View Poll Results: What do you think of plus-size barbie?

Voters
64. You may not vote on this poll
  • Good...i would buy one for my daugher/friend/self

    4 6.25%
  • Bad...this is just a horrible idea

    19 29.69%
  • Why can't they make a normal-size barbie?

    31 48.44%
  • I can count to potato.

    19 29.69%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 44 of 46 FirstFirst ... 344243444546 LastLast
Results 431 to 440 of 455

Thread: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

  1. #431
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by iacardsfan View Post
    Make a normal sized one. It doesn't need t look like it ate 14 other barbies. Just one that reflects a happy medium between the ultra thin and ultra large people of America.
    Why should they? If someone doesn't like Barbie, they don't have to buy one. There are American Girl dolls that people can purchase instead which do have the option to have one created to specification. People just like to complain and be miserable about things I think because it's really stupid to complain about a toy and insist that it causes some kind of "image problem." It's a toy!!!

  2. #432
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by TurtleDude View Post
    sorry you left me no choice!!


    That is absolutely horrible.

  3. #433
    Sage
    clownboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Oregon
    Last Seen
    08-17-16 @ 10:31 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    26,087

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    Why should they? If someone doesn't like Barbie, they don't have to buy one. There are American Girl dolls that people can purchase instead which do have the option to have one created to specification. People just like to complain and be miserable about things I think because it's really stupid to complain about a toy and insist that it causes some kind of "image problem." It's a toy!!!
    My granddaughters LOVE the American Girl dolls. They even have gatherings and group tea parties with the things. Mostly they love the stories behind each character.

  4. #434
    Professor
    iacardsfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Last Seen
    11-24-17 @ 09:51 PM
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    1,981

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    Why should they? If someone doesn't like Barbie, they don't have to buy one. There are American Girl dolls that people can purchase instead which do have the option to have one created to specification. People just like to complain and be miserable about things I think because it's really stupid to complain about a toy and insist that it causes some kind of "image problem." It's a toy!!!
    I'm not implying that the company should do anything they don't want to do. Though, if I were them that would be my suggestion. I believe it is unhealthy to portray to girls the need to be a twig.
    "Conservatism is the blind and fear-filled worship of dead radicals."
    - Mark Twain
    Run your own nation, play Cybernations.

  5. #435
    Sage
    shrubnose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Europe
    Last Seen
    11-29-17 @ 03:46 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    18,851
    Blog Entries
    2

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Grimm View Post
    There is currently a debate raging over at the Huffington Post whether Mattel should make a plus-size Barbie doll for children.

    On the one hand, people are arguing that the original (skinny) Barbie promotes an unhealthy body image, and that little girls should have more realistic dolls to play with.

    On the other hand, people are arguing that the plus-size Barbie promotes unhealthy eating habits, and they are saying it's political correctness gone wild.

    Then, of course, you have the middle-of-the-roaders, who think they should make a Barbie somewhat in between the two dolls shown below.

    What do you think?





    Attachment 67158892



    I would go with a Barbie a little heftier than the skinny one.

    Barbie has always been way too skinny.

  6. #436
    free market communist
    Gardener's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Last Seen
    09-30-17 @ 12:27 PM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    26,661

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    This just in.

    In response to charges that Barbie and Ken represent an inaccurate ideal, Mattel has just launched it's new line.....

    Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie-trailertrashdoll1-jpg
    "you're better off on Stormfront discussing how evil brown men are taking innocent white flowers." Infinite Chaos

  7. #437
    Sage

    vesper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Midwest
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:58 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    13,840

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    I put a smiley face at the end, so that you would grasp the fact that I was joking. Sorry if that went right over your head. You need to calm down I think. All I said was that the thread was about Barbie, which IT IS.
    Who needs to calm down? But you are the one that directed the thread off topic and then reminded me this thread was about Barbie. What a piece of work you are and I say that with a green smiley.

  8. #438
    Sage
    lizzie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    between two worlds
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    28,581

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Gardener View Post
    This just in.

    In response to charges that Barbie and Ken represent an inaccurate ideal, Mattel has just launched it's new line.....

    Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie-trailertrashdoll1-jpg
    White Trash Barbie?
    "God is the name by which I designate all things which cross my path violently and recklessly, all things which alter my plans and intentions, and change the course of my life, for better or for worse."
    -C G Jung

  9. #439
    Outer space potato man

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 12:13 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    51,708

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by iacardsfan View Post
    I'm not implying that the company should do anything they don't want to do. Though, if I were them that would be my suggestion. I believe it is unhealthy to portray to girls the need to be a twig.
    I once read an article where somebody scaled up a full sized adult Barbie and determined she'd essentially die from either complications from her distorted and squished internal organs or a neck unable to support her head.
    He touched her over her bra and underpants, she says, and guided her hand to touch him over his underwear
    Quote Originally Posted by Lutherf View Post
    We’ll say what? Something like “nothing happened” ... Yeah, we might say something like that.

  10. #440
    Sage

    vesper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Midwest
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:58 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    13,840

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by clownboy View Post
    My granddaughters LOVE the American Girl dolls. They even have gatherings and group tea parties with the things. Mostly they love the stories behind each character.
    Mine do too.

Page 44 of 46 FirstFirst ... 344243444546 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •