View Poll Results: How has your view of President Obama changed with the daily "scandals" revealed?

Voters
29. You may not vote on this poll
  • I used to be an Obama fan but I can be one no longer

    4 13.79%
  • It has had some effect but not really

    7 24.14%
  • No effect on me at all

    14 48.28%
  • Other (explain)

    4 13.79%
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 28

Thread: Public Opinion

  1. #11
    Dungeon Master
    anti socialist

    X Factor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Texas Proud
    Last Seen
    Today @ 04:24 PM
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    44,721

    Re: Public Opinion

    Quote Originally Posted by Boo Radley View Post
    I'm waiting for something if real substance that can actually be linked to him. The IRS so far is the most concerning, but still nothing we can hang directly on Obama.
    In my experience, you all aren't really interested in the truth if it might make Obama look bad.

  2. #12
    Sage
    Boo Radley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Last Seen
    11-22-17 @ 04:22 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    36,858

    Re: Public Opinion

    Quote Originally Posted by X Factor View Post
    In my experience, you all aren't really interested in the truth if it might make Obama look bad.
    More interested than many if you were concerning Bush. But the fact is most of those who hate Obama are hyperbolic in their rhetoric concerning these scandals, large seeing something no where near proven. You don't need any stink'in evidence. Just your irrational hate.

    AUSTAN GOOLSBEE: I think the world vests too much power, certainly in the president, probably in Washington in general for its influence on the economy, because most all of the economy has nothing to do with the government.

  3. #13
    Guru
    Smeagol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Last Seen
    02-19-17 @ 11:35 PM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    4,147

    Re: Public Opinion

    Quote Originally Posted by iacardsfan View Post
    So it has come to my attention that every day when I get on here there is a new "scandal" being brought to light about the Obama administration. While some are major like the IRS scandal and Benghazi, they are becoming more irrelevant as time goes on. And it seems people are just trying to find anything to deface the President. I'm just looking to see what these daily "scandals" have done to your opinion of the President?
    As a republican all of my adult life with the exception of my freshman year in college, back in 2008 I was supporter of the GOP and backed Huckabee in the primary and planned to vote for whoever was the GOP nominee in November. However I was impressed with the groundbreaking nature of the Obama candidacy and although I did not plan to vote for him myself due to differences on the issues, I found his run to be inspirational and historical in light of the sad and tragic history of race relations in American and saw it as a milestone in American history. Then the GOP starts to lose its mind and to say I was disappointed by the demonization tactics and double standards would be an understatement. I still voted for John McCain however because I felt he did not approve of the tactics of others in the GOP and thinking he would bring a wealth of experience to the Oval Office and he is undeniably a legitimate American hero.

    However, the GOP insanity only went into overdrive from 2009 to 2012 from the characterization of Shirley Sharrod to cheering for American losing against Brazil to host the Olympics to after school fights caught on tape used to deliberately incite racial animosity to the birther controversy to celebrating the high urban crime rate in Chicago and a list of double standards so long I'd rather not even start. By 2012 I'd had enough and voted for Obama, not because I like his policies so much but because I feel like vomiting over the sick culture of the GOP and I do think some of it is rooted in racism. In fact, I voted for democrats in every single race where a democrat was on the ballot against a republican. Leaders in the GOP I once thought the world of I began to see in an entirely different light.
    Having opinions all over the map is a good sign of a person capable of autonomous thinking. Felix -2011

  4. #14
    Dungeon Master
    anti socialist

    X Factor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Texas Proud
    Last Seen
    Today @ 04:24 PM
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    44,721

    Re: Public Opinion

    Quote Originally Posted by Boo Radley View Post
    More interested than many if you were concerning Bush. But the fact is most of those who hate Obama are hyperbolic in their rhetoric concerning these scandals, large seeing something no where near proven. You don't need any stink'in evidence. Just your irrational hate.
    The disinterest and even open hostility to trying to figure out why Bengahzi happened was a sad eye opener to me. I'd be pissed about it and want heads to roll regardless of the party affiliation of the president. You all were more interested in circling the wagons.
    Last edited by X Factor; 06-06-13 at 11:57 AM.

  5. #15
    Sage
    Boo Radley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Last Seen
    11-22-17 @ 04:22 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    36,858

    Re: Public Opinion

    Quote Originally Posted by X Factor View Post
    The disinterest and even open hostility to trying to figure out why Bengahzi happened was a sad eye opener to me. I'd be pissed about it and want heads to roll regardless of the party affiliation of the president. You all were more interested in circling the wagons.
    Many have a fictional account if Benghazi and that is why you're so upset. You believe the hyperbolic and lack the ability and rationality to see it for what it is. You have the fever. I recommend turning off the talking heads, spend a few days in the country, say fishing, and try to find your rational mind.

    That was some humor. But Benghazi has not been in any shown to be what many pretend it is.

    AUSTAN GOOLSBEE: I think the world vests too much power, certainly in the president, probably in Washington in general for its influence on the economy, because most all of the economy has nothing to do with the government.

  6. #16
    Sage davidtaylorjr's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    South Carolina
    Last Seen
    10-18-13 @ 08:57 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    6,775

    Re: Public Opinion

    The scandals are further proof that Obama needs to step down from office.
    Freedom is never more than one generation away from extinction. We didn't pass it to our children in the bloodstream. It must be fought for, protected, and handed on for them to do the same.

    Ronald Reagan

  7. #17
    Global Moderator
    Moderator
    Helix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Last Seen
    Today @ 08:09 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    37,063

    Re: Public Opinion

    Quote Originally Posted by iacardsfan View Post
    So it has come to my attention that every day when I get on here there is a new "scandal" being brought to light about the Obama administration. While some are major like the IRS scandal and Benghazi, they are becoming more irrelevant as time goes on. And it seems people are just trying to find anything to deface the President. I'm just looking to see what these daily "scandals" have done to your opinion of the President?
    i find the civil liberties aspect of his presidency very disappointing. the IRS targeting of fake charities on one side is also completely unacceptable. if you're going to scrutinize pretend charities, you have to scrutinize all of them. as for Benghazi, we should have never been there in the first place, but the microscope has been put onto the tragedy so that it could be used as a political tool and to stir up people who hate the president so that networks could raise ad revenue. there have been many embassies attacks and many people killed, and not one of the other attacks received saturation coverage for eight months. the one good thing that should have come out of this tragedy is that we should have had a national discussion about getting the **** out of places where we shouldn't have embassies. but they're probably building another one right now, unfortunately, and embassy attacks will happen again and again and again even if we cover them with a twenty foot thick concrete dome. it's sad. i would prefer that we go back to just being a country rather than trying to be a global military superpower.

    as for what i think of him, i can't imagine why he or anyone else wants that job. i'm fairly tired of the administration, and i'm dreading the next one. i'm basically kind of meh about it. he ran on stuff that i knew (and he knew) he couldn't realistically do, and the opposition in congress has been almost historic. back when i was a libertarian, i viewed gridlock as a good thing, but it sucks. nothing gets done except fighting, and there are some things we really need to be planning for. i feel like both sides are insulting my intelligence with everything they say. the political teamsports aren't even done well; they're as transparent as glass, and no one sees it because they don't want to see it. people don't want to criticize their team, and they get emotionally attached to anything that they feel might one up the other side. and yet, the same people hang out in right wing or left wing echo chambers and privately hate their own side almost as much as they hate the other.

    we need more choices. part of it is legal protection that legislators have given themselves, part of it is inertia, and another part of it is gerrymandering. however, most of the fault lies with us for not demanding more choices.

  8. #18
    Global Moderator
    Moderator

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    36,865

    Re: Public Opinion

    Quote Originally Posted by Boo Radley View Post
    More interested than many if you were concerning Bush. But the fact is most of those who hate Obama are hyperbolic in their rhetoric concerning these scandals, large seeing something no where near proven. You don't need any stink'in evidence. Just your irrational hate.
    That's true of those who are irrational, irrespective of party or lean.

    But there are many more who don't hate the President and have wished him well, if only for our nation's sake, and who are bitterly disappointed day after day. There is no need for hyperbole; there is plenty of evidence to suggest, at the charitable least, that Obama is incompetent. There is just too much that he claims not to have known and no way at all to justify or spin such scandals as the IRS.

  9. #19
    Sage
    MoSurveyor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Last Seen
    04-13-17 @ 04:36 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    9,985

    Re: Public Opinion

    Quote Originally Posted by X Factor View Post
    In my experience, you all aren't really interested in the truth if it might make Obama look bad.
    In my experience mud slingers will pick up any kind of muck they can reach, even if it's their own feces.

    I stopped paying attention to that kind of junk a loooong time ago.
    Mt. Rushmore: Three surveyors and some other guy.
    Life goes on within you and without you. -Harrison
    Hear the echoes of the centuries, Power isn't all that money buys. -Peart
    After you learn quantum mechanics you're never really the same again. -Weinberg

  10. #20
    Sage
    Boo Radley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Last Seen
    11-22-17 @ 04:22 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    36,858

    Re: Public Opinion

    Quote Originally Posted by nota bene View Post
    That's true of those who are irrational, irrespective of party or lean.

    But there are many more who don't hate the President and have wished him well, if only for our nation's sake, and who are bitterly disappointed day after day. There is no need for hyperbole; there is plenty of evidence to suggest, at the charitable least, that Obama is incompetent. There is just too much that he claims not to have known and no way at all to justify or spin such scandals as the IRS.
    There are real issues, but the incompetent claim is hyperbole.

    AUSTAN GOOLSBEE: I think the world vests too much power, certainly in the president, probably in Washington in general for its influence on the economy, because most all of the economy has nothing to do with the government.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •