View Poll Results: What do you think of plus-size barbie?

Voters
64. You may not vote on this poll
  • Good...i would buy one for my daugher/friend/self

    4 6.25%
  • Bad...this is just a horrible idea

    19 29.69%
  • Why can't they make a normal-size barbie?

    31 48.44%
  • I can count to potato.

    19 29.69%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 18 of 46 FirstFirst ... 8161718192028 ... LastLast
Results 171 to 180 of 455

Thread: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

  1. #171
    Sage

    vesper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Midwest
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:47 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    13,880

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    Well I have to disagree. Barbie is just a toy. I think the problem is what I stated way more so than any piece of plastic. I mean, in that case, we might as well get rid of princesses, superheroes, etc., because no one can really live up to those expectations either. Dolls and toys are about play and fantasy.
    At least one thing Barbie has done over the years is that it produced a series of career dolls depicting young women in fields such as astronauts, paleontologists, doctors, presidential candidates which is a much improved from her beginnings in the 50's where she started out as a beauty contestant.

    When did Ken make a comeback? Last I heard he and Barbie split in 2004 after 43 years of unwedded bliss. Barbie kept the Dream House, the pink Volkswagen, the Jeep and the Cadillac. It was reported she was tired of being the one to bring home the bacon with her many careers while Ken hung out on the beach.

  2. #172
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Last Seen
    02-18-14 @ 08:18 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    5,660

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Grimm View Post
    There is currently a debate raging over at the Huffington Post whether Mattel should make a plus-size Barbie doll for children.

    On the one hand, people are arguing that the original (skinny) Barbie promotes an unhealthy body image, and that little girls should have more realistic dolls to play with.

    On the other hand, people are arguing that the plus-size Barbie promotes unhealthy eating habits, and they are saying it's political correctness gone wild.

    Then, of course, you have the middle-of-the-roaders, who think they should make a Barbie somewhat in between the two dolls shown below.

    What do you think?

    Attachment 67158892
    we should stick with the originals unless we get buy in from Christmas stocking companies to increase the opening on their products

  3. #173
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    New England
    Last Seen
    05-01-14 @ 03:29 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    12,879

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    I don't think it would hurt anyone either. I just don't know how financially feasible that would be since it's probably a more expensive process to do such a thing with a Barbie than with a stuffed bear.
    I think that Mattel might be surprised at how many more Barbie dolls they sold if they were to be a little more diverse in appearance and accessories.

  4. #174
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Tigger View Post
    I think that Mattel might be surprised at how many more Barbie dolls they sold if they were to be a little more diverse in appearance and accessories.
    Perhaps. I can't say because I don't know what the cost/benefit analysis results would be.

  5. #175
    global liberation

    ecofarm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Miami
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 07:49 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    66,400

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by Tigger View Post
    I think that Mattel might be surprised at how many more Barbie dolls they sold if they were to be a little more diverse in appearance and accessories.
    No Got-her-ass-kicked Barbie.

  6. #176
    Sage

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 09:01 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    18,285

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by polgara View Post
    We might see a reformed Barbie, so a church or something will probably be the next item for sale. It could be a sales winner, because the Bible belt people will think "it's about time," while others will shake their head and remember the good old days when life was fun and buy it in remembrance!
    Or ... along those lines ... Jihad Barbie ... a limited run ... could become a collectors item.

  7. #177
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by ecofarm View Post
    No Got-her-ass-kicked Barbie.
    Oh snap!

  8. #178
    Sage
    polgara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 10:17 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    18,351

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisL View Post
    Life size Ken dolls?
    If they buy the child size one, and decide they like them, who knows? :

  9. #179
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    07-16-14 @ 01:18 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    47,571

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by polgara View Post
    If they buy the child size one, and decide they like them, who knows? :
    I can just imagine the possibilities with build your own Ken dolls.

  10. #180
    Sage


    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    SW Virginia
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 07:44 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    18,265

    Re: Your Opinion on Plus Size Barbie

    Quote Originally Posted by vesper View Post
    At least one thing Barbie has done over the years is that it produced a series of career dolls depicting young women in fields such as astronauts, paleontologists, doctors, presidential candidates which is a much improved from her beginnings in the 50's where she started out as a beauty contestant.

    When did Ken make a comeback? Last I heard he and Barbie split in 2004 after 43 years of unwedded bliss. Barbie kept the Dream House, the pink Volkswagen, the Jeep and the Cadillac. It was reported she was tired of being the one to bring home the bacon with her many careers while Ken hung out on the beach.
    Ken has neuticles. He's useless. With a new jobs program, the best he can hope for is to learn to turn drums, grind valves, and rebuild motors. He could break a nail, though, so I doubt he'll go for it.

Page 18 of 46 FirstFirst ... 8161718192028 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •