View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 22 of 105 FirstFirst ... 1220212223243272 ... LastLast
Results 211 to 220 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #211
    King Conspiratard
    Dr. Chuckles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Last Seen
    02-13-14 @ 03:04 PM
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    12,895

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Grand Mal View Post
    Probably most are but in some there's a fear of the unknown that makes them value uniformity over diversity.
    A Best Western hotel in Prague or Bangkok would look the same, and have the same menu, as one in Des Moines, Iowa.
    While the hysterics are a bit much, I'm always lost on why people always assume that promotion of things like a national language and cultural assimilation are always dismissed by some as borderline bigots and xenophobes

  2. #212
    Question authority
    Grand Mal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    on an island off the left coast of Canada
    Last Seen
    Today @ 11:31 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    16,491
    Blog Entries
    1

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Chuckles View Post
    While the hysterics are a bit much, I'm always lost on why people always assume that promotion of things like a national language and cultural assimilation are always dismissed by some as borderline bigots and xenophobes
    I don't know, I hadn't noticed that dismissal or the assumption.
    "I did not mean that Conservatives are generally stupid people. I meant that stupid people are generally Conservatives."
    -John Stuart Mill-

  3. #213
    King Conspiratard
    Dr. Chuckles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Last Seen
    02-13-14 @ 03:04 PM
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    12,895

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Grand Mal View Post
    I don't know, I hadn't noticed that dismissal or the assumption.
    it's what your post reads as

  4. #214
    Question authority
    Grand Mal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    on an island off the left coast of Canada
    Last Seen
    Today @ 11:31 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    16,491
    Blog Entries
    1

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Chuckles View Post
    it's what your post reads as
    No it doesn't, not even close.
    Are we speaking the same language?
    "I did not mean that Conservatives are generally stupid people. I meant that stupid people are generally Conservatives."
    -John Stuart Mill-

  5. #215
    King Conspiratard
    Dr. Chuckles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Last Seen
    02-13-14 @ 03:04 PM
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    12,895

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Grand Mal View Post
    No it doesn't, not even close.
    Are we speaking the same language?

    Yes. You dismissed concerns about such things as xenophobia.

  6. #216
    Why so serious?

    Moon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Washington State
    Last Seen
    Today @ 07:08 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    4,291

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    It wasn't my favorite but I liked it. I thought it was a nice reminder that we're a nation of immigrants.
    "I believe in a Spinoza's God who reveals himself in the harmony of all that exists, but not in a God who concerns himself with the fate and actions of human beings."

    --Albert Einstein, 1929

  7. #217
    Global Moderator
    Moderator

    Zyphlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    NoMoAuchie
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    47,998

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcana XV View Post
    Not so. Certain immigrants are exempt from that requirement.

    Study Materials for the English Test | USCIS
    Wow, thanks for that. I always was under the impression that the abillity to speak the predominant language of the country was a default requirement. Will be helpful to know for all future discussions of how our immigration system needs to be changed.

    Quote Originally Posted by Higgins86 View Post
    Interesting especially the part about length of residence in the US. I don't see what some peoples issue with this is, America was founded by immigrants who all came through Ellis island and didn't speak a lick of English. Americas diversity is something all Americans should be proud of.
    I don't see what some peoples issues with this is, America was founded on the backs of slaves who all came through on cramped boats and didn't have a lick of freedom. Americas enslavement of people is something all Americans should be proud of.

    Does that sound ridiculous? Yes, yes it does...becuase simply appealing to "It was something that happened at one point in our countries history" as your argument is a poor one. The reality is that the contextual situation of 200+ years ago and of today within this country are SUBSTANTIALLY different and acting as if what was best of the country then is best for the country now is ridiculous. The fact we at one time were flooding in any and every immigrant we could get ahold of in no way, shape, or form should impact our immigration policies 200 years later. I do think the diversity within the country is ONE thing to be proud of about it and to celebrate, but it should be celebrated in consert with other things such as our shared history/heritage/culture.

  8. #218
    Sage

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    okla-freakin-homa
    Last Seen
    Today @ 07:35 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    12,625

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Your Star View Post
    It was rather sweet and beautiful.
    All this deep, somewhat contrived, interpreting of a few folks singing one of our 'binding' songs in the language of their old homelands is silly. It did move me. But I have always found it difficult to stand stone still rendering a hand salute as the flag is raised during the "Star Spangled Banner", a song so few of us can sing, found it very difficult to stand stone still because I always seem to have a tear or two running down my face and the urge to wipe them off is overwhelming.

    Some folks just need to chill out and look for reasons to get along rather than bitch about every little damn thing they can think of!

    People from around the world built this country, it is nice to remember that from time to time and marvel how well we do all get along compared to many other nations.

  9. #219
    Question authority
    Grand Mal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    on an island off the left coast of Canada
    Last Seen
    Today @ 11:31 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    16,491
    Blog Entries
    1

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Chuckles View Post
    Yes. You dismissed concerns about such things as xenophobia.
    Ohfercryingoutloud.
    Alright, you tell me, what makes someone value uniformity over diversity?
    "I did not mean that Conservatives are generally stupid people. I meant that stupid people are generally Conservatives."
    -John Stuart Mill-

  10. #220
    Sage

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Last Seen
    Today @ 09:16 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    18,295

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Higgins86 View Post
    Interesting especially the part about length of residence in the US. I don't see what some peoples issue with this is,
    America was founded by immigrants who all came through Ellis island and didn't speak a lick of English.
    Americas diversity is something all Americans should be proud of.
    Theme of the thread aside, let me just say ... What????

Page 22 of 105 FirstFirst ... 1220212223243272 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •