View Poll Results: What do you think of plus-size barbie?

Voters
64. You may not vote on this poll
  • Good...i would buy one for my daugher/friend/self

    4 6.25%
  • Bad...this is just a horrible idea

    19 29.69%
  • Why can't they make a normal-size barbie?

    31 48.44%
  • I can count to potato.

    19 29.69%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 8 of 46 FirstFirst ... 67891018 ... LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 455

Thread: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

  1. #71
    Global Moderator
    Rage More!
    Your Star's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Georgia
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Liberal
    Posts
    26,362

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    Well, apparently a lot of people would disagree with you, seeing as what a hot seller Barbie has been for generations.
    That's not really the point. The point is, that Barbie's shape is anatomically impossible, and young girls can have lots of problems trying to live up to unrealistic expectations of what they should look like.

    When did healthy become unattractive?
    Eat me, drink me, love me;
    Laura make much of me

  2. #72
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    New England
    Last Seen
    05-01-14 @ 03:29 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    12,879

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Honestly, I think they can and should make Barbie Dolls in whatever sizes, skin tones, genders, etc.... will sell the best. They're a toy company, nothing more.

    I will however tell you, that the chances of any daughter of mine ever having a Barbie Doll of any size is very small. There are much more appropriate toys for girls and young women to be playing with... toy kitchens, vacuume cleaners. irons, dress-up clothes, life-like baby dolls, and so on.

  3. #73
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Your Star View Post
    That's not really the point. The point is, that Barbie's shape is anatomically impossible, and young girls can have lots of problems trying to live up to unrealistic expectations of what they should look like.

    When did healthy become unattractive?
    I don't know, but everyone is built differently. Some people can never be thin because of their body habitus, while other people are just naturally thin. So either way, you're going to offend somebody!

    I agree about Barbie's dimensions though. Pretty much impossible in real life without looking bony to be THAT thin.

  4. #74
    Global Moderator
    May the force be with you
    Serenity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    18,936

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    Legos.

    My younger brother and I had more fun playing with those as children than I can easily account for. We'd build whole cities and role play complex stories with our lego men and action figures in them.
    Same. Fun times..

    Legos and SW. That's pretty much all i played with as a kid. My older sister was the Barbie doll Princess. Rarely was there fights in our house over not sharing toys nicely. She thought mine were dumb and i wasn't overly keen on hers .

  5. #75
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Serenity View Post
    Same. Fun times..

    Legos and SW. That's pretty much all i played with as a kid. My older sister was the Barbie doll Princess. Rarely was there fights in our house over not sharing toys nicely. She thought mine were dumb and i wasn't overly keen on hers .
    I played with Barbies, dollies and matchbox cars! My aunt had sons and had a HUGE collection of matchbox cars and I loved them.

  6. #76
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    I was just thinking that I'm short, maybe I should start demanding they make short Barbie dolls! I'm offended!!!

  7. #77
    Phonetic Mnemonic
    radcen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Look to your right... I'm that guy.
    Last Seen
    Today @ 03:55 PM
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    33,438

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    Eww! I guess fat girls need lovin' too!
    I didn't say "fat". There is a limit.


    Quote Originally Posted by Your Star View Post
    Skinny to the bone ain't hot, just saying.
    Testify, sister. Testify.


    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    Let's face it, if you have giant knockers you can be either fat or thin. Doesn't really matter to a lot of people.
    Sad, but true.


    Quote Originally Posted by Tigger View Post
    Honestly, I think they can and should make Barbie Dolls in whatever sizes, skin tones, genders, etc.... will sell the best. They're a toy company, nothing more.

    I will however tell you, that the chances of any daughter of mine ever having a Barbie Doll of any size is very small. There are much more appropriate toys for girls and young women to be playing with... toy kitchens, vacuume cleaners. irons, dress-up clothes, life-like baby dolls, and so on.
    I did both... and
    If you claim sexual harassment to be wrong, yet you defend anyone on your side for any reason,
    then you are a hypocrite and everything you say on the matter is just babble.

  8. #78
    Global Moderator
    May the force be with you
    Serenity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    18,936

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Tigger View Post
    Honestly, I think they can and should make Barbie Dolls in whatever sizes, skin tones, genders, etc.... will sell the best. They're a toy company, nothing more.

    I will however tell you, that the chances of any daughter of mine ever having a Barbie Doll of any size is very small. There are much more appropriate toys for girls and young women to be playing with... toy kitchens, vacuume cleaners. irons, dress-up clothes, life-like baby dolls, and so on.
    All pretty null and void really. You won't have children.

  9. #79
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by radcen View Post
    I didn't say "fat". There is a limit.



    Testify, sister. Testify.



    Sad, but true.



    I did both... and
    Well this is funny because you contradict yourself. You say skinny is not attractive yet if there are big knockers they are. So IOW, you only care about breast size. That is NO less shallow than making skinny Barbies.

  10. #80
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    By the way, I'm thin and I'm offended by some of your remarks!

Page 8 of 46 FirstFirst ... 67891018 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •