View Poll Results: What do you think of plus-size barbie?

Voters
64. You may not vote on this poll
  • Good...i would buy one for my daugher/friend/self

    4 6.25%
  • Bad...this is just a horrible idea

    19 29.69%
  • Why can't they make a normal-size barbie?

    31 48.44%
  • I can count to potato.

    19 29.69%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 2 of 46 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 455

Thread: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

  1. #11
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    The anals of history
    Last Seen
    07-25-15 @ 02:05 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    10,348

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by falcata View Post
    I don't really understand this. In the end isn't it just a doll? Do people get up in arms because every boy can't be a G.I. Joe? There must be a better medium for this displaced anger and frustration.

    Mattel should make any kind of doll or toy it wants as long as it's safe for kids to play with. If they just casually released this doll would Mattel actually be better off for it? I honestly don't think they would be.

    I will say though that I don't think that the double chin on the heavier set Barbie was put there in good taste.
    Actually, many parents don't like GI Joe because it supposedly promotes violence. I couldn't have a toy gun as a kid. Of course, I grew up in Sweden, and over there you would never see militaristic toys like GI Joe.

    I just had lots of cars and trains, and legos.

  2. #12
    Sage
    Perotista's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Georgia
    Last Seen
    Today @ 10:03 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    17,938
    Blog Entries
    25

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Grimm View Post
    There is currently a debate raging over at the Huffington Post whether Mattel should make a plus-size Barbie doll for children.

    On the one hand, people are arguing that the original (skinny) Barbie promotes an unhealthy body image, and that little girls should have more realistic dolls to play with.

    On the other hand, people are arguing that the plus-size Barbie promotes unhealthy eating habits, and they are saying it's political correctness gone wild.

    Then, of course, you have the middle-of-the-roaders, who think they should make a Barbie somewhat in between the two dolls shown below.

    What do you think?

    Attachment 67158892
    I say leave Barbie alone. I just can't see the fat Barbie selling. But I guess it wouldn't hurt to test market it.
    This Reform Party member thinks it is high past time that we start electing Americans to congress and the presidency who put America first and their political party further down the line. But for way too long we have been electing Republicans and Democrats who happen to be Americans instead of Americans who happen to be Republicans and Democrats.

  3. #13
    Sage
    Perotista's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Georgia
    Last Seen
    Today @ 10:03 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    17,938
    Blog Entries
    25

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Grimm View Post
    Actually, many parents don't like GI Joe because it supposedly promotes violence. I couldn't have a toy gun as a kid. Of course, I grew up in Sweden, and over there you would never see military toys.

    I just had lots of cars and trains, and legos.
    Are you kidding me, right? I was brought up on guns and cowboys and Indians on TV once we got a TV. Oh Sweden, okay that explains it.
    This Reform Party member thinks it is high past time that we start electing Americans to congress and the presidency who put America first and their political party further down the line. But for way too long we have been electing Republicans and Democrats who happen to be Americans instead of Americans who happen to be Republicans and Democrats.

  4. #14
    warrior of the wetlands
    TurtleDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Last Seen
    Today @ 02:00 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    180,700

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Grimm View Post
    Didn't give any Barbie dolls away for Christmas, huh?
    never have. I have four nieces though they are 13-19. we gave them each really high quality Christmas ornaments and the two local ones (the other two live in Manhattan) were at a dinner tonight with their maternal aunt and her husband. I brought a bag full of folding knives and flashlights for them and their cousins and let them pick. some wanted flashlights and some wanted knives (and it wasn't based on gender)

    when the nieces were younger we tended to give them educational games or books



  5. #15
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Last Seen
    03-22-15 @ 11:30 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    2,788

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Will there also be an anorexic barbie?

  6. #16
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Grimm View Post
    There is currently a debate raging over at the Huffington Post whether Mattel should make a plus-size Barbie doll for children.

    On the one hand, people are arguing that the original (skinny) Barbie promotes an unhealthy body image, and that little girls should have more realistic dolls to play with.

    On the other hand, people are arguing that the plus-size Barbie promotes unhealthy eating habits, and they are saying it's political correctness gone wild.

    Then, of course, you have the middle-of-the-roaders, who think they should make a Barbie somewhat in between the two dolls shown below.

    What do you think?

    Attachment 67158892


    Yea... I'm frankly not convinced that a debate this intrinsically silly even warrants consideration.

    Anyone who would seriously consider promoting obesity simply to ensure that young girls' feelings aren't hurt by overly skinny bits of anthropomorphic plastic clearly has a screw loose.
    Last edited by Gathomas88; 12-26-13 at 01:05 AM.

  7. #17
    Educator falcata's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    North East Pennsylvania
    Last Seen
    08-10-17 @ 11:16 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Left
    Posts
    926

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Grimm View Post
    Actually, many parents don't like GI Joe because it supposedly promotes violence. I couldn't have a toy gun as a kid. Of course, I grew up in Sweden, and over there you would never see militaristic toys like GI Joe.

    I just had lots of cars and trains, and legos.
    That makes a lot of sense. Though in America the military is very celebrated, and I would assume people don't have a necessarily bad impression of G.I. Joe.

    Would you say the Barbie issue is one of international or of just American significance?
    I traveled with Ivanka
    the way I normally do
    How was I to know
    She was with the Russians too? - Poetics by TurtleDude

  8. #18
    Sage
    SmokeAndMirrors's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    RVA
    Last Seen
    Today @ 09:57 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    18,170

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Gee, this sounds like a great idea.

    So they're suggesting that we go from encouraging girls to be anorexic, to encouraging girls to be obese?

    What the hell is wrong with people?

    Make a normal ****ing Barbie. Or just make her so crazily disproportionate that no one can complain, a la Bratz with the gigantic head.

  9. #19
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    01-22-17 @ 09:27 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    4,136

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Grimm View Post
    There is currently a debate raging over at the Huffington Post whether Mattel should make a plus-size Barbie doll for children.

    On the one hand, people are arguing that the original (skinny) Barbie promotes an unhealthy body image, and that little girls should have more realistic dolls to play with.

    On the other hand, people are arguing that the plus-size Barbie promotes unhealthy eating habits, and they are saying it's political correctness gone wild.

    Then, of course, you have the middle-of-the-roaders, who think they should make a Barbie somewhat in between the two dolls shown below.

    What do you think?

    Attachment 67158892
    Both are modeled after extremely unattractive women in my opinion....

    On a side note, I've never really understood why the debate about weight is centered around self worth. Be happy with who you are, but clean up your diet (incase anyone is wondering, eating lots of lean protein is the way to go) and hit the gym. Your blood sugar, heart, lungs, arteries, back, and brain will thank you for it. And I guess the attractiveness is an extra plus, but being healthy is far more important.

  10. #20
    Sage
    Cephus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    CA
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 09:38 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    29,792

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    I really don't care what they make, parents ought to decide what they want to buy for their children and leave it at that. If there are enough people that want a plus-size Barbie or a normal-body Barbie, Mattel or another company will make one and that will be that. If kids are being influenced by their dolls, there's some really bad parenting going on that's more important to fix.
    There is nothing demonstrably true that religion can provide the world that cannot be achieved more rationally through entirely secular means.

    Blog me! YouTube me! VidMe me!

Page 2 of 46 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •