View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 21 of 105 FirstFirst ... 1119202122233171 ... LastLast
Results 201 to 210 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #201
    Sage
    Arcana XV's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Geneva, Switzerland and Rochester, NY
    Last Seen
    10-22-17 @ 10:25 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    6,412

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    Legal immigrants are REQUIRED to be able to speak some English. The citizenship test is in English.
    Not so. Certain immigrants are exempt from that requirement.

    http://www.uscis.gov/citizenship/lea...s-english-test
    "Yes, but are you a Protestant atheist or a Catholic atheist?".- Northern Irish joke

  2. #202
    Sage
    Higgins86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    England
    Last Seen
    Today @ 12:57 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    13,251

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcana XV View Post
    Not so. Certain immigrants are exempt from that requirement.

    Study Materials for the English Test | USCIS
    Interesting especially the part about length of residence in the US. I don't see what some peoples issue with this is, America was founded by immigrants who all came through Ellis island and didn't speak a lick of English. Americas diversity is something all Americans should be proud of.
    Last edited by Higgins86; 02-04-14 at 09:41 AM.
    ‘This is not peace, it is an armistice for 20 years.’ (Ferdinand Foch. After the Treaty of Versailles, 1919).

  3. #203
    dangerously addictive
    americanwoman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Last Seen
    Today @ 09:40 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    17,419

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Higgins86 View Post
    Interesting especially the part about length of residence in the US. I don't see what people issue you with this is, America was founded by immigrants who all came through Ellis island and didn't speak a lick of English. Americas diversity is something all Americans should be proud of.
    Some of us are. I just don't get the hate.
    I call my own shots, largely based on an accumulation of data, and everyone knows it.
    _____________________________________________

  4. #204
    White trash on dope.
    d0gbreath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Denton, TX
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    8,875

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    I think I read into it exactly what was meant; "we're all Americans, we simply speak different languages, and have different cultures."

    Again, that's fine. What I object to is the notion that this is a desirable thing in and of itself. Assimilation, and the unity it creates, should be the goal, not "multiculturalism," and the ethnic factionalism in which it always inevitably results.

    I don't think the ad itself was overly political. I was simply uncomfortable with its premise.
    Would you be more comfortable if you found out that everyone singing in the commercial was bi-lingual and did know the words in English also?

  5. #205
    Sage
    Arcana XV's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Geneva, Switzerland and Rochester, NY
    Last Seen
    10-22-17 @ 10:25 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    6,412

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by americanwoman View Post
    Funny how more and more English speaking Americans need subtitles on television. You can't understand a word they say - in English!
    I know right. I actually don't have a problem understanding Southern accents. My problem is with some Scottish accents. I just stare at them dumbfounded half the time wondering what the feck they're saying.
    "Yes, but are you a Protestant atheist or a Catholic atheist?".- Northern Irish joke

  6. #206
    King Conspiratard
    Dr. Chuckles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Last Seen
    02-13-14 @ 03:04 PM
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    12,895

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcana XV View Post
    Lol. Yeah, you're right. Switzerland and Canada are totally ineffective, unproductive countries.
    Canada's an odd country to cite given the thorn the independence movement has been over the past 30-40 years.

  7. #207
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Melbourne Florida
    Last Seen
    04-18-17 @ 03:15 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    16,763

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Coke forgot what side its bread is buttered on. It just reinforced the sideways thinking that you can come to America and still be whatever you were before you got here and don't need to learn our language.
    Buh by Coke, you lost customers.

  8. #208
    Sage
    AliHajiSheik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Last Seen
    Today @ 08:52 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    6,375

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    I'm glad they only did 1 verse. No true American knows the other 3 verses.

  9. #209
    King Conspiratard
    Dr. Chuckles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Last Seen
    02-13-14 @ 03:04 PM
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    12,895

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcana XV View Post
    I know right. I actually don't have a problem understanding Southern accents. My problem is with some Scottish accents. I just stare at them dumbfounded half the time wondering what the feck they're saying.

  10. #210
    Question authority
    Grand Mal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    on an island off the left coast of Canada
    Last Seen
    Today @ 04:41 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    16,459
    Blog Entries
    1

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Higgins86 View Post
    Interesting especially the part about length of residence in the US. I don't see what some peoples issue with this is, America was founded by immigrants who all came through Ellis island and didn't speak a lick of English. Americas diversity is something all Americans should be proud of.
    Probably most are but in some there's a fear of the unknown that makes them value uniformity over diversity. That's part of what 'conservative' means.
    A Best Western hotel in Prague or Bangkok would look the same, and have the same menu, as one in Des Moines, Iowa.
    "I did not mean that Conservatives are generally stupid people. I meant that stupid people are generally Conservatives."
    -John Stuart Mill-

Page 21 of 105 FirstFirst ... 1119202122233171 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •