created a far better commercial that would’ve still reached most of those it currently did, but also reach a lot more people as well. However, as I said…that’d probably cause less controversy, so in the end would’ve probably been a less “successful” commercial from a business stand point.

  10. #290
    Sage
    disneydude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Last Seen
    12-08-17 @ 05:00 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    25,129

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Rocketman View Post
    is that why liberals portrayed Zimmy versus Trayvon as black and white when Zim was not white at all but hispanic. I don't think liberals and progressives can make up their minds sometimes.
    I don't think you were paying attention. I don't know anyone who portrayed Zimmerman as white, nor do I view that as a "liberal" v. "conservative" issue.
    <font size=5><b>Its been several weeks since the Vegas shooting.  Its it still "Too Early" or can we start having the conversation about finally doing something about these mass shootings???​</b></font>

Page 29 of 105 FirstFirst ... 1927282930313979 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •