View Poll Results: Do You like this version of "America The Beautiful?"

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 57.48%
  • No

    38 29.92%
  • Other

    16 12.60%
Page 16 of 105 FirstFirst ... 614151617182666 ... LastLast
Results 151 to 160 of 1048

Thread: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

  1. #151
    Ho, ho, ho.
    Superfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    East Coast
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 08:39 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    21,562

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    Everyone, if incidents like the Trayvon Martin shooting, or the rampant cartel activity and gang violence along our Southwestern border are any indication.
    Seriously? You are bringing Trayvon Martin into this conversation? And why is that? Apparently, according to most conservatives, Trayvon Martin was just a problem that needed to be solved. He was the problem, Zimmerman was the solution.

    If you are going to be bringing stuff like this to the table, let's you and I just keep to talking about movies and nothing else.
    Quote Originally Posted by Chomsky
    It's easy to be a Conservative, until you need help.
    Quote Originally Posted by Cardinal
    After years of condemning Bill Clinton for being a rapist, Republicans apparently changed their minds about the whole thing and elected one of their own.
    Quote Originally Posted by iliveonramen
    Fox News knows their audience. Nuance and facts aren't why they tune in.

  2. #152
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Behind the Orange Curtain
    Last Seen
    01-30-15 @ 01:29 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    15,633

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    The thing about multiculturalism is that the only culture you're allowed to disapprove of is your own.

  3. #153
    Light△Bender

    grip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    ☚ ☛
    Last Seen
    12-04-17 @ 04:12 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    17,186
    Blog Entries
    2

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    I was planning on taking Spanish in college, but my commanding officer wasn't having any of it.

    He basically told me, "you need to learn either Arabic, Russian, or Chinese if you ever want to get a decent job in your line of work."

    I chose Russian, because it had the easiest alphabet and pronunciation of the three.

    Russians, I think were encouraged in school to learn english during the cold war? I know I'd have to drink a pint of vodka and smoke a cigarrette before I attempted anything other than Das Vadanya.
    Einstein, "science without religion is lame, religion without science is blind."

  4. #154
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Superfly View Post
    Seriously? You are bringing Trayvon Martin into this conversation? And why is that? Apparently, according to most conservatives, Trayvon Martin was just a problem that needed to be solved. He was the problem, Zimmerman was the solution.
    A third of our population basically didn't care about the guilt of the accused or the impartial functioning of our justice system at all. They only cared that they perceived one of their own as being wronged, and many of them threatened to go on a rampage if they didn't get the result they wanted.

    That kind of "us vs them" thinking is simply toxic to a society.

    Again, do you think anyone would have gotten so worked up about the issue if an Italian-American man had shot a Polish-American boy under similar circumstances?

    If you are going to be bringing stuff like this to the table, let's you and I just keep to talking about movies and nothing else.
    That might be a good idea.
    Last edited by Gathomas88; 02-04-14 at 02:28 AM.

  5. #155
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Superfly View Post
    What people? The 14 million Mexican immigrants? Because I'm sure that's what we are talking about here. Nobody cares if the French come over, or the Canadians, but dammit, let a bunch of Mexicans come in, or those damn Cubans, and it's all over. The country's shot.

    And how do you know that they are illiterate? English is one of the hardest languages in the world to learn. Maybe they are trying, but having a hard time with it.
    Has anyone mentioned a specific nationality here? I know that I haven't, and I don't think I like your accusatory tone either.

    Yes, they are basically illiterate if they cannot read, write or speak English. I'm sorry if you don't like it, but those are just facts.

    If they can't speak a lick of English, they are more than likely illegal immigrants. The citizenship test is in English because it is supposed to be a requirement to become a citizen. What exactly are you suggesting anyways?

  6. #156
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by grip View Post
    Russians, I think were encouraged in school to learn english during the cold war? I know I'd have to drink a pint of vodka and smoke a cigarrette before I attempted anything other than Das Vadanya.
    Yea... They're kind of an odd bunch to say the least.

    They're certainly friendly enough once you get to know them, but they tend to be kind of somber, reserved, and abrupt by our standards.

  7. #157
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Colorado mountains
    Last Seen
    01-03-15 @ 08:59 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    5,729

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    There is a word for people who speak two languages ...
    ...Bi-lingual
    There is a word for people who speak many languages ...
    ...Multi-lingual
    There is even a word for people who speak only one language ...
    ..American

  8. #158
    Light△Bender

    grip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    ☚ ☛
    Last Seen
    12-04-17 @ 04:12 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    17,186
    Blog Entries
    2

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    Yea... They're kind of an odd bunch to say the least.

    They're certainly friendly enough once you get to know them, but they tend to be kind of somber, reserved, and abrupt by our standards.
    Sadly though, I wouldn't want to live anywhere else that didn't have English as their primary language. That leaves, Canada, England, Ireland, Scotland, Australia, New Zealand and a few Islands. My old brain just couldn't adapt enough for me to learn everything again.
    Einstein, "science without religion is lame, religion without science is blind."

  9. #159
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by grip View Post
    My parents taught me more actual French (dirty words). The school wanted us to learn to spell before we spoke, stupid.

    I had a friend who took 5 years of Spanish and can't remember much. I love certain things from other cultures, especially food variety, clothing styles, music and other stuff. Their language just isn't one of them.
    I have no problem with people being proud of their heritage, celebrating their own holidays, making their own kind of food, etc. I appreciate all of those things too, and I think most people do. I totally agree that it makes things more interesting, and we have a lot of little communities in America like that. Little Italy, China Town, etc.

    I just think it is utterly ridiculous to expect a society to cater to the immigrants it accepts into the country. People might not like it, but there have to be some rules or there are consequences. A person who is planning on moving to the United States should have a compulsory understanding of the language.

    I can't imagine going to a country where I couldn't communicate with anyone. I think that would totally suck!

  10. #160
    Sage
    Phys251's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Georgia
    Last Seen
    Today @ 01:53 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Liberal
    Posts
    12,713

    re: Your opinion on Coke's version of America The Beautiful? [W:1014]

    Quote Originally Posted by SouthernDemocrat View Post
    Hell it took me a second to realize that that link was from the onion. Dan Snyder and Jerry Jones are two of the biggest asshole owners in sports.
    "A man you can bait with a tweet is not a man we can trust with nuclear weapons." --Hillary Rodham Clinton
    "Innocent until proven guilty is for criminal convictions, not elections." --Mitt Romney

Page 16 of 105 FirstFirst ... 614151617182666 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •