View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 25 of 105 FirstFirst ... 1523242526273575 ... LastLast
Results 241 to 250 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #241
    Sage
    Higgins86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    England
    Last Seen
    Today @ 04:45 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    13,252

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by bubbabgone View Post
    That doesn't satisfy the "America was founded by immigrants" claim.
    Worth pointing out that all of the founding fathers were British citizens, many had worn the uniform and were subjects of the crown. Van Buren was the first president born a citizen of the United States.
    ‘This is not peace, it is an armistice for 20 years.’ (Ferdinand Foch. After the Treaty of Versailles, 1919).

  2. #242
    Pragmatist
    SouthernDemocrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    KC
    Last Seen
    Today @ 06:04 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    17,414

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    I guess conservatives believe it should not have been:

    "e pluribus unum" but rather "e pluribus unum conformare"
    "You're the only person that decides how far you'll go and what you're capable of." - Ben Saunders (Explorer and Endurance Athlete)

  3. #243
    Dungeon Master
    Somewhere in Babylon
    Jetboogieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in Babylon...
    Last Seen
    @
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    24,298
    Blog Entries
    1

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Higgins86 View Post
    Worth pointing out that all of the founding fathers were British citizens.
    Also worth pointing out that not all of them agreed that independence was the correct course of action either.

  4. #244
    Sage
    polgara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Last Seen
    Today @ 06:16 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    18,352

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by SouthernDemocrat View Post
    That is impossible for most people. If you are not immersed in a language its very difficult to become conversational in it.
    My grandparents came from Northern Europe through Ellis Island. They had very limited knowledge of English, but they knew people who had arrived previously, and they learned from them, and others, just by being exposed to it. Brave souls, but they did it, and it didn't take four schools of language classes! My grandfather called a dime a "diamond," till he died. He gave us kids lots of "diamonds" for ice cream cones back then, and we didn't care what he called them!

    Greetings, Southern Democrat.

  5. #245
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Melbourne Florida
    Last Seen
    04-18-17 @ 03:15 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    16,763

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Grand Mal View Post
    Probably most are but in some there's a fear of the unknown that makes them value uniformity over diversity. That's part of what 'conservative' means.
    A Best Western hotel in Prague or Bangkok would look the same, and have the same menu, as one in Des Moines, Iowa.
    Actually that is not true. Most international chains tailor their menus to fit local customs and cuisine.

  6. #246
    Sage

    ocean515's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Southern California
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    24,705

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Wiseone View Post
    I was offended by the notion that people could come to America to seek liberty and then not even have the God damn decency to use that liberty in the way I want them to, who are they to speak different languages?!!?

    Coca Cola's 'America the Beautiful' Super Bowl commercial angers conservative pundits - NY Daily News

    Coke Super Bowl America The Beautiful Ad - Business Insider

    Or like this ****ing blow hard Allen West

    "I am quite sure there may some who appreciated the commercial," West said, "but Coca Cola missed the mark in my opinion. If we cannot be proud enough as a country to sing 'American the Beautiful' in English in a commercial during the Super Bowl, by a company as American as they come--doggone we are on the road to perdition. This was a truly disturbing commercial for me, what say you?"

    That's right folks, God is going to doom this country to hell because we are "proud" enough to sing America the Beautiful in English during the Superbowl. Asshole.
    Imagine how powerful the message would have been, if all the people attempted to sing "America the Beautiful" in English, dispite the impact their natual accent had on the words...

  7. #247
    Sage
    Arcana XV's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Geneva, Switzerland and Rochester, NY
    Last Seen
    10-22-17 @ 10:25 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    6,412

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Chuckles View Post
    Canada's an odd country to cite given the thorn the independence movement has been over the past 30-40 years.
    I'm well aware of that. I'm Canadian. I'm also aware that it's never made my country either ineffective, or unproductive.
    "Yes, but are you a Protestant atheist or a Catholic atheist?".- Northern Irish joke

  8. #248
    Ho, ho, ho.
    Superfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    East Coast
    Last Seen
    Today @ 06:38 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    21,640

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Serenity View Post
    We are one, but we are many, and from all the lands on earth we come,
    we share the dream, and sing with one voice, I am, you are, we are Australian.


    Wow. What a concept. Wish we could follow it, and not be so afraid of others.
    Quote Originally Posted by Chomsky
    It's easy to be a Conservative, until you need help.
    Quote Originally Posted by Cardinal
    After years of condemning Bill Clinton for being a rapist, Republicans apparently changed their minds about the whole thing and elected one of their own.
    Quote Originally Posted by iliveonramen
    Fox News knows their audience. Nuance and facts aren't why they tune in.

  9. #249
    Pragmatist
    SouthernDemocrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    KC
    Last Seen
    Today @ 06:04 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    17,414

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by polgara View Post
    My grandparents came from Northern Europe through Ellis Island. They had very limited knowledge of English, but they knew people who had arrived previously, and they learned from them, and others, just by being exposed to it. Brave souls, but they did it, and it didn't take four schools of language classes! My grandfather called a dime a "diamond," till he died. He gave us kids lots of "diamonds" for ice cream cones back then, and we didn't care what he called them!

    Greetings, Southern Democrat.
    In addition to our biological son, we have 2 adopted daughters from China. One we adopted when she was 4 the other when she was 9. Neither of them spoke a word of English when we got them. We only spoke a few phrases in Mandarin. I can't imagine how scary it had to be for them. Our oldest came here just 3 weeks before she had to start school. So here she was, in a completely different country, could not speak a word of English, could not even talk to her new parents, and was going to school where no one would understand her either. The both picked up English really fast though from being immersed in it. That said, our oldest daughter still has a heavy accent despite having been here 4 years now. I think she is still going to sound fresh off the boat when she is 40.
    "You're the only person that decides how far you'll go and what you're capable of." - Ben Saunders (Explorer and Endurance Athlete)

  10. #250
    Sewer Rat
    Risky Thicket's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Last Seen
    Today @ 06:36 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    23,804

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Patriotism is the last refuge of a scoundrel ~ Samuel Johnson

    Frankly, as the United States slouches towards militarism I find myself fairly fed up with all the flag waving, warrior worshipping and the blurring of the lines between police and military. It isn't healthy for America.










    "When Faith preaches Hate, Blessed are the Doubters." - Amin Maalouf

    When trouble arises and things look bad, there is always one individual who perceives a solution and is willing to take command. Very often, that person is crazy. ~Dave Barry



Page 25 of 105 FirstFirst ... 1523242526273575 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •