View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 27 of 105 FirstFirst ... 1725262728293777 ... LastLast
Results 261 to 270 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #261
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Canada, Costa Rica
    Last Seen
    05-16-16 @ 09:45 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    31,645

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Higgins86 View Post
    Worth pointing out that all of the founding fathers were British citizens, many had worn the uniform and were subjects of the crown. Van Buren was the first president born a citizen of the United States.
    Actually that's not quite right. Just in case one of the posters ever appears on Jeopardy here is the list.
    List of Presidents of the United States by home state - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

  2. #262
    Sage
    opendebate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Last Seen
    09-17-17 @ 01:28 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    7,315

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by DiAnna View Post
    You are free to disagree with me.
    Yes I am as are you.

    I don't need to be lectured about tolerance and freedom, and I don't need to be patronised nor spoken down to. You can disagree with me without being self-righteous,
    Sorry if you took it that way but I'm not, it certainly is not my intention. I am passionate about my perspective, just like you and I have every right to be. I may often be over sentimental for many on this forum, the only people I make the conscious choice to look down on are those who are openly cruel and hateful without any real provocation.

    whether you are interested in why I feel as I do or not.
    that's why I asked. It's supposed to be a discussion. You were passionate about your views and so was I. I don't disrespect you for your position but I do disagree with it.

    Your disagreement does not make you superior to me, and my sharing my history in growing up in the midst of another culture does not make me "condescending", despite your rude comment to the contrary. I makes me completely appreciative of the vibrancy of Mexican culture, of VietNamese culture, of Chinese culture, of Persian culture, of Filipino culture, all of which have given me friends, peers and colleagues who have enriched my life, as I hope I have enriched theirs.
    People put their opinions here for the very purpose of being discussed and challenged.


    This country goes the extra mile for its non-English speaking citizens, residents and guests. We provide free English tutoring, ballots and other public documents are available in dozens of different languages, translators are available free of charge for any who require them, from the classroom to the courtroom, one of the very few countries on the planet that does so. I support this wholeheartedly. I also understand that it sometimes takes a generation or two for assimilation into the American culture, an assimilation which does indeed require being able to eventually communicate with each other. The coexistence of the dozens and dozens of diverse cultures in America does add to our richness as a nation, but I will point out that although these cultures have maintained their history throughout the development of our nation as it is today, those cultures understood that eventually they would have to communicate in the common language of the nation in order to become a part of their new country, and not just an isolated pocket unable to understand their neighbors, and their own government officials.
    annoyed as I am by your intolerance of any who have differing opinions and life experiences than your own.
    You seem to be the one that is being intolerant and this is a gross over-reaction.

    You disappoint me.
    And you disappoint me. You're not my Mother. I don't care if I disappointed you. I care if I offended you because I respect and like you but your disappointment for your children. You're are overstepping your reach by even saying that.


    I am the most tolerant person you will ever know. My words my give you a different impression sometimes but you don't know me and you do not have enough information from what is provided in this forum to make such a judgment.
    "Judge a man by his questions rather than his answers" - Voltaire
    "There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow men. True nobility lies in being superior to your former self" -Hemingway

  3. #263
    Guru
    RogueWarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Atheist Utopia aka Reality
    Last Seen
    12-08-17 @ 10:47 PM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    3,631

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    You would think conservatives would applaud Coca-Cola for using the Super Bowl to reach a world wide audience, most of whom do not speak English. Capitalism 101 right there.
    Everyone is born a homo sapiens sapiens but not everyone is a human. -RW
    Trumplethinskin! 4 handicap and getting better every weekend!
    Alex Jones for Press Secretary!!!!!!


  4. #264
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Canada, Costa Rica
    Last Seen
    05-16-16 @ 09:45 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    31,645

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by polgara View Post
    My grandparents came from Northern Europe through Ellis Island. They had very limited knowledge of English, but they knew people who had arrived previously, and they learned from them, and others, just by being exposed to it. Brave souls, but they did it, and it didn't take four schools of language classes! My grandfather called a dime a "diamond," till he died. He gave us kids lots of "diamonds" for ice cream cones back then, and we didn't care what he called them!

    Greetings, Southern Democrat.
    We live in very sensitive times where anyone questioning the correct political positions is branded a 'racist', 'misogynist', anti Gay, and so on.

    However we should keep in mind that language is a means of communication only and encouraging people to speak the common language, especially in a 'melting pot' like the US, is not necessarily a bad thing.

    An argument was made a few years ago that 'Ebonics' should be taught to Black children in school because that's what they spoke in their neighborhoods. The result was that these Black children grew up to be unemployable.

    These people can be made welcome and encouraged to speak their native language, or any language they choose, but they are likely to be shut out from the mainstream and restricted to working and socializing only with those with the same language and culture. Without English the average person's world shrinks remarkably. And the better your English is the more employable and socially advanced you will become.That's just the way it is.

  5. #265
    Sage
    Erod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    North Texas
    Last Seen
    12-09-17 @ 11:30 AM
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    13,026

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Sounded like an ad for amnesty more than Coke.

    The CEO for Coca-cola is Turkish. I wasn't surprised.

  6. #266
    Sage
    polgara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:36 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    18,335

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Grant View Post
    We live in very sensitive times where anyone questioning the correct political positions is branded a 'racist', 'misogynist', anti Gay, and so on.

    However we should keep in mind that language is a means of communication only and encouraging people to speak the common language, especially in a 'melting pot' like the US, is not necessarily a bad thing.

    An argument was made a few years ago that 'Ebonics' should be taught to Black children in school because that's what they spoke in their neighborhoods. The result was that these Black children grew up to be unemployable.

    These people can be made welcome and encouraged to speak their native language, or any language they choose, but they are likely to be shut out from the mainstream and restricted to working and socializing only with those with the same language and culture. Without English the average person's world shrinks remarkably. And the better your English is the more employable and socially advanced you will become.That's just the way it is.
    Excellent post!

    Greetings, Grant.

  7. #267
    Sage
    Boo Radley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Last Seen
    11-22-17 @ 04:22 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    36,858

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by pbrauer View Post
    It was one of the Super Bowl ads:

    I thought it was fine. There is no legitimate reason for anyone to be offended. In fact, I may switch to Coke.

    AUSTAN GOOLSBEE: I think the world vests too much power, certainly in the president, probably in Washington in general for its influence on the economy, because most all of the economy has nothing to do with the government.

  8. #268
    Sage


    eohrnberger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 10:22 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    24,818
    Blog Entries
    11

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Grant View Post
    We live in very sensitive times where anyone questioning the correct political positions is branded a 'racist', 'misogynist', anti Gay, and so on.

    However we should keep in mind that language is a means of communication only and encouraging people to speak the common language, especially in a 'melting pot' like the US, is not necessarily a bad thing.

    An argument was made a few years ago that 'Ebonics' should be taught to Black children in school because that's what they spoke in their neighborhoods. The result was that these Black children grew up to be unemployable.

    These people can be made welcome and encouraged to speak their native language, or any language they choose, but they are likely to be shut out from the mainstream and restricted to working and socializing only with those with the same language and culture. Without English the average person's world shrinks remarkably. And the better your English is the more employable and socially advanced you will become.That's just the way it is.
    Very common sense and down to Earth.

    Not sure if the Super Bowl had a world wide TV audience which leads me to question why all the multilingual. Seems to me that the ad could have been just fine, as well as more applicable to the US population, leaving it all in English.

    Why is it 'politically correct' to ignore and affront the majority in favor of minorities? This seems like stupid political over-correctness to me.

  9. #269
    Guru
    RogueWarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Atheist Utopia aka Reality
    Last Seen
    12-08-17 @ 10:47 PM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    3,631

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Grant View Post
    Actually that's not quite right. Just in case one of the posters ever appears on Jeopardy here is the list.
    List of Presidents of the United States by home state - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    I would argue that John Tyler was the first because he was born after the ratification of the Constitution in 1789.
    Martin Van Buren was the first president born after the Declaration of Independence.

    Who do you think it might be if not one of those 2?
    Everyone is born a homo sapiens sapiens but not everyone is a human. -RW
    Trumplethinskin! 4 handicap and getting better every weekend!
    Alex Jones for Press Secretary!!!!!!


  10. #270
    Sage

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    okla-freakin-homa
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 09:14 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    12,619

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Ad_Captandum View Post
    I find myself agreeing with you again, Gathomas. What a sight. Multiculturalism is useful as a stepping stone to assimilation, but I entirely agree that a nation must have some sort of working lingua franca to get anywhere. France is actually pretty good at this. Despite a huge number of immigrants, French law is stringent that French and French only is the national language, and it is required that everyone in the country speak at least passable French if they want to do anything more than sit at home. This is, in my opinion, one of the last stumbling blocks before the EU can finally self-realise in a big way. I think maybe the French should conquer everyone again, get rid of all the Germans, then we could sweep in and impose English as the language of the EU after the Second Napoleonic World War. Plausible?
    It's kinda funny to read a someone in Scotland talk about lingua franca. I have been there and just like the Welsh, keeping a culture separate of the Brits is pushed.

    France doesn't have a 'huge' number of immigrants and of those many come from former colonies where french was enforced by colonial dictate. Have you read the history of the Toubon law the french enacted- it wasn't to stop immigrants from speaking their language but to keep ENGLISH commercials and many movies out of French commerce. Ironic a Scotsman is in favor of a law that was designed to keep his Queen's language out of France.

    France in no realistic way compares to the USofA as we don't have a ancient regime. We ARE a nation of immigrants, not a fairly uniform nation with over 1000 years of history taking on a few immigrants. While English as our primary is a nice idea fact is laws declaring it so are ignorant. While some of we claim assimilation is a good thing, 'sink or swim' isn't the best way to do that.

    But for me the biggest head shake is over the fact the hissy fit in the USofA over this is from the CONs about a soft drink known around the world by it's USofA name. From stinking jungles to euro trash discos you can get a 'COKE' with no additional comment.

Page 27 of 105 FirstFirst ... 1725262728293777 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •