View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 19 of 105 FirstFirst ... 917181920212969 ... LastLast
Results 181 to 190 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #181
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Behind the Orange Curtain
    Last Seen
    01-30-15 @ 01:29 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    15,633

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by grip View Post
    McDonald's sucks. I used to love the Big Mac and Quarter Pounder but I think it's imported pink slime in them boogers.
    I think McDonalds is a kids thing. The older you get the more McDonalds turns ones stomach.

    Just before I got my WEST-PAC orders for Nam, McDonalds came out with the Big-Mac. For 13 months while in-country all I thought about was eating a Big Mac and drinking anything that was cold that had ice cubes in it.

    When I got on that "Freedom Bird" and when that Continental Airlines flight landed at MCAS El TORO as soon as I cleared customs and got my orders the first thing I did was stop at a McDonalds and ate two Big Macs and two large cokes with ice.

    Today I might eat at McDonalds once every 18 months. The only fast food I eat today is a Double-Double at "In n Out" and once or twice a year Del-Taco.

  2. #182
    Light△Bender

    grip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    ☚ ☛
    Last Seen
    12-04-17 @ 04:12 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    17,186
    Blog Entries
    2

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by APACHERAT View Post
    I think McDonalds is a kids thing. The older you get the more McDonalds turns ones stomach.

    Just before I got my WEST-PAC orders for Nam, McDonalds came out with the Big-Mac. For 13 months while in-country all I thought about was eating a Big Mac and drinking anything that was cold that had ice cubes in it.

    When I got on that "Freedom Bird" and when that Continental Airlines flight landed at MCAS El TORO as soon as I cleared customs and got my orders the first thing I did was stop at a McDonalds and ate two Big Macs and two large cokes with ice.

    Today I might eat at McDonalds once every 18 months. The only fast food I eat today is a Double-Double at "In n Out" and once or twice a year Del-Taco.

    Yeah, my fast food tastes are shrinking every year now. Subway- Tuna, Firehouse- Hook & Ladder and a Chili's bacon cheeseburger. I make a better burger than you can buy anyway.

    Nam was a hellhole. I've never heard a good story come out of there. Everyone went into Da Nang, then got spread out to some nightmare firebase.
    Einstein, "science without religion is lame, religion without science is blind."

  3. #183
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Canada, Costa Rica
    Last Seen
    05-16-16 @ 09:45 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    31,645

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Wiseone View Post
    That's right folks, God is going to doom this country to hell because we are "proud" enough to sing America the Beautiful in English during the Superbowl.
    Who said that??

  4. #184
    Relentless Thinking Fury
    ChezC3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Chicago
    Last Seen
    Today @ 08:31 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    9,123

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    If I'm not mistaken, the one part translated "Me Chinese, me play joke, me put pee pee in your Coke..."

    We's is in America peoples, here we's speaks AMERICAN!!!!

  5. #185
    Light△Bender

    grip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    ☚ ☛
    Last Seen
    12-04-17 @ 04:12 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    17,186
    Blog Entries
    2

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by ChezC3 View Post
    If I'm not mistaken, the one part translated "Me Chinese, me play joke, me put pee pee in your Coke..."

    We's is in America peoples, here we's speaks AMERICAN!!!!


    I remember that....lol

    Now it's in the beer.
    Einstein, "science without religion is lame, religion without science is blind."

  6. #186
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Behind the Orange Curtain
    Last Seen
    01-30-15 @ 01:29 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    15,633

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by grip View Post
    Makes sense that English is derived from Latin and German, since the Roman Empire and Germanic tribes dominated that territory for so long.

    A little Sargent Schultz..

    Rausch...mach schnell!

    Rush....hurry up!
    They say if you're going to travel the world, you only need to know two languages, English and French and you can get by. If you consider at one time most of the world at one time or another was either under British or French rule.

    As for Latin America you'll find a larger percentage of the population able to speak and understand English than in Los Angeles.

    The United States almost became a German speaking nation.

  7. #187
    Light△Bender

    grip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    ☚ ☛
    Last Seen
    12-04-17 @ 04:12 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    17,186
    Blog Entries
    2

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by APACHERAT View Post
    They say if you're going to travel the world, you only need to know two languages, English and French and you can get by. If you consider at one time most of the world at one time or another was either under British or French rule.

    As for Latin America you'll find a larger percentage of the population able to speak and understand English than in Los Angeles.

    The United States almost became a German speaking nation.
    I think Spanish by far is more unilateral in use now. Though there are a lot of French and Spanish words that are comparable. I know in South America they often speak English also.

    Germany was closer in WWII if the Normandy /Calais diversion hadn't worked.
    Einstein, "science without religion is lame, religion without science is blind."

  8. #188
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Mecca
    Last Seen
    01-14-15 @ 07:04 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    6,426

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Even though I can't understand half the words being sung, I like it just because I like the vocals. Beautiful singer.

    But I'm still not going to buy Coke the next time I go shopping.

  9. #189
    Engineer

    RabidAlpaca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    American in Europe
    Last Seen
    Today @ 12:09 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Left
    Posts
    14,563

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Wiseone View Post
    I was offended by the notion that people could come to America to seek liberty and then not even have the God damn decency to use that liberty in the way I want them to, who are they to speak different languages?!!?

    Coca Cola's 'America the Beautiful' Super Bowl commercial angers conservative pundits - NY Daily News

    Coke Super Bowl America The Beautiful Ad - Business Insider

    Or like this ****ing blow hard Allen West

    "I am quite sure there may some who appreciated the commercial," West said, "but Coca Cola missed the mark in my opinion. If we cannot be proud enough as a country to sing 'American the Beautiful' in English in a commercial during the Super Bowl, by a company as American as they come--doggone we are on the road to perdition. This was a truly disturbing commercial for me, what say you?"

    That's right folks, God is going to doom this country to hell because we are "proud" enough to sing America the Beautiful in English during the Superbowl. Asshole.
    I'm an immigrant to Germany, and I promise you if I stood up and sung their national anthem or a patriotically German song in English most Germans would be highly offended.

    Being an immigrant means learning your host nation's language and being respectful of their customs. This ad wasn't atrocious, just poor taste.
    Quote Originally Posted by LowDown View Post
    I've got to say that it is shadenfreudalicious to see the rich and famous fucquewads on the coast suffering from the fires.

  10. #190
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Behind the Orange Curtain
    Last Seen
    01-30-15 @ 01:29 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    15,633

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Muhammed View Post
    Even though I can't understand half the words being sung, I like it just because I like the vocals. Beautiful singer.

    But I'm still not going to buy Coke the next time I go shopping.
    The thing is, the Super Bowl is an American event not an international event. Football (American football) is American, not a game for pantiwaist. But there is scuttlebutt that in a decade or two that the UK might have an NFL team. But it's only scuttlebutt.

    So I have no idea where Coke was coming from with this multiculturalism bull ####. From what I'm hearing and it's only been 24 hours there are a lot of unhappy campers in America with this Coke multiculturalism commercial. Coke politicalized Coke. Lets see if there's a backlash.

    Most Americans still expect Americans to speak English and for immigrants to assimilate into the American society.

    Language is the glue that holds a nation together.

Page 19 of 105 FirstFirst ... 917181920212969 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •