View Poll Results: How has your view of President Obama changed with the daily "scandals" revealed?

Voters
29. You may not vote on this poll
  • I used to be an Obama fan but I can be one no longer

    4 13.79%
  • It has had some effect but not really

    7 24.14%
  • No effect on me at all

    14 48.28%
  • Other (explain)

    4 13.79%
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 28 of 28

Thread: Public Opinion

  1. #21
    User
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Minnesota
    Last Seen
    08-09-15 @ 03:35 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    46

    Re: Public Opinion

    Quote Originally Posted by iacardsfan View Post
    So it has come to my attention that every day when I get on here there is a new "scandal" being brought to light about the Obama administration. While some are major like the IRS scandal and Benghazi, they are becoming more irrelevant as time goes on. And it seems people are just trying to find anything to deface the President. I'm just looking to see what these daily "scandals" have done to your opinion of the President?
    My opinion of the president hasn't changed at all with all the scandals coming to light. It is my opinion that these scandals are more a highlighting of the corruption of good government and the parasitic nature of our current political landscape. Governing has basically become the mistreated kid, torn between divorcing parents who both want his favor, and as long as American politics is acted out as a war between Democrats and Republicans, our society will continue to slowly be torn apart and our government will continue to function as an emotionally maladjusted teenager.

  2. #22
    Finite and Precious
    Jredbaron96's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    With you.
    Last Seen
    01-16-18 @ 11:10 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    8,108
    Blog Entries
    2

    Re: Public Opinion

    I've never held a high opinion of Obama, nor was I overly enthusiastic about his victory, but if I didn't support him I was ultimately going against my best interest.

    As for the scandals, I have a rule of thumb to wait for the dust to clear before making my opinion known. Too often I've tried to hop in and found myself surrounded by nothing but bull****.
    "Human kindness has never weakened the stamina or softened the fiber of a free people. A nation does not have to be cruel to be tough."
    -FDR

  3. #23
    Baby Eating Monster
    Korimyr the Rat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Laramie, WY
    Last Seen
    11-23-17 @ 02:02 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Left
    Posts
    18,708
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Public Opinion

    No effect-- I already held his administration in contempt.

  4. #24
    Guru
    Smeagol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Last Seen
    02-19-17 @ 11:35 PM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    4,147

    Re: Public Opinion

    Quote Originally Posted by Smeagol View Post
    As a republican all of my adult life with the exception of my freshman year in college, back in 2008 I was supporter of the GOP and backed Huckabee in the primary and planned to vote for whoever was the GOP nominee in November. However I was impressed with the groundbreaking nature of the Obama candidacy and although I did not plan to vote for him myself due to differences on the issues, I found his run to be inspirational and historical in light of the sad and tragic history of race relations in American and saw it as a milestone in American history. Then the GOP starts to lose its mind and to say I was disappointed by the demonization tactics and double standards would be an understatement. I still voted for John McCain however because I felt he did not approve of the tactics of others in the GOP and thinking he would bring a wealth of experience to the Oval Office and he is undeniably a legitimate American hero.

    However, the GOP insanity only went into overdrive from 2009 to 2012 from the characterization of Shirley Sharrod to cheering for American losing against Brazil to host the Olympics to after school fights caught on tape used to deliberately incite racial animosity to the birther controversy to celebrating the high urban crime rate in Chicago and a list of double standards so long I'd rather not even start. By 2012 I'd had enough and voted for Obama, not because I like his policies so much but because I feel like vomiting over the sick culture of the GOP and I do think some of it is rooted in racism. In fact, I voted for democrats in every single race where a democrat was on the ballot against a republican. Leaders in the GOP I once thought the world of I began to see in an entirely different light.
    Almost forgot; add to all that the targeted but backfired voter supression tactics of the GOP to reduce minority voting.
    Having opinions all over the map is a good sign of a person capable of autonomous thinking. Felix -2011

  5. #25
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SE Asia
    Last Seen
    07-12-14 @ 10:52 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Left
    Posts
    2,333

    Re: Public Opinion

    I voted for Obama in 2008 and was cautiously optimistic. I lost confidence in him well before the scandals, though. He is just another politician beholden to the corporatocracy. I love what he says. But I hate what he does.

  6. #26
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Last Seen
    07-19-17 @ 03:51 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    60,458

    Re: Public Opinion

    Obama: I have no idea what's going on.

  7. #27
    User
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Last Seen
    08-03-13 @ 10:16 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    38

    Re: Public Opinion

    It doesn't hold much water with me because I think it's really a curse of the second term (poor word choice but bear with me), these "scandales" are similar to the issues that Clinton and Bush 1&2 faced. I think at this point these are serious issues that need to be dealt with, but I would be more worried if Obama was constantly worried about them instead of focusing on re-building our economy, or the international issues of today.

  8. #28
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Last Seen
    02-18-14 @ 08:18 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    5,660

    Re: Public Opinion

    If you took the time to educate yourself about Obama and and his history prior to being elected senator you would have known he was unfit to be President mainly due to experience. That being said I thought he would be bad for the country and these scandals just confirmed my thoughts.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •