View Poll Results: What do you think of plus-size barbie?

Voters
64. You may not vote on this poll
  • Good...i would buy one for my daugher/friend/self

    4 6.25%
  • Bad...this is just a horrible idea

    19 29.69%
  • Why can't they make a normal-size barbie?

    31 48.44%
  • I can count to potato.

    19 29.69%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 5 of 46 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 455

Thread: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

  1. #41
    Sage
    Cephus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    CA
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 08:54 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    29,793

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by DiAnna View Post
    To be honest, I don't have a problem with Plus Size Barbie (Crack Whore Barbie, big problem, lol!) with the exception of those triple chins. That chick would have to weigh 600 pounds to have that many chins, seriously. Just give her a pretty-but-plump face and move on, Mattel!!

    All little girls like to have dolls that either look like them or look like someone they'd like to be, so I like seeing Barbies in all colors and sizes.
    What, you mean this one?

    Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie-crackwhorebarbie-jpg
    There is nothing demonstrably true that religion can provide the world that cannot be achieved more rationally through entirely secular means.

    Blog me! YouTube me! VidMe me!

  2. #42
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Colorado mountains
    Last Seen
    01-03-15 @ 08:59 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    5,729

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    If Barbie were to exist as a human, she would have a BMI of 16.24, fitting the weight criteria for anorexia.
    The 1996 study Ken and Barbie At Life Size, found that Barbie's head is two inches larger than the average US woman's, her waist is 19 inches smaller and her hips are 11 inches smaller.

    As her waist would be four inches thinner than her head, Barbie's body wouldn't have the room it needs to hold all of its vital organs.

    Her skinny ankles and child-size feet (Size 3) would make it necessary for her to walk on all fours.
    WTF can't Matel make a doll that looks like a normal human being?

  3. #43
    Educator falcata's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    North East Pennsylvania
    Last Seen
    08-10-17 @ 11:16 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Left
    Posts
    926

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    Legos.

    My younger brother and I had more fun playing with those as children than I can easily account for. We'd build whole cities and role play with our little lego men in them.
    Legos were an incredibly close second. I just love Lincoln Logs though. I made some damn nice looking structures I think any Swede would be proud of .
    I traveled with Ivanka
    the way I normally do
    How was I to know
    She was with the Russians too? - Poetics by TurtleDude

  4. #44
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    The anals of history
    Last Seen
    07-25-15 @ 02:05 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    10,348

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by falcata View Post
    I know what you mean. Kids aren't given things that promote the growth of their imagination any more. It mostly just mindless electronic games that leaves them in a stupor. My personal favorite will always be my Lincoln Logs.

    There is a considerably larger market for both the G.I. Joe and the Barbie in the United States. Would you say that a lot of the dissatisfaction with the figure of Barbie could come from households that might not have a young male element in them?
    In Sweden, I think the dissatisfaction is more cultural than anything. Put it this way. In latin american cultures, little girls are taught to doll themselves up, to act very overtly feminine, and then they throw huge parties for their 15th birthday and their wedding day is like the biggest day of their lives.

    For Swedish women, they usually grow up playing with cars just as much as dolls. Weddings are not a big deal at all in Sweden, in fact most people don't get married at all. You really only have your immediate family there, or you do it in the court and nobody is there, the cake is usually just something you bake yourself, and a wedding gown is usually just a simple white dress.... not the many thousands of dollars latin americans spend on this stuff.

    Women in Sweden view themselves more in terms of their career than anything. The idea of your life being focused on primping and preening is foreign to Swedish women. I think Swedish mothers mostly see Barbie as silly and really old-fashioned.

    I think of the United States as something between a Latin culture and a Nordic culture.

  5. #45
    Educator falcata's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    North East Pennsylvania
    Last Seen
    08-10-17 @ 11:16 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Left
    Posts
    926

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Grimm View Post
    In Sweden, I think the dissatisfaction is more cultural than anything. Put it this way. In latin american cultures, little girls are taught to doll themselves up, to act very overtly feminine, and then they throw huge parties for their 15th birthday and their wedding day is like the biggest day of their lives.

    For Swedish women, they usually grow up playing with cars just as much as dolls. Weddings are not a big deal at all in Sweden. You really only have your immediate family there, the cake is usually just something you bake yourself, and a wedding gown is usually just a simple white dress.... not the many thousands of dollars latin americans spend on this stuff.

    Women in Sweden view themselves more in terms of their career than anything. The idea of your life being focused on primping and preening is foreign to Swedish women. I think Swedish mothers mostly see Barbie as silly and really old-fashioned.
    I see now. Gender has just become far more homogeneous in Sweden than is most other parts of the world. Where else would you say this is probably true?
    I traveled with Ivanka
    the way I normally do
    How was I to know
    She was with the Russians too? - Poetics by TurtleDude

  6. #46
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    The anals of history
    Last Seen
    07-25-15 @ 02:05 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    10,348

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    Legos.

    My younger brother and I had more fun playing with those as children than I can easily account for. We'd build whole cities and role play complex stories with our lego men and action figures in them.
    Legos were the best. They have a secondary function as well, which is to clean your dog's digestive tract. I'll never understand why dogs eat legos.

  7. #47
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    The anals of history
    Last Seen
    07-25-15 @ 02:05 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    10,348

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by falcata View Post
    I see now. Gender has just become far more homogeneous in Sweden than is most other parts of the world. Where else would you say this is probably true?
    I don't know. I grew up in Sweden so I just have first-hand knowledge of that place. The other Nordic countries are similar.

    I would guess maybe Holland is like that as well.

    I see a bit of that in the UK as well, though not like in Scandinavia.

    I wouldn't be surprised if Israel were the same way - since military service is mandatory for women I'm sure they see themselves as equally capable to men. I wouldn't know though, I'm just speculating on that one.

  8. #48
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    The anals of history
    Last Seen
    07-25-15 @ 02:05 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    10,348

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by falcata View Post
    I see now. Gender has just become far more homogeneous in Sweden than is most other parts of the world. Where else would you say this is probably true?
    It's very very taboo in Sweden to talk about defined gender roles. It's assumed that women and men are the same.

  9. #49
    don't panic
    marduc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Last Seen
    10-22-17 @ 04:10 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    5,301

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    Legos.

    My younger brother and I had more fun playing with those as children than I can easily account for. We'd build whole cities and role play complex stories with our lego men and action figures in them.
    Quote Originally Posted by falcata View Post
    Legos were an incredibly close second. I just love Lincoln Logs though. I made some damn nice looking structures I think any Swede would be proud of .
    Had both and they got a lot of use.. but my erector set was by far the best. Being able to make robots and then rig them up with motors and a remote control (granted wireless remotes did not exist then) was the ****.
    Law Enforcement Against Prohibition
    Drugs are bad, prohibition is worse

  10. #50
    Educator falcata's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    North East Pennsylvania
    Last Seen
    08-10-17 @ 11:16 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Left
    Posts
    926

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Grimm View Post
    I don't know. I grew up in Sweden so I just have first-hand knowledge of that place. The other Nordic countries are similar.

    I would guess maybe Holland is like that as well.

    I see a bit of that in the UK as well, though not like in Scandinavia.

    I wouldn't be surprised if Israel were the same way - since military service is mandatory for women I'm sure they see themselves as equally capable to men. I wouldn't know though, I'm just speculating on that one.
    Interesting to think about the Sociology and the Geography associated with this.

    What do you think of this though?
    I traveled with Ivanka
    the way I normally do
    How was I to know
    She was with the Russians too? - Poetics by TurtleDude

Page 5 of 46 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •