View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 2 of 105 FirstFirst 12341252102 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #11
    Guru
    Republic Now!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Last Seen
    09-12-14 @ 11:40 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    2,671

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Wiseone View Post
    I was offended by the notion that people could come to America to seek liberty and then not even have the God damn decency to use that liberty in the way I want them to, who are they to speak different languages?!!?

    Coca Cola's 'America the Beautiful' Super Bowl commercial angers conservative pundits - NY Daily News

    Coke Super Bowl America The Beautiful Ad - Business Insider

    Or like this ****ing blow hard Allen West

    "I am quite sure there may some who appreciated the commercial," West said, "but Coca Cola missed the mark in my opinion. If we cannot be proud enough as a country to sing 'American the Beautiful' in English in a commercial during the Super Bowl, by a company as American as they come--doggone we are on the road to perdition. This was a truly disturbing commercial for me, what say you?"

    That's right folks, God is going to doom this country to hell because we are "proud" enough to sing America the Beautiful in English during the Superbowl. Asshole.
    All those laws being proposed that require everyone to speak eng-racist are disgusting.

    What really bugs me, though, are those RACISTS who somehow imply society needs one primary language in order to function. As though we need to understand each other. Please. I bet those racist jerks think language segregation creates a barrier of poverty for segments of society based on the language they speak. Give me a break. Just look at the nordic countries and the amazing success they've had with their language diversity. Next they'll be saying it's up to the immigrants to assimilate to the country they migrate to instead of the country's responsibility to bend over backwards to accommodate any possible immigrant it may possibly have in the entire world. It's called a MELTING pot, which means do things however you want regardless of the practical limitations of such (though there are none. I'm just saying practicality doesn't play a factor, your racism does.)

    Hopefully one day the racism will end and every sign, book, tv show, movie, and business will accommodate every language on earth.
    One who makes himself a worm cannot complain when tread upon.

  2. #12
    Global Moderator
    Rage More!
    Your Star's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Georgia
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Liberal
    Posts
    26,362

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    It was rather sweet and beautiful.
    Eat me, drink me, love me;
    Laura make much of me

  3. #13
    Dungeon Master
    Hooter Babe

    DiAnna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Northern California
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    32,691
    Blog Entries
    1

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    I ****ing hate it.

  4. #14
    Guru
    Republic Now!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Last Seen
    09-12-14 @ 11:40 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    2,671

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by SouthernDemocrat View Post
    When someone comes here they may not speak English well yet, but the American ideal is still important to them. Maybe that is what they were going for.
    Speaking your native language is not the same as not speaking English well.

    For some reason though, I think broken english would not have been well received.

    Maybe having people of different races would have been more appropriate for the ad.
    One who makes himself a worm cannot complain when tread upon.

  5. #15
    Pragmatist
    SouthernDemocrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    KC
    Last Seen
    Today @ 11:51 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    17,420

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    I think I read into it exactly what they meant; "we're all American, we just speak different languages, and have different cultures."

    Again, what I object to is the notion that this is a desirable thing in and of itself. Assimilation, and the unity it creates, should be the goal, not "multiculturalism," and the ethnic factionalism it always inevitably leads to.

    I don't think the ad itself was overly political. I was simply uncomfortable with its premise.
    I think everyone should learn English in this country as its by far the dominate language. However, we have no American culture. Set aside immigrants, and there are still vast cultural differences between different areas in this country. If anything, what defines American culture is diversity.
    "You're the only person that decides how far you'll go and what you're capable of." - Ben Saunders (Explorer and Endurance Athlete)

  6. #16
    Angry Former GOP Voter
    Fiddytree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Last Seen
    Today @ 03:49 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    25,703

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    I understand what they were going for, but the concept still made me vaguely uncomfortable.

    If a nation's citizens need one thing in common in order to function effectively, it tends to be a language they can all speak and mutually understand. Tolerance for multiculturalism is all well and good, but it cannot be a society's primary objective in and of itself.

    It simply doesn't lead anywhere productive.
    To an extent I can agree, but I also disagree. While it is understandably desirable to wish the hegemonic group to maintain dominance in all areas, including language, I feel that there is some short-sightedness going on too. For instance, if and/or when english does not become the dominant primary language, I would want the institutions, mythology, etc of the United States to be able to thrive without it. After all, although our language is dominantly english, we Americans pride ourselves on being based on a set number of ideas, rather than religion, ethnicity, and so forth. As the Coke ad does not diverge from the American ideological foundations (and instead seems to prop it up), I mostly say that this is another piece of good nationalism. I wouldn't wish this "Empire of Liberty" to be so totally reliant upon a language that it falls apart when it is no longer the most spoken. I'd rather it adopt a language as it needs to (although english is hardly going away, it's the most common language of international commerce-which is also a testament to our empire).
    Michael J Petrilli-"Is School Choice Enough?"-A response to the recent timidity of American conservatives toward education reform. https://nationalaffairs.com/publicat...-choice-enough

  7. #17
    Guru

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Last Seen
    11-16-17 @ 04:01 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    2,775

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    That's the trouble with you people, ya' come to this country, we give ya' all the help we can and ya' can't even speak the language..............Rooster Cogburn

    A little levity, folks.

    I was somewhat uncomfortable with the ad; I don't believe in diversity as it is commonly preached today. I believe in the benefits of assimilation; assimilation is what made this country a bountiful opportunity for those who have come here.

    Celebrate assimilation

    Thom Paine

  8. #18
    Pragmatist
    SouthernDemocrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    KC
    Last Seen
    Today @ 11:51 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    17,420

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    I have said for years that with many conservatives, culture is more important than anything else, and the responses to this ad is very indicative of that. I don't see what the big deal is either way with it, I guess its just off my radar or something.
    "You're the only person that decides how far you'll go and what you're capable of." - Ben Saunders (Explorer and Endurance Athlete)

  9. #19
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Ft. Campbell, KY
    Last Seen
    12-31-14 @ 08:37 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    12,177

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Republic Now! View Post
    All those laws being proposed that require everyone to speak eng-racist are disgusting.

    What really bugs me, though, are those RACISTS who somehow imply society needs one primary language in order to function. As though we need to understand each other. Please. I bet those racist jerks think language segregation creates a barrier of poverty for segments of society based on the language they speak. Give me a break. Just look at the nordic countries and the amazing success they've had with their language diversity. Next they'll be saying it's up to the immigrants to assimilate to the country they migrate to instead of the country's responsibility to bend over backwards to accommodate any possible immigrant it may possibly have in the entire world. It's called a MELTING pot, which means do things however you want regardless of the practical limitations of such (though there are none. I'm just saying practicality doesn't play a factor, your racism does.)

    Hopefully one day the racism will end and every sign, book, tv show, movie, and business will accommodate every language on earth.
    I was confused for a moment when I read this post, then I realized it was some straw man which explains why it has no connection whatsoever to my post.

    Anyway, I didn't say anything you suggested I said. I think everyone in this country should be able to speak English, English should be taught in schools, English should be the official language of our government (that's not to say government products cannot be offered in other languages), but do need to learn how to speak and use English to become productive members of society. Multiculturalism is fantastic and you have have every freedom there is to belong to whatever culture you want to, but pragmatism makes it pretty clear that a society needs a basis of language in order to function.

    BUT I also think that everyone has the freedom under the 1st amendment to speak whatever they language they want, to learn whatever language they want, to speak a foreign tongue in their homes, their communities if they wish, to use it as their primary tongue if they wish. Freedom of speech is not freedom of English speech.

    The notion that you can't be an American unless you speak English, and ONLY English, is xenophobic, racist, and goes against the spirit of the Constitution.

  10. #20
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Behind the Orange Curtain
    Last Seen
    01-30-15 @ 01:29 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    15,633

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Wiseone View Post
    Hey man that 1st amendment promises freedom of speech, and it doesn't mean English only speech. Anyone who specifically thinks what you just said is a xenophobic ass.
    Do you know what you just said ?

    FYI:

    " Those who control the language control the argument, and those who control the argument are more likely to successfully to translate the believe into policy."

Page 2 of 105 FirstFirst 12341252102 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •