View Poll Results: What do you think of plus-size barbie?

Voters
64. You may not vote on this poll
  • Good...i would buy one for my daugher/friend/self

    4 6.25%
  • Bad...this is just a horrible idea

    19 29.69%
  • Why can't they make a normal-size barbie?

    31 48.44%
  • I can count to potato.

    19 29.69%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 25 of 46 FirstFirst ... 15232425262735 ... LastLast
Results 241 to 250 of 455

Thread: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

  1. #241
    Sage

    vesper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Midwest
    Last Seen
    Today @ 07:22 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    13,860

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Henrin View Post
    The only people that ever seem to bitch about Barbie being attractive is unattractive feminists. That should tell you all you need to know.
    Maybe some but they aren't the only ones who are critical of Barbie. There are parents who have concerns about the doll as it epitomizes an unrealistically thin body ideal which they have concerns it may damage girls’ body image later on. With an increase of 8-9 year olds who now claim they diet, and 1 in 10 young ladies reported to have anorexia and/or bulimia compounded with the huge increase in teens/young women seeking cosmetic surgery, you got to wonder if the first step toward all this is introducing your child to a Barbie doll and maybe it sends the wrong message. Barbie could still be "attractive" if she was portrayed in a "normal" size.

  2. #242
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    Take a look at these girls.

    That's just gross.

  3. #243
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    I still prefer regular Barbie.

  4. #244
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    That's just gross.
    The first girl just looks so ill. It's pretty sad.

  5. #245
    King Conspiratard
    Dr. Chuckles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Last Seen
    02-13-14 @ 03:04 PM
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    12,895

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by iliveonramen View Post
    Wow...I feel bad I laughed so hard at that.
    welcome to the rewarding world of political correct, though widely accurate, humor

  6. #246
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Chuckles View Post
    so that's what happens when you learn to snort the cocaine through your cooter
    Lol! That's mean!

  7. #247
    Sage
    lizzie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    between two worlds
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    28,581

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by vesper View Post
    Maybe some but they aren't the only ones who are critical of Barbie. There are parents who have concerns about the doll as it epitomizes an unrealistically thin body ideal which they have concerns it may damage girls’ body image later on. With an increase of 8-9 year olds who now claim they diet, and 1 in 10 young ladies reported to have anorexia and/or bulimia compounded with the huge increase in teens/young women seeking cosmetic surgery, you got to wonder if the first step toward all this is introducing your child to a Barbie doll and maybe it sends the wrong message. Barbie could still be "attractive" if she was portrayed in a "normal" size.
    When I was a young girl, it was never Barbie dolls which made me feel like I should be thin- it was teen and young adult female models in magazines. Playing with Barbie dolls never made me think about my weight at all.
    "God is the name by which I designate all things which cross my path violently and recklessly, all things which alter my plans and intentions, and change the course of my life, for better or for worse."
    -C G Jung

  8. #248
    Sage
    opendebate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Last Seen
    09-17-17 @ 01:28 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    7,315

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Grimm View Post
    There is currently a debate raging over at the Huffington Post whether Mattel should make a plus-size Barbie doll for children.

    On the one hand, people are arguing that the original (skinny) Barbie promotes an unhealthy body image, and that little girls should have more realistic dolls to play with.

    On the other hand, people are arguing that the plus-size Barbie promotes unhealthy eating habits, and they are saying it's political correctness gone wild.

    Then, of course, you have the middle-of-the-roaders, who think they should make a Barbie somewhat in between the two dolls shown below.

    What do you think?

    Attachment 67158892

    The posts in this thread have just solidified my opinion that men have a very difficult time understanding the pressures young girls face surrounding the issue of body image. I get that, it is more challenging for me to understand the pressures that men feel. It drives many young girls to drastic measures (ie: anorexia, multiple plastic surgeries).

    Seems like a more realistic approach to this issue would be to reinforce the positive message of accepting yourself and making the most of what you have; there will always be people who think you are fine just the way you are, find those people and be yourself with them.

    I do think that we would all better off if beauty products and toy industry, fashion mags, etc broadened their definition of female beauty but that is not likely to happen.
    "Judge a man by his questions rather than his answers" - Voltaire
    "There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow men. True nobility lies in being superior to your former self" -Hemingway

  9. #249
    Sage
    opendebate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Last Seen
    09-17-17 @ 01:28 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    7,315

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    That's just gross.
    Whoa...is that real?
    "Judge a man by his questions rather than his answers" - Voltaire
    "There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow men. True nobility lies in being superior to your former self" -Hemingway

  10. #250
    Imposition of miscellany
    NoC_T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Last Seen
    11-25-17 @ 04:57 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    11,193

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Grimm View Post
    What do you think?
    I think that any woman who feels insecure in the presence of a doll is dumb enough to be ignored.

Page 25 of 46 FirstFirst ... 15232425262735 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •