View Poll Results: What do you think of plus-size barbie?

Voters
64. You may not vote on this poll
  • Good...i would buy one for my daugher/friend/self

    4 6.25%
  • Bad...this is just a horrible idea

    19 29.69%
  • Why can't they make a normal-size barbie?

    31 48.44%
  • I can count to potato.

    19 29.69%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 38 of 46 FirstFirst ... 283637383940 ... LastLast
Results 371 to 380 of 455

Thread: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

  1. #371
    Sage

    vesper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Midwest
    Last Seen
    Today @ 09:34 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    13,875

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Northern Light View Post
    Um that's not the definition of plus size, in my book. That Barbie is overweight... check out that double chin.

    People have been arguing for a NORMAL sized Barbie forever now. Hear that Matel? NORMAL. Not a twig, not a blimp, but normal. How hard is it?

    Well, I guess the plus sized one looks like the average American at this point, so maybe my definition of normal is skewed.
    OMG NL we agree on something. Will wonders never cease! Yes the plus size Barbie is overweight and the regular Barbie is anorexia so three cheers for a "normal" Barbie! Yea!!!!!!
    Last edited by vesper; 12-27-13 at 01:30 AM.

  2. #372
    Global Moderator
    Moderator

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    36,909

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by vesper View Post
    Barbie dolls always came with panties when their outfit was a short skirt.

    And you can buy panties for them at about a buck a pair.

    Thanks, Vesper. I was about to post to Gipper that he obviously doesn't know much about Barbie. I remember some of those panties!

  3. #373
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Michigan
    Last Seen
    01-28-15 @ 06:22 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Left
    Posts
    5,587
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    If it's plus sized then it isn't a Barbie.

  4. #374
    Electrician
    Bob Blaylock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    North 38°28′ West 121°26′
    Last Seen
    Today @ 10:35 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    13,745

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Blaylock View Post
    A porn star as a long-term sexual partner?

    Well, yes, I suppose one could do worse, but one can certainly do much better.
    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    Ummm... No. I was simply talking about older women who age gracefully. They do exist, after all.

    So long as a woman takes care of herself, a shapely behind is usually going to hold up better than a large set of breasts. Frankly, even if she does let herself go a bit, a wider set of hips and larger butt isn't an especially terrible thing to have on a woman anyway.
    This thread is all about cosmetic appearance, and personal taste relating thereto; but there's a point that I think needs to be made somewhere in here, and this looks like the place to make it.

    As far as I am concerned, another word for “long-term sexual partner” is “wife”. I would not be in sexual relationship with a woman to whom I was not married, and my expectation of a wife goes far beyond merely being a sexual partner or a cosmetic decoration. In fact, “cosmetic decoration” really isn't a major purpose of a wife at all.

    It would not make me unhappy if my wife looked like a beautiful supermodel; so long as she retained the much more important and meaningful traits that truly make her suitable to be my wife. As it happens, I did not marry someone who looks like a supermodel or a porn star or any other such image that we are constantly given of what a beautiful woman should look like; and that's OK. She is beautiful in more meaningful ways, that are not nearly so obvious from a superficial glance; and that will last well beyond the point where the more superficial form of beauty is lost to the ravages of age.

    Now don't get me wrong. I greatly appreciate the sight of a beautiful (in the conventional, superficial sense) woman. But as far as what I need in a life partner, that isn't even on the list. It'd be a nice luxury, but it is not at all a requirement. Fortunately, my wife is secure enough not to terribly mind my admiration of the superficially-beautiful women we encounter. Sometimes, she'll even point one out that she thinks I might particularly admire. Often, of course, she'll playfully tease me over the fact that most women who are really attractive are young enough that I could be their father.
    The five great lies of the Left Wrong:
    We can be Godless and free. • “Social justice” through forced redistribution of wealth. • Silencing religious opinions counts as “diversity”. • Freedom without moral and personal responsibility. • Civilization can survive the intentional undermining of the family.

  5. #375
    Sage

    vesper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Midwest
    Last Seen
    Today @ 09:34 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    13,875

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by nota bene View Post
    Thanks, Vesper. I was about to post to Gipper that he obviously doesn't know much about Barbie. I remember some of those panties!
    The reason I remembered it is I had a daughter and now granddaughters and always thought it was important to teach them while putting an outfit together for Barbie, to remember her underwear. I knew the underwear came with the short skirt outfits but I wanted them to make sure they learned to dress the doll with the right undergarments first before the outfit. But then again, I was also one of those mothers and now grandmother that insists on their baby dolls be dressed and not left naked. That probably sounds odd to some but oh well......call it a lesson in modesty.

  6. #376
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Blaylock View Post
    This thread is all about cosmetic appearance, and personal taste relating thereto; but there's a point that I think needs to be made somewhere in here, and this looks like the place to make it.

    As far as I am concerned, another word for “long-term sexual partner” is “wife”. I would not be in sexual relationship with a woman to whom I was not married, and my expectation of a wife goes far beyond merely being a sexual partner or a cosmetic decoration. In fact, “cosmetic decoration” really isn't a major purpose of a wife at all.

    It would not make me unhappy if my wife looked like a beautiful supermodel; so long as she retained the much more important and meaningful traits that truly make her suitable to be my wife. As it happens, I did not marry someone who looks like a supermodel or a porn star or any other such image that we are constantly given of what a beautiful woman should look like; and that's OK. She is beautiful in more meaningful ways, that are not nearly so obvious from a superficial glance; and that will last well beyond the point where the more superficial form of beauty is lost to the ravages of age.

    Now don't get me wrong. I greatly appreciate the sight of a beautiful (in the conventional, superficial sense) woman. But as far as what I need in a life partner, that isn't even on the list. It'd be a nice luxury, but it is not at all a requirement. Fortunately, my wife is secure enough not to terribly mind my admiration of the superficially-beautiful women we encounter. Sometimes, she'll even point one out that she thinks I might particularly admire. Often, of course, she'll playfully tease me over the fact that most women who are really attractive are young enough that I could be their father.
    No, no. I agree completely. I was simply adding to the point TD made earlier concerning how women with better legs and hindquarters could often tend to age more gracefully than those with large breasts.

    I have seen more than a few older women (by my standards, anyway) who still have rather nice behinds even in spite of their age. That isn't quite as common where large breasts are concerned.

    I'm not saying that it is required that any woman I stay with maintain that level of appearance. It would be nice, of course, but one would hope that the relationship was based off of stronger things than simple lust by the time one reached that age anyway.

  7. #377
    Sage
    Bodhisattva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    New Zealand
    Last Seen
    Today @ 09:13 PM
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    63,957

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    My girls know that Barbie is just a toy...
    Quote Originally Posted by Bucky View Post
    I have pooped in public, even in public neighborhoods.
    Quote Originally Posted by OldFatGuy View Post
    Usually a gag for wise mouthed insulting little girls. Then some good nylon rope so I can tie them up, toss them in the trunk of my car and forget about them.

  8. #378
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by vesper View Post
    Wait a minute sugar ....women with moderately large breasts who maintain their weight and remain active do not end up with sagging tits. That is a fallacy. Now if they are 44DD heck yes because they are fat. With no muscle tone anything would sag.
    Are you for real? Of course breasts sag with age. I'm assuming that you're in your 50s, and if so your breasts are not NEARLY as firm as those of an 18-year-old girl.

  9. #379
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Where I am now
    Last Seen
    09-11-17 @ 03:00 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    16,386

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    A fat Barbie for a fat country.

    So instead of keeping thin role models to encourage people to lose weight...just fatten up the role model.

    Creepy.

  10. #380
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by DA60 View Post
    A fat Barbie for a fat country.

    So instead of keeping thin role models to encourage people to lose weight...just fatten up the role model.

    Creepy.
    True. Seems our country has more of a problem with obesity than anorexia in reality, so why would they want to push this chubby Barbie on our already overweight society?

Page 38 of 46 FirstFirst ... 283637383940 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •