View Poll Results: What do you think of plus-size barbie?

Voters
64. You may not vote on this poll
  • Good...i would buy one for my daugher/friend/self

    4 6.25%
  • Bad...this is just a horrible idea

    19 29.69%
  • Why can't they make a normal-size barbie?

    31 48.44%
  • I can count to potato.

    19 29.69%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 1 of 46 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 455

Thread: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    The anals of history
    Last Seen
    07-25-15 @ 02:05 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    10,348

    Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    There is currently a debate raging over at the Huffington Post whether Mattel should make a plus-size Barbie doll for children.

    On the one hand, people are arguing that the original (skinny) Barbie promotes an unhealthy body image, and that little girls should have more realistic dolls to play with.

    On the other hand, people are arguing that the plus-size Barbie promotes unhealthy eating habits, and they are saying it's political correctness gone wild.

    Then, of course, you have the middle-of-the-roaders, who think they should make a Barbie somewhat in between the two dolls shown below.

    What do you think?

    Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie-fatbarbie-jpg

  2. #2
    warrior of the wetlands
    TurtleDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Last Seen
    Today @ 04:12 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    180,703

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    I think this rates about 3456th on my list of things to worry about

    right behind whether I prefer to have my car windshield hit green gnats or black ones when driving at night in the summer.



  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Last Seen
    03-22-15 @ 11:30 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    2,788

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Should I ever have kids, videogames will probably have completly replaced toys by then.

  4. #4
    Sage


    MaggieD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Chicago Area
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    43,243
    Blog Entries
    43

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by TurtleDude View Post
    right behind whether I prefer to have my car windshield hit green gnats or black ones when driving at night in the summer.
    I think we had a poll on that last year.

  5. #5
    warrior of the wetlands
    TurtleDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Last Seen
    Today @ 04:12 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    180,703

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by MaggieD View Post
    I think we had a poll on that last year.
    I couldn't remember which ones did the cleaning fluid in my car work better on-that was what I based my decision on



  6. #6
    Educator falcata's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    North East Pennsylvania
    Last Seen
    08-10-17 @ 11:16 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Left
    Posts
    926

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Grimm View Post
    There is currently a debate raging over at the Huffington Post whether Mattel should make a plus-size Barbie doll for children.

    On the one hand, people are arguing that the original (skinny) Barbie promotes an unhealthy body image, and that little girls should have more realistic dolls to play with.

    On the other hand, people are arguing that the plus-size Barbie promotes unhealthy eating habits, and they are saying it's political correctness gone wild.

    Then, of course, you have the middle-of-the-roaders, who think they should make a Barbie somewhat in between the two dolls shown below.

    What do you think?

    Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie-fatbarbie-jpg
    I don't really understand this. In the end isn't it just a doll? Do people get up in arms because every boy can't be a G.I. Joe? There must be a better medium for this displaced anger and frustration.

    Mattel should make any kind of doll or toy it wants as long as it's safe for kids to play with. If they just casually released this doll would Mattel actually be better off for it? I honestly don't think they would be.

    I will say though that I don't think that the double chin on the heavier set Barbie was put there in good taste.
    I traveled with Ivanka
    the way I normally do
    How was I to know
    She was with the Russians too? - Poetics by TurtleDude

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    The anals of history
    Last Seen
    07-25-15 @ 02:05 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    10,348

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by TurtleDude View Post
    I think this rates about 3456th on my list of things to worry about

    right behind whether I prefer to have my car windshield hit green gnats or black ones when driving at night in the summer.
    Didn't give any Barbie dolls away for Christmas, huh?

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    The anals of history
    Last Seen
    07-25-15 @ 02:05 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    10,348

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by The German View Post
    Should I ever have kids, videogames will probably have completly replaced toys by then.
    Doubt it.

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    The anals of history
    Last Seen
    07-25-15 @ 02:05 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    10,348

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by MaggieD View Post
    I think we had a poll on that last year.
    Probably. The debate over whether Barbie is good for little girls isn't new, but it isn't settled yet either. Mattel continues to make the doll, and each Christmas, millions of them are given as gifts to little girls all over the world.

  10. #10
    Sage
    lizzie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    between two worlds
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    28,581

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    If I had to choose, it would be the skinny one. If there is a need for a new Barbie, make it average size, rather than fat. Imo, it's not any "healthier" to suggest to girls that they should be thin, than to suggest that fat is a good idea.
    "God is the name by which I designate all things which cross my path violently and recklessly, all things which alter my plans and intentions, and change the course of my life, for better or for worse."
    -C G Jung

Page 1 of 46 12311 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •