View Poll Results: How do you feel about female soldiers?

Voters
59. You may not vote on this poll
  • Like them, GI Jane is HOT

    16 27.12%
  • Like them, but not on the front lines

    11 18.64%
  • I'm a realist, I don't like them

    7 11.86%
  • Potato

    25 42.37%
Page 19 of 19 FirstFirst ... 9171819
Results 181 to 188 of 188

Thread: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

  1. #181
    Imposition of miscellany
    NoC_T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Last Seen
    11-25-17 @ 04:57 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    11,193

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by Lightning View Post
    NOO they are not.... they are MARINES....

    This statement just showcases the ignorance with which you speak.
    Forgive a civilian's ignorance, but what's the difference?

  2. #182
    Advisor Lightning's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Last Seen
    07-14-13 @ 12:16 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    342

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by NoC_T View Post
    Forgive a civilian's ignorance, but what's the difference?
    The occupation, lifestyle, the culture and baptism of fire. A soldier is a person who serves in the U.S. ARMY. A sailor/seaman/skipper is a person (various titles here) who serves in the U.S. Navy. An airman is someone who serves in the U.S. Air Force. And a person who serves in the USMC is called a MARINE, because he/she, whether he/she is an enlisted or commissioned Marine, went through some of the toughest training in the U.S. military to earn the Eagle, Globe and Anchor. There is a warrior/combat culture in the Marine Corp. If you're a Marine, regardless of your occupation you WILL be deployed somewhere where there is conflict at least once in your career because that's what the USMC does. The USMC is different from the US Army, and it is important to distinguish the fact that someone is a MARINE, while someone else is a SOLDIER.
    “They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.”
    -Benjamin Franklin

  3. #183
    Imposition of miscellany
    NoC_T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Last Seen
    11-25-17 @ 04:57 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    11,193

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by Lightning View Post
    The occupation, lifestyle, the culture and baptism of fire. A soldier is a person who serves in the U.S. ARMY. A sailor/seaman/skipper is a person (various titles here) who serves in the U.S. Navy. An airman is someone who serves in the U.S. Air Force. And a person who serves in the USMC is called a MARINE, because he/she, whether he/she is an enlisted or commissioned Marine, went through some of the toughest training in the U.S. military to earn the Eagle, Globe and Anchor. There is a warrior/combat culture in the Marine Corp. If you're a Marine, regardless of your occupation you WILL be deployed somewhere where there is conflict at least once in your career because that's what the USMC does. The USMC is different from the US Army, and it is important to distinguish the fact that someone is a MARINE, while someone else is a SOLDIER.
    The US Army is more a reserve force, than one constantly on active stand-by? Again, apologies in advance for any misinterpretation.

  4. #184
    Professor

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Colorado
    Last Seen
    12-03-15 @ 09:25 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    1,589

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by ReformCollege View Post
    They overlap yes, of course. But what I am saying, is that where they overlap is an area which is still below most armed forces standards that we are talking about. I made an error saying it disqualifies 15-20% of men, I meant to say it disqualifies all but 15-20% of men. Women usually have around ~ the strength of men. Now some men may be 2-3x times stronger then other men, so obviously there is overlap where the strongest woman who is half as strong as the strongest man might still be stronger then the bottom 30-40% of men. Put it into perspective, look at this site Women's Raw American Records
    Just quickly running through the collegiate women's powerlifters and weight lifters, the highest record bench press I could find was 253 pounds in the 198 pound class (most records were ~150ish). Personally, (not to brag or anything) I was doing close to 300 pounds at around 190 pounds by the time I was a sophomore in high school with two years of lifting under my belt. A sophomore in high school, doing more then the best collegiate women's athletes.

    Not saying that is enough to completely dismiss the idea, but I think you see my point. Its quite well known that the presence of a Y chromosome leads to an average of 10 times of a natural level of androgens for males as compared to females. Thats no insignificant number (its also why men commit 90% of all crimes and murders).

    Don't Put Women in Combat, Says Female Combat Veteran

    I found that article quite persuasive on the topic.
    Well we can argue about the percentages of women that will meet the requirements. I don't think you have any evidence for the numbers you are throwing out here. (Besides the college bench pressing stats, although I'm not quite sure why that's relevant. Obviously the men's records are higher. This is nothing profound.) But my point is the same. Anyone who meets the requirements of the job should be allowed to have the job. They should be awarded the respect and honor a soldier deserves, and be free from all the BS and prejudice this thread portrays.

  5. #185
    Advisor Lightning's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Last Seen
    07-14-13 @ 12:16 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    342

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by NoC_T View Post
    The US Army is more a reserve force, than one constantly on active stand-by? Again, apologies in advance for any misinterpretation.
    No... just different culture. The U.S. Army is a self sufficient army in the traditional since of the word, that has various jobs and undertakings. The Marine Corp is a fighting force focused almost exclusively around combat operations, making it smaller, and much more reliant on the the Navy for transportation cheifly among other things. Everything kill! Every Marine a rifleman, first and foremost. Which is why basic training/OCS is inherently much tougher and much longer process. YOu can be a cook in the Army if you so desire, so why spend valuable extra tax dollars on training a cook to efficiently kill. That will not be the case in Marine Corp.
    “They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.”
    -Benjamin Franklin

  6. #186
    Imposition of miscellany
    NoC_T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Last Seen
    11-25-17 @ 04:57 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    11,193

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by Lightning View Post
    No... just different culture. The U.S. Army is a self sufficient army in the traditional since of the word, that has various jobs and undertakings. The Marine Corp is a fighting force focused almost exclusively around combat operations, making it smaller, and much more reliant on the the Navy for transportation cheifly among other things. Everything kill! Every Marine a rifleman, first and foremost. Which is why basic training/OCS is inherently much tougher and much longer process. YOu can be a cook in the Army if you so desire, so why spend valuable extra tax dollars on training a cook to efficiently kill. That will not be the case in Marine Corp.
    Good post, dude. Cheers for clearing that up.

  7. #187
    Defender of the Faith
    ludahai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Taichung, Taiwan - 2017 East Asian Games Candidate City
    Last Seen
    07-03-13 @ 02:22 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    10,320

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    If women can meet the same physical standards as men, and not watered-down, I have no problem with it, but do have reservations. This includes the potential difficulty of close foxhole quarters and how to handle personal hygene needs there. However, in the modern military, many such concerns can be handled. But I DO NOT support under any circumstances any watering down of the physical requirements for soldiers.
    Semper Paratus
    Boston = City of Champions: Bruins 2011; Celtics 2008; Red Sox 2004, 2007; Patriots 2002, 2004, 2005
    Jon Huntsman for President

  8. #188
    Professor
    longknife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Sin City
    Last Seen
    05-18-15 @ 03:36 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    1,385

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by ludahai View Post
    If women can meet the same physical standards as men, and not watered-down, I have no problem with it, but do have reservations. This includes the potential difficulty of close foxhole quarters and how to handle personal hygene needs there. However, in the modern military, many such concerns can be handled. But I DO NOT support under any circumstances any watering down of the physical requirements for soldiers.
    A comment here - I see no "hygiene problem" in the trenches. You're too wiped out, afraid, and disgusted to worry about seeing another person's body.
    Father Serra's Legacy - novels about the history of the California missions

Page 19 of 19 FirstFirst ... 9171819

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •