View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 20 of 105 FirstFirst ... 1018192021223070 ... LastLast
Results 191 to 200 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #191
    Dungeon Master
    Hooter Babe

    DiAnna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Northern California
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    32,585
    Blog Entries
    1

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by opendebate View Post
    What ideological agenda is that? It seems to me to be consistent with the ideology this country was founded on. What is it again that is inscribed on the statue of liberty?


    This sounds a little condescending. Also, this song does not belong to YOU. It belongs to anyone who calls themselves American, hyphenated or not.



    I think the inclusiveness of other languages in that song represents what is at the very foundation of this country. It is not suggesting that America become something something, it is showing us how we are walking the walk and living the promise of equality and the peaceful coexistence of people from different cultures. The idea that they can live in a way that maintains a respect for their personal history amongst people who have very different histories and do so in peace because we all agree on the fundamental idea of tolerance and freedom is pretty damn awesome and very much in keeping with what we as a nation claim to be about.
    You are free to disagree with me. I don't need to be lectured about tolerance and freedom, and I don't need to be patronised nor spoken down to. You can disagree with me without being self-righteous, whether you are interested in why I feel as I do or not. Your disagreement does not make you superior to me, and my sharing my history in growing up in the midst of another culture does not make me "condescending", despite your rude comment to the contrary. I makes me completely appreciative of the vibrancy of Mexican culture, of VietNamese culture, of Chinese culture, of Persian culture, of Filipino culture, all of which have given me friends, peers and colleagues who have enriched my life, as I hope I have enriched theirs.

    There are few people who have joyfully interacted with more diverse cultures and individuals in my lifetime than I, and I count myself among those who have in my lifetime put themselves on the line to demand civil rights for all, despite the risks of the era. I am still doing so. However, that does not mean that I do not have a right to be annoyed when, at public events and on television commercials, certain national anthems are being sung in a foreign tongue for a primarily English-speaking audience.

    This country goes the extra mile for its non-English speaking citizens, residents and guests. We provide free English tutoring, ballots and other public documents are available in dozens of different languages, translators are available free of charge for any who require them, from the classroom to the courtroom, one of the very few countries on the planet that does so. I support this wholeheartedly. I also understand that it sometimes takes a generation or two for assimilation into the American culture, an assimilation which does indeed require being able to eventually communicate with each other. The coexistence of the dozens and dozens of diverse cultures in America does add to our richness as a nation, but I will point out that although these cultures have maintained their history throughout the development of our nation as it is today, those cultures understood that eventually they would have to communicate in the common language of the nation in order to become a part of their new country, and not just an isolated pocket unable to understand their neighbors, and their own government officials.

    So yes, I am annoyed by it, almost as annoyed as I am by your intolerance of any who have differing opinions and life experiences than your own. You disappoint me.

  2. #192
    Anti-Hypocrite
    molten_dragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Southeast Michigan
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 04:22 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Liberal
    Posts
    9,351

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    It doesn't bother me. America has always been a nation of immigrants.

    And I think as usual, people are making WAY too big a deal out of it.
    If you build a man a fire, he'll be warm for a day.

    If you set a man on fire, he'll be warm for the rest of his life.

  3. #193
    Global Moderator
    May the force be with you
    Serenity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    18,869

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    We are one, but we are many, and from all the lands on earth we come,
    we share the dream, and sing with one voice, I am, you are, we are Australian.



  4. #194
    Sage
    Arcana XV's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Geneva, Switzerland and Rochester, NY
    Last Seen
    10-22-17 @ 10:25 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    6,412

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    I understand what they were going for, but the concept still made me vaguely uncomfortable.

    If a nation's citizens need one thing in common in order to function effectively, it tends to be a language they can all speak and mutually understand. Tolerance for multiculturalism is all well and good, but it cannot be a society's primary objective in and of itself.

    It simply doesn't lead anywhere productive.
    Lol. Yeah, you're right. Switzerland and Canada are totally ineffective, unproductive countries.
    "Yes, but are you a Protestant atheist or a Catholic atheist?".- Northern Irish joke

  5. #195
    dangerously addictive
    americanwoman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Last Seen
    12-08-17 @ 10:30 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    17,396

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by molten_dragon View Post
    It doesn't bother me. America has always been a nation of immigrants.

    And I think as usual, people are making WAY too big a deal out of it.
    I agree!


    As we were watching it we were all laughing about how funny it was going to be to watch heads explode. And it was!
    I call my own shots, largely based on an accumulation of data, and everyone knows it.
    _____________________________________________

  6. #196
    Sage
    Arcana XV's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Geneva, Switzerland and Rochester, NY
    Last Seen
    10-22-17 @ 10:25 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    6,412
    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    You do realize that French Canadians and the rest of the country basically despise one another, right? There are more than a few separatist factions present in Quebec who want nothing less than complete independence.
    And the country hasn't imploded yet. Imagine that. Besides, I bet they don't despise one another any more than some Republicans and Democrats who speak the same language do. Or take the vast cultural differences between the Northern and Southern US. Same language, feels like a totally different country. And they don't look kindly upon each other either.
    "Yes, but are you a Protestant atheist or a Catholic atheist?".- Northern Irish joke

  7. #197
    Sage
    Higgins86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    England
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:55 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    13,241

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Does the US have an official language?
    ‘This is not peace, it is an armistice for 20 years.’ (Ferdinand Foch. After the Treaty of Versailles, 1919).

  8. #198
    Sage
    Arcana XV's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Geneva, Switzerland and Rochester, NY
    Last Seen
    10-22-17 @ 10:25 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    6,412

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Higgins86 View Post
    Does the US have an official language?
    No, it doesn't.
    "Yes, but are you a Protestant atheist or a Catholic atheist?".- Northern Irish joke

  9. #199
    dangerously addictive
    americanwoman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Last Seen
    12-08-17 @ 10:30 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    17,396

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Higgins86 View Post
    Does the US have an official language?
    Not federally but many states have English as the official language.
    I call my own shots, largely based on an accumulation of data, and everyone knows it.
    _____________________________________________

  10. #200
    dangerously addictive
    americanwoman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Last Seen
    12-08-17 @ 10:30 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    17,396

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcana XV View Post
    Or take the vast cultural differences between the Northern and Southern US. Same language, feels like a totally different country. And they don't look kindly upon each other either.
    Funny how more and more English speaking Americans need subtitles on television. You can't understand a word they say - in English!
    I call my own shots, largely based on an accumulation of data, and everyone knows it.
    _____________________________________________

Page 20 of 105 FirstFirst ... 1018192021223070 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •