View Poll Results: How do you feel about female soldiers?

Voters
59. You may not vote on this poll
  • Like them, GI Jane is HOT

    16 27.12%
  • Like them, but not on the front lines

    11 18.64%
  • I'm a realist, I don't like them

    7 11.86%
  • Potato

    25 42.37%
Page 7 of 19 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 188

Thread: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

  1. #61
    Sage
    SmokeAndMirrors's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    RVA
    Last Seen
    Today @ 07:56 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    18,170

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Stupid poll is stupid, for bajillions of reasons already explained. Sex object or women are inferior? Hmm. I vote potato.

    Women can do anything they... qualify to do. And there are some women who can qualify to do almost anything in the military. Probably not a majority, as has been mentioned, but if they can do it there's no reason they shouldn't be allowed to.

    But this is a really weird one...

    Quote Originally Posted by ecofarm View Post
    Same standards and, for infantry, the female must do something to prevent her period. Bleeding costs too many calories when they are few, the mission is long and there's no logistics. We can't carry extra gear (nor adjust uniform packs for such), even one person, and we cannot carry extra calories.

    I'm sure that sounds bad, but I've been (airborne) infantry and obviously someone bleeding is a problem. We're hungry, we're tired and we've got 10 klicks tonight - bleeding would make such miserable and maybe impossible unassisted, from the additional exhaustion.

    ps. Poll is useless.
    Women are built to do the ole' clean out once a month. I've actually had my iron levels tested before and at the end, and it hardly changed. It was very solidly in the healthy range both times. I don't feel more tired either. I admit I want a pizza a bit more than usual, but I won't die if I don't get it. I'm sure your average soldier wants all kinds of things that they can't have.

    Women need a lot less food than men. A LOT. In biological terms (and this is typical of most primates), males need slightly more than their environment typically provides, and women need dramatically less. So even if women actually did require more calories during menstruation, it would still be a lot less than a male requires.

    There are also products to deal with menstruation that would cause virtually no strain on the military. No waste, an entire day of management, dirty cheap. Not a problem.

    In reality, most women don't spend all day being miserable from their period. Mostly hardly notice except when they have to actually change out whatever they're using.

    Menstruation does not impair a woman. If it does, then she has a medical problem, and her finesses in light of that should be assessed like any other medical problem.

  2. #62
    global liberation

    ecofarm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Miami
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 07:49 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    66,400

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    I admit I want a pizza a bit more than usual, but I won't die if I don't get it. I'm sure your average soldier wants all kinds of things that they can't have.
    I'm not talking about the average soldier. I'm talkin' about two weeks on what's in the ruck you jump with. And you have ambushes to conduct, klicks apart, every night.

  3. #63
    Sage
    SmokeAndMirrors's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    RVA
    Last Seen
    Today @ 07:56 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    18,170

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by ecofarm View Post
    I'm not talking about the average soldier. I'm talkin' about two weeks on what's in the ruck you jump with. And you have ambushes to conduct, klicks apart, every night.
    There is no reason a woman on her period can't do that, if she could do it before her period.

  4. #64
    global liberation

    ecofarm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Miami
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 07:49 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    66,400

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by SmokeAndMirrors View Post
    There is no reason a woman on her period can't do that, if she could do it before her period.
    It's freezing cold, raining and you get little sleep. There's no point in changing into the spare uniform in your ruck because it's wet too.

    Like that, for two weeks, and a minor bleeding/discomfort can become mission jeopardizing. It's like starting with a minor injury. I think if I bled and had other discomforts, it would have made it perhaps unbearable.

    Anyway, given that such impacts must be evaluated in real world conditions and with respect to individuals, how about we look at something more concrete. Like, for example, how does the Israeli government do it. Are there segregated standards, are elite infantrywomen on the pill/other, are there any elite infantrywomen...
    Last edited by ecofarm; 04-01-13 at 12:15 AM.

  5. #65
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by roguenuke View Post
    She can survive. What do you think women did prior to pads/tampons? They made do with what they had. If the woman wants to do the job, she won't let something like her period prevent it.

    And you still failed to recognize the fact that men need more food overall than women so even if she needed a little more during her period, she would still likely not be any shorter on food than the guys. It would not be any more performance affecting for her than it would be the guys.

    There are plenty of reasons to keep the majority of women out of combat, just due to not being able to physically do the job. Trying to make excuses involving a period (which we can control with drugs, implants, etc.) is just plain nitpicking. Plus, the majority of our guys are not out for weeks or even days at a time without food and water or other provisions. Not in the wars/conflicts we are currently involved.
    A woman's period does pose certain concerns. Someone who is continually bleeding for a week or more is going to be very easy for dogs to detect, for instance. This would make covert operations behind enemy lines using female soldiers rather iffy.

    Furthermore, correct me if I'm wrong here, but quite a few women tend to become physically ill during their periods. This could cause significant issues on an extended field op.

    Would a female soldier doing physically challenging work in the field during her period need to take dietary supplements (iron, zinc, etca) to make up for what's she's losing every day?

    Quote Originally Posted by SmokeAndMirrors View Post
    Women need a lot less food than men. A LOT. In biological terms (and this is typical of most primates), males need slightly more than their environment typically provides, and women need dramatically less. So even if women actually did require more calories during menstruation, it would still be a lot less than a male requires.
    Yes, because they're physically smaller and carry around a larger fat reserve.

    However, neither of those facts really make for a compelling argument for having them go toe-to-toe with men in frontline combat.
    Last edited by Gathomas88; 04-01-13 at 12:15 AM.

  6. #66
    Sage
    SmokeAndMirrors's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    RVA
    Last Seen
    Today @ 07:56 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    18,170

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by ecofarm View Post
    It's freezing cold, raining and you get little sleep. There's no point in changing into the spare uniform in your ruck because it's wet too.

    Like that, for two weeks, and a minor bleeding/discomfort can become mission jeopardizing. It's like starting with a minor injury. I think if I bled and had other discomforts, it would have made it perhaps unbearable.

    Anyway, given that such impacts must be evaluated in real world conditions and with respect to individuals, how about we look at something more concrete. Like, for example, how does the Israeli government do it. Are there segregated standards, are elite infantrywomen on the pill, are there any elite infantrywomen...
    Like I said, no reason a woman can't do that menstruating if she can do it not menstruating.

    I really don't notice my period most of the time. Most women who don't have medical issues don't notice it much. And incidentally, a lot of medical issues are fixed by improved physical conditioning.

    You think, as a man, it would be unbearable. I'm telling you, as a woman, and a woman who has talked to a lot of other women, it's a fact of life and it's not that big a deal.

    Healthy women do not experience a decline in health during menstruation. Actually a lot of women I've talked to think they feel "refreshed" about half-way through their period. It's like a monthly spring cleaning.

  7. #67
    Global Moderator
    Truth will set you free
    digsbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Metro Washington DC
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:31 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    18,984

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    The thing about a period that would worry me the most would be cramping, nausea and abdominal pain some women experience. I've met women that have terrible cramps that leave them in a lot of pain. I would be concerned that it may impact their abilities as a soldier/infantry if they started their period and experienced the listed conditions.
    Last edited by digsbe; 04-01-13 at 12:22 AM.

  8. #68
    global liberation

    ecofarm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Miami
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 07:49 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    66,400

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by SmokeAndMirrors View Post
    Like I said, no reason a woman can't do that menstruating if she can do it not menstruating.

    I really don't notice my period most of the time. Most women who don't have medical issues don't notice it much. And incidentally, a lot of medical issues are fixed by improved physical conditioning.

    You think, as a man, it would be unbearable. I'm telling you, as a woman, and a woman who has talked to a lot of other women, it's a fact of life and it's not that big a deal.

    Healthy women do not experience a decline in health during menstruation. Actually a lot of women I've talked to think they feel "refreshed" about half-way through their period. It's like a monthly spring cleaning.

    Dad, they're doing it again!

  9. #69
    Sage
    SmokeAndMirrors's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    RVA
    Last Seen
    Today @ 07:56 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    18,170

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by Gathomas88 View Post
    A woman's period does pose certain concerns. Someone who is continually bleeding for a week or more is going to be very easy for dogs to detect, for instance. This would make covert operations behind enemy lines using female soldiers rather iffy.

    Furthermore, correct me if I'm wrong here, but quite a few women tend to become physically ill during their periods. This could cause significant issues on an extended field op.

    Would a female soldier doing physically challenging work in the field during her period need to take dietary supplements (iron, zinc, etca) to make up for what's she's losing every day?



    Yes, because they're physically smaller and carry around a larger fat reserve.

    However, neither of those facts really make for a compelling argument for having them go toe-to-toe with men in frontline combat.
    Proper product use would easily solve that. Not to get TMI on you, but menstrual cups can be used internally and left in there for 12-24 straight hours if need be. The military would only need to issue one per woman. A woman could handle emptying it the same way she handles other waste that could identify any other person -- probably by burying or other containment measures.

    Depends what you mean by "quite a few." A healthy woman doesn't have significant symptoms during her period. I imagine it's pretty common for anyone in those conditions to get minor discomforting ailments like a headache or a stomach ache. A healthy woman doesn't experience anything that's any more significant than that. Some don't experience any discomfort.

    A healthy woman also does not lose substantial iron. If her iron levels were healthy pre-menstruation, they will remain healthy during. Women are BUILT to do this. And they are able to do it without become ill.

    But if it's some major concern, just put more iron in their rations. It wouldn't cost more -- or even as much -- as male rations, because women don't require as much.
    Last edited by SmokeAndMirrors; 04-01-13 at 12:25 AM.

  10. #70
    Sage
    SmokeAndMirrors's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    RVA
    Last Seen
    Today @ 07:56 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    18,170

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by ecofarm View Post
    Dad, they're doing it again!
    Seriously, I've heard that. And I kind of get it, too.

    Hey, you're the one who's wondering how it affects women. I'm telling you.

Page 7 of 19 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •