View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 26 of 105 FirstFirst ... 1624252627283676 ... LastLast
Results 251 to 260 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #251
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Where I am now
    Last Seen
    09-11-17 @ 03:00 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    16,386

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    The first few seconds made me roll my eyes.

    But as they showed more and more different ethnicities and non-traditionally, American individuals...I actually grew to like it.


    The 'white', male WASP-dominated America is slowly becoming a thing of the past (thank goodness)...and this commercial emphasizes that.

    It was encouraging...if just a commercial.


    BTW - I am a 'white', male WASP.

  2. #252
    Sage
    Arcana XV's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Geneva, Switzerland and Rochester, NY
    Last Seen
    10-22-17 @ 10:25 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    6,412

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Chuckles View Post
    LOL!

    Omg how did he get out of that room alive!!??
    "Yes, but are you a Protestant atheist or a Catholic atheist?".- Northern Irish joke

  3. #253
    Sage
    Mach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Last Seen
    Today @ 08:33 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Liberal
    Posts
    11,496

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    The commercial should have been:

    Stop drinking so much god damned coke.
    And by the way, stop such being ****ing xenophobes, we're a nation of immigrants and love your damned neighbor.

    That's why I'm not in marketing.

  4. #254
    Why so serious?

    Moon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Washington State
    Last Seen
    Today @ 07:08 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    4,291

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by SouthernDemocrat View Post
    I guess conservatives believe it should not have been:

    "e pluribus unum" but rather "e pluribus unum conformare"
    I think you paint with a brush that is a tad bit broad.
    "I believe in a Spinoza's God who reveals himself in the harmony of all that exists, but not in a God who concerns himself with the fate and actions of human beings."

    --Albert Einstein, 1929

  5. #255
    Sage
    polgara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Last Seen
    Today @ 08:48 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    18,355

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by SouthernDemocrat View Post
    In addition to our biological son, we have 2 adopted daughters from China. One we adopted when she was 4 the other when she was 9. Neither of them spoke a word of English when we got them. We only spoke a few phrases in Mandarin. I can't imagine how scary it had to be for them. Our oldest came here just 3 weeks before she had to start school. So here she was, in a completely different country, could not speak a word of English, could not even talk to her new parents, and was going to school where no one would understand her either. The both picked up English really fast though from being immersed in it. That said, our oldest daughter still has a heavy accent despite having been here 4 years now. I think she is still going to sound fresh off the boat when she is 40.
    Kudos for your kindness! I can't imagine being in their shoes, and wondering what people are talking about!

  6. #256
    Pragmatist
    SouthernDemocrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    KC
    Last Seen
    Today @ 07:23 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    17,415

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by polgara View Post
    Kudos for your kindness! I can't imagine being in their shoes, and wondering what people are talking about!
    They both speak english fluently now. It was amazing how quick they picked it up. Kids pick up new languages in no time.
    "You're the only person that decides how far you'll go and what you're capable of." - Ben Saunders (Explorer and Endurance Athlete)

  7. #257
    Pragmatist
    SouthernDemocrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    KC
    Last Seen
    Today @ 07:23 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    17,415

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Moon View Post
    I think you paint with a brush that is a tad bit broad.
    I am being sarcastic because of the ridiculous reaction to this commercial.
    "You're the only person that decides how far you'll go and what you're capable of." - Ben Saunders (Explorer and Endurance Athlete)

  8. #258
    Sage
    disneydude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Last Seen
    Today @ 12:36 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    25,145

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    I think its great. For too long, media has portrayed America as a much more "white" country than it is. America is a melting pot. I'm sorry if it makes some people uncomfortable to actually see this, but America has ALWAYS been a melting pot and its becoming less and less white every day.
    <font size=5><b>Its been several weeks since the Vegas shooting.  Its it still "Too Early" or can we start having the conversation about finally doing something about these mass shootings???​</b></font>

  9. #259
    Guru

    HonestJoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Last Seen
    Today @ 02:58 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    3,497

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Well, the advert worked because you're all talking about Coke, which is what it would have been about. The handful of reactionaries talking about never drinking it again probably won't follow through and are minor in relation to the cultural indoctrination they've achieved. Some PR guy earned his bonus this month.

    As for the manufactured controversy (I wouldn't be surprised is some of the early negative reactions were paid for by Coke), I say "Meh". It's not news that lots of people in the USA speak other languages but that doesn't mean they don't speak English too. I saw some follow-up videos featuring some of the people singing and they spoke perfectly good English (better than many "real" Americans in some cases). Speaking the primary language of the country you're living in is vital but being multilingual should never be something looked down on, quite the opposite in fact.

    Anyway, some of the people in the advert were speaking/singing true American languages and not the one you stole from us and corrupted beyond all recognition.

  10. #260
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Last Seen
    02-18-14 @ 08:18 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    5,660

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by disneydude View Post
    I think its great. For too long, media has portrayed America as a much more "white" country than it is. America is a melting pot. I'm sorry if it makes some people uncomfortable to actually see this, but America has ALWAYS been a melting pot and its becoming less and less white every day.
    is that why liberals portrayed Zimmy versus Trayvon as black and white when Zim was not white at all but hispanic. I don't think liberals and progressives can make up their minds sometimes.

Page 26 of 105 FirstFirst ... 1624252627283676 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •