View Poll Results: What do you think of plus-size barbie?

Voters
64. You may not vote on this poll
  • Good...i would buy one for my daugher/friend/self

    4 6.25%
  • Bad...this is just a horrible idea

    19 29.69%
  • Why can't they make a normal-size barbie?

    31 48.44%
  • I can count to potato.

    19 29.69%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 26 of 46 FirstFirst ... 16242526272836 ... LastLast
Results 251 to 260 of 455

Thread: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

  1. #251
    Phonetic Mnemonic
    radcen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Look to your right... I'm that guy.
    Last Seen
    Today @ 01:00 AM
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    33,397

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Blaylock View Post
    That's what I keep telling my wife. Of all things, she's insecure about her breasts, and wishes they were larger. But they fit my hands perfectly, and I can think of no better criterion on which to judge whether they are too big, too small, or just right.
    I have known many women that feel the same way. I have also told many of them that there are many men who LIKE that. Doesn't seem to matter... unfortunately.
    If you claim sexual harassment to be wrong, yet you defend anyone on your side for any reason,
    then you are a hypocrite and everything you say on the matter is just babble.

  2. #252
    Sage

    vesper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Midwest
    Last Seen
    Today @ 10:53 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    13,841

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by lizzie View Post
    When I was a young girl, it was never Barbie dolls which made me feel like I should be thin- it was teen and young adult female models in magazines. Playing with Barbie dolls never made me think about my weight at all.
    Well Lizzie, there are a lot of studies out there that claim Barbie dolls do influence adolescent development and though a young child doesn't realize it, studies claim it affects a young girl later on. There's a book listed on Amazon called Developmental Psychology that dedicates and entire chapter to the negative effects of Barbie dolls on young ladies. I don't know if you can access it online or maybe there are write-ups on it posted on the web. But there are a growing number of professionals that seem to think there is a connection between Barbie dolls and some pretty bad consequences from low self esteem to extreme behaviors to obtain a thin body, cosmetic surgery in young women. All I'm suggesting is give Barbie big enough feet that could handle her 6' body in real life because those size 3's would force her to crawl around on all fours unable to support herself and have her portrayed at 160 pounds which is the ideal weight for a 6' woman. She would still be quite attractive and realistically proportionate. Combine that with all the careers Barbie now dresses for breaking the plastic ceiling for women and Matell would have a home run.

  3. #253
    Phonetic Mnemonic
    radcen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Look to your right... I'm that guy.
    Last Seen
    Today @ 01:00 AM
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    33,397

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by lizzie View Post
    When I was a young girl, it was never Barbie dolls which made me feel like I should be thin- it was teen and young adult female models in magazines. Playing with Barbie dolls never made me think about my weight at all.
    In reality, I seriously doubt most young girls think one way or another anything regarding Barbie's body image. It's just a doll and they're fantasizing what they like to grow up to.
    If you claim sexual harassment to be wrong, yet you defend anyone on your side for any reason,
    then you are a hypocrite and everything you say on the matter is just babble.

  4. #254
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Blaylock View Post
    That's what I keep telling my wife. Of all things, she's insecure about her breasts, and wishes they were larger. But they fit my hands perfectly, and I can think of no better criterion on which to judge whether they are too big, too small, or just right.
    It's basically the same thing we guys do with our penis size.

    The simple fact of the matter is that you don't have to have a 10 inch schlong to please most women. By all accounts, a lot of them actually find that kind of thing to be more painful than pleasurable anyway.

    However, the commonly held belief that, unless you've got a member so large that you're basically giving women routine episiotomies with it every time you have intercourse, you're not really a "full man" still endures either way regardless. I frankly think this has more to do with competition with one's own gender than anything else.

    Men and women aren't really concerned about having assets large enough to please sexual partners so much as they care about having assets large enough to make them feel superior to competing members of their own gender.
    Last edited by Gathomas88; 12-26-13 at 11:20 PM.

  5. #255
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by NoC_T View Post
    I think that any woman who feels insecure in the presence of a doll is dumb enough to be ignored.
    Good point!

  6. #256
    Sage
    lizzie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    between two worlds
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    28,581

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    Men and women aren't really concerned about having assets large enough to make them feel superior to competing members of their own gender.
    And if they are, I'd say they need to get a life.
    "God is the name by which I designate all things which cross my path violently and recklessly, all things which alter my plans and intentions, and change the course of my life, for better or for worse."
    -C G Jung

  7. #257
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    It's basically the same thing we guys do with our penis size.

    The simple fact of the matter is that you don't have to have a 10 inch schlong to please most women. By all accounts, a lot of them actually find that kind of thing to be more painful than pleasurable anyway.

    However, the commonly held belief that, unless you've got a member so large that you're basically giving women routine episiotomies with it every time you have intercourse, you're not really a "full man" still endures either way regardless. I frankly think this has more to do with competition with one's own gender than anything else.

    Men and women aren't really concerned about having assets large enough to make them feel superior to competing members of their own gender.
    I have to disagree with you here. Penises are not being enlarged to unnatural proportions on a regular basis and they aren't normally "out there" for people to see.

    Also I have to say that I think women get breast implants for MEN and not other women.

  8. #258
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by lizzie View Post
    And if they are, I'd say they need to get a life.
    Just the nature of the beast, really. Everyone measures themselves up against the "competition" in one way or another either consciously or sub-consciously.

  9. #259
    Imposition of miscellany
    NoC_T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Last Seen
    11-25-17 @ 04:57 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    11,193

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    Good point!
    As always. Hey, it's me.

  10. #260
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    I have to disagree with you here. Penises are not being enlarged to unnatural proportions on a regular basis and they aren't normally "out there" for people to see.
    Ummm...

    Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie-enzytex-large-jpg



    Being visible also isn't really relevant here, as I was talking more about self-perception anyway. My point was that men and women alike place far more importance on these physical attributes of their bodies than the opposite sex ever has, or likely ever will.

    Also I have to say that I think women get breast implants for MEN and not other women.
    It's hard to say, really. Again, I can tell you for a fact that most guys don't really care one way or the other.

    Most of the time, women are getting the procedure done to boost their own ego and self-esteem more than anything else. In doing so, they are basing their judgments of what looks "sexy" off of a body image that is formed by comparing themselves to other women, rather than what men actually desire in the majority of cases.
    Last edited by Gathomas88; 12-26-13 at 11:31 PM.

Page 26 of 46 FirstFirst ... 16242526272836 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •