View Poll Results: How do you feel about female soldiers?

Voters
59. You may not vote on this poll
  • Like them, GI Jane is HOT

    16 27.12%
  • Like them, but not on the front lines

    11 18.64%
  • I'm a realist, I don't like them

    7 11.86%
  • Potato

    25 42.37%
Page 1 of 19 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 188

Thread: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    The anals of history
    Last Seen
    07-25-15 @ 02:05 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    10,348

    What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    I'll be honest, they gross me out. I don't like them one bit.

    First, it's a waste of tax dollars to give women guns and have them running around playing GI Jane.

    Second, what happens if a woman is caught in battle? A woman is a liability out there.

    Women are physically, mentally, and emotionally not cut out to be soldiers. For that reason, they have not been soldiers all throughout human history.

    It's only in our modern, metrosexual era where Hollywood replaces reality that we are deluded enouigh to believe that men and women are exactly the same in every respect.

  2. #2
    Sage

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Last Seen
    10-28-17 @ 06:19 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Liberal
    Posts
    15,248

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Thanks for sharing your opinion. I'm sure we all treasure it, especially on this subject.
    "Groups with guitars are on the way out, Mr. Epstein"

    Dick Rowe, A & R man
    Decca Records
    London, 1962

  3. #3
    Basketball Nerd
    StillBallin75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Vilseck, Germany
    Last Seen
    12-10-17 @ 07:52 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    21,896

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    So many straw men and false statements in this argument I don't even know where to begin. And it doesn't make you in any way a realist.
    Nobody who wins a war indulges in a bifurcated definition of victory. War is a political act; victory and defeat have meaning only in political terms. A country incapable of achieving its political objectives at an acceptable cost is losing the war, regardless of battlefield events.

    Bifurcating victory (e.g. winning militarily, losing politically) is a useful salve for defeated armies. The "stab in the back" narrative helped take the sting out of failure for German generals after WWI and their American counterparts after Vietnam.

    All the same, it's nonsense. To paraphrase Vince Lombardi, show me a political loser, and I'll show you a loser.
    - Colonel Paul Yingling

  4. #4
    Sage


    MaggieD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Chicago Area
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    43,243
    Blog Entries
    43

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Grimm View Post
    I'll be honest, they gross me out. I don't like them one bit.

    First, it's a waste of tax dollars to give women guns and have them running around playing GI Jane.

    Second, what happens if a woman is caught in battle? A woman is a liability out there.

    Women are physically, mentally, and emotionally not cut out to be soldiers. For that reason, they have not been soldiers all throughout human history.

    It's only in our modern, metrosexual era where Hollywood replaces reality that we are deluded enouigh to believe that men and women are exactly the same in every respect.
    I didn't vote because I can't do so intelligently. First, I don't know how they compare shoulder-to-shoulder with guys. And secondly, I don't know the mindset of a male soldier. Does he think his female compatriot has to be protected more than a male counterpart? I don't know. I think guys in our current military could answer much more intelligently than the rest of us.
    The devil whispered in my ear, "You cannot withstand the storm." I whispered back, "I am ​the storm."

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Ft. Campbell, KY
    Last Seen
    12-31-14 @ 08:37 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    12,177

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Grimm View Post
    I'll be honest, they gross me out. I don't like them one bit.

    First, it's a waste of tax dollars to give women guns and have them running around playing GI Jane.

    Second, what happens if a woman is caught in battle? A woman is a liability out there.

    Women are physically, mentally, and emotionally not cut out to be soldiers. For that reason, they have not been soldiers all throughout human history.

    It's only in our modern, metrosexual era where Hollywood replaces reality that we are deluded enouigh to believe that men and women are exactly the same in every respect.
    Personally if I was caught in a battle I'd rather have one of my female Soldiers out there than you.

    I voted potato because I think the OP's intelligence is on par with one.

  6. #6
    Dungeon Master
    Veni, vidi, dormivi!

    spud_meister's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Didjabringabeeralong
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    33,874
    Blog Entries
    8

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    I think their uniforms should include leather...
    So follow me into the desert
    As desperate as you are
    Where the moon is glued to a picture of heaven
    And all the little pigs have God

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    United States
    Last Seen
    01-21-16 @ 12:21 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    51,124

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Grimm View Post
    I'll be honest, they gross me out. I don't like them one bit.

    First, it's a waste of tax dollars to give women guns and have them running around playing GI Jane.

    Second, what happens if a woman is caught in battle? A woman is a liability out there.

    Women are physically, mentally, and emotionally not cut out to be soldiers. For that reason, they have not been soldiers all throughout human history.

    It's only in our modern, metrosexual era where Hollywood replaces reality that we are deluded enouigh to believe that men and women are exactly the same in every respect.
    I'm in an engineer company. Honestly the gender doesn't make an impact. Women operate heavy equipment on par with men. In Afghanistan, men are more likely to be raped than women, because that's Pashtun sexuality. Our female soldiers can use weapons as well as any of the rest of us.

    Where the presence of women starts making a conflict in the service is exactly the same as any other professional setting: Relationships. Even when sex is not performed, the tensions caused by the creation and brake up of even light romantic relationships works against unit cohesiveness.

    This is by no means unique to the military, but exists everywhere on Earth men and women work together. To say women don't belong in the military is to say that women don't belong in the professional world at all, and I don't agree with that.

    The only caveat I make, is that the military consistently dumbs down the standards for women. Combat is unforgiving. A woman absolutely must be able to meet the same minimum requirements as a man for a given position. Unfortunately that is not how the military handles it. THe service makes a double standard for women, and that allone costs lives.
    Last edited by Jerry; 03-31-13 at 07:57 PM.

  8. #8
    Sage
    roguenuke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Last Seen
    05-17-17 @ 05:55 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    28,935

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Wow, what a truly sexist OP.

    This is the 21st Century. Our frontlines are nothing like those from either WW or even Korea/Vietnam. We do plenty of things that are considered "front line" that require finesse and intelligence, not strength and confrontation. And women are more than capable of keeping their emotions in check, some even more so than men. Anger is still an emotion. Bloodlust is an emotion.

    And in today's battlefield most situations do not require a person, any person to be able to carry their buddy away from battle, not that all men could physically do that either. But women are more than capable of being trained and conditioned to be able to do what is physically required of them.

    Women have been soldiers throughout history. Many may not have been known to be women when they were soldiers and there weren't a lot of them, but there have been women soldiers in the past.

    That being said, I do think we need to be cautious about letting women into certain areas of battle mainly because the men would find it hard to handle and until we do make equipment more easily carried/operated (which should be something we strive for even without allowing women in major combat roles) so that more than just a handful of women are qualified to do the job throughout the military. The biggest problem I see is the men being able to view the women as viable soldiers instead of weaklings. This is a problem with the men and this stupid mindset that women don't make good soldiers.
    "A woman is like a teabag, you never know how strong she is until she gets in hot water." - Eleanor Roosevelt

    Keep your religion out of other people's marriages.

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    United States
    Last Seen
    01-21-16 @ 12:21 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    51,124

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by MaggieD View Post
    I didn't vote because I can't do so intelligently.
    Potato is a valid option. For example:

    What's your opinion on female soldiers?-microwavemashedpotatoes-jpg

    That is a perfect bowl of potatoes, there simply is no argument against that.

  10. #10
    Uncanny
    Paschendale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    New York City
    Last Seen
    03-31-16 @ 04:08 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Socialist
    Posts
    12,510

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Grimm View Post
    It's only in our modern, metrosexual era where Hollywood replaces reality that we are deluded enouigh to believe that men and women are exactly the same in every respect.
    I like how in Grimm's world, men only come in one of these two ways.

    What's your opinion on female soldiers?-metrosexualiy3-jpgWhat's your opinion on female soldiers?-hank-hill-1-jpg

    Also, I like how the poll options are 1) Sex object, 2) Women are inferior but not really inferior, and 3) ad hom attack on anyone who doesn't think that women are inferior. Also potato, which is clearly the superior choice.
    Liberté. Égalité. Fraternité.

Page 1 of 19 12311 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •