View Poll Results: What do you think of plus-size barbie?

Voters
64. You may not vote on this poll
  • Good...i would buy one for my daugher/friend/self

    4 6.25%
  • Bad...this is just a horrible idea

    19 29.69%
  • Why can't they make a normal-size barbie?

    31 48.44%
  • I can count to potato.

    19 29.69%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 23 of 46 FirstFirst ... 13212223242533 ... LastLast
Results 221 to 230 of 455

Thread: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

  1. #221
    Global Moderator
    Moderator

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    36,876

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    I just want to know why Barbie didn't have panties while Ken's drawers were built in. Briefs to be specific.

  2. #222
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Theoretical Physics Lab
    Last Seen
    01-06-15 @ 11:06 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    25,120

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by nota bene View Post
    I just want to know why Barbie didn't have panties while Ken's drawers were built in. Briefs to be specific.
    You can give Ken underwear that's not overt and nobody would think twice. I don't think anyone would buy Barbie in "granny panties".

    She'd have to be in something from Victoria's Secret to be accurate to who she is - and I doubt that flies for a kid's doll.

  3. #223
    Phonetic Mnemonic
    radcen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Look to your right... I'm that guy.
    Last Seen
    Today @ 07:20 PM
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    33,397

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Lovebug View Post
    Indeed, but what is supposed to be super cool was left up to my imagination, not Mattell
    Sure, but your imagination wasn't aware of the real-world necessities for business and profit.


    Quote Originally Posted by falcata View Post
    I think this can be best accounted for by the the introduction of Catholicism and the Swedish military conflicts during the 17th and 18th centuries.

    The Norse religion glorified combat and made it an incredible honor to die on the battlefield while Catholicism "officially" said that conflict was bad. The Swedes were fairly imperialistic during the 17th and 18th centuries. Unfortunately however they definitely saw limited results. Sweden was fairly successful in capturing more Baltic land after the thirty years war. This however waned as Russia grew more powerful of a state and wanted greater access to the Baltic Sea along with other factors.Greatly because of that the Swedes became dissatisfied with war itself.

    Historically Germanic women also participated in warfare. After the introduction of Catholicism this practice had stopped, but still the mindset of the the capability of both genders remained.
    Another good post. Thank you.
    If you claim sexual harassment to be wrong, yet you defend anyone on your side for any reason,
    then you are a hypocrite and everything you say on the matter is just babble.

  4. #224
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by nota bene View Post
    I just want to know why Barbie didn't have panties while Ken's drawers were built in. Briefs to be specific.
    Quote Originally Posted by Gipper View Post
    You can give Ken underwear that's not overt and nobody would think twice. I don't think anyone would buy Barbie in "granny panties".

    She'd have to be in something from Victoria's Secret to be accurate to who she is - and I doubt that flies for a kid's doll.
    Actually, a few of the Barbies my sisters had while I was growing up did come with underwear molded into their lower torsos. "Grannie panties" is more or less exactly how I would describe them too. Lol

  5. #225
    Global Moderator
    Moderator

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    36,876

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Gipper View Post
    You can give Ken underwear that's not overt and nobody would think twice. I don't think anyone would buy Barbie in "granny panties".

    She'd have to be in something from Victoria's Secret to be accurate to who she is - and I doubt that flies for a kid's doll.
    Victoria's Secret wasn't around when Barbie hit the market. Barbie never had panties, but Ken always did.

  6. #226
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Theoretical Physics Lab
    Last Seen
    01-06-15 @ 11:06 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    25,120

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by nota bene View Post
    Victoria's Secret wasn't around when Barbie hit the market. Barbie never had panties, but Ken always did.
    There ya go. They would've had to give her some unappealing underwear which didn't fit her MO at the time.

  7. #227
    Sage

    vesper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Midwest
    Last Seen
    Today @ 09:58 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    13,846

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by nota bene View Post
    I just want to know why Barbie didn't have panties while Ken's drawers were built in. Briefs to be specific.
    Barbie dolls always came with panties when their outfit was a short skirt.

    And you can buy panties for them at about a buck a pair.

    Last edited by vesper; 12-26-13 at 06:08 PM.

  8. #228
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Last Seen
    07-19-17 @ 03:51 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    60,458

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    The only people that ever seem to bitch about Barbie being attractive is unattractive feminists. That should tell you all you need to know.

  9. #229
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by nota bene View Post
    Victoria's Secret wasn't around when Barbie hit the market. Barbie never had panties, but Ken always did.
    I don't remember my Ken doll having any underwear. I don't think Barbies need panties because they really don't have anything to show.

  10. #230
    Professor
    Capster78's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Florida
    Last Seen
    08-24-15 @ 02:35 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    2,253

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    I think fat acceptance is dangerous for the health of our youth. Just as dangerous as telling them that being anorexic is bad, so is telling them that being fat is ok. I think the whole barby thing is way overblown PC bullcrap by feminists. I don't see anything wrong with aspiring to a healthy body image.
    - There was never a good war, or a bad peace.
    - Idealistically, everything should work as you planed it to. Realistically, it depends on how idealistic you are as to the measure of success.
    - Better to be a pessimist before, and an optimist afterwords.

Page 23 of 46 FirstFirst ... 13212223242533 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •