View Poll Results: How do you feel about female soldiers?

Voters
59. You may not vote on this poll
  • Like them, GI Jane is HOT

    16 27.12%
  • Like them, but not on the front lines

    11 18.64%
  • I'm a realist, I don't like them

    7 11.86%
  • Potato

    25 42.37%
Page 18 of 19 FirstFirst ... 816171819 LastLast
Results 171 to 180 of 188

Thread: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

  1. #171
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Last Seen
    01-17-16 @ 05:09 PM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    9,122

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Every person should be judged as an individual. That is our human right. I certainly know of many women stronger than many men. I don't support lowering any standards for specific assignments, as long as those standards are relevant to the ability to perform the job.

    The best thing about women in the military is that it will make more people reluctant to go to war since young women are not considered as expendable as young men.
    Last edited by Hard Truth; 04-04-13 at 10:35 PM.

  2. #172
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    01-22-17 @ 09:27 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    4,136

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by kerussll View Post
    Yes, they should be the same. Whatever the job requires.
    Even if that disqualifies 99.999% of women from the job?

  3. #173
    Advisor Lightning's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Last Seen
    07-14-13 @ 12:16 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    342

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Grimm View Post
    I'll be honest, they gross me out. I don't like them one bit.

    First, it's a waste of tax dollars to give women guns and have them running around playing GI Jane.

    Second, what happens if a woman is caught in battle? A woman is a liability out there.

    Women are physically, mentally, and emotionally not cut out to be soldiers. For that reason, they have not been soldiers all throughout human history.

    It's only in our modern, metrosexual era where Hollywood replaces reality that we are deluded enouigh to believe that men and women are exactly the same in every respect.
    I beg to differ sir... you should meet my Captain. She is one of the two women on this planet that has struck the fear of God into me (the other being my mother). I do not have the slightest doubt that woman can whoop just about every ass on this forum. The scariest part is... she is one SEXY ASS MARINE!!! JESUS H. CHRIST THIS WOMAN IS HOT!!


    But than again..... I guess you are referring to women SOLDIERS. Like I said before, my captain wears the EGA. So I guess I didn't really answer the question. e:

    OORAH!!
    Last edited by Lightning; 04-05-13 at 12:14 AM.
    “They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.”
    -Benjamin Franklin

  4. #174
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    The anals of history
    Last Seen
    07-25-15 @ 02:05 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    10,348

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by Lightning View Post
    I beg to differ sir... you should meet my Captain. She is one of the two women on this planet that has struck the fear of God into me (the other being my mother). I do not have the slightest doubt that woman can whoop just about every ass on this forum. The scariest part is... she is one SEXY ASS MARINE!!! JESUS H. CHRIST THIS WOMAN IS HOT!!


    But than again..... I guess you are referring to women SOLDIERS. Like I said before, my captain wears the EGA. So I guess I didn't really answer the question. e:

    OORAH!!
    A soldier is anyone who serves in the military, so, yes, marines are soldiers too.

  5. #175
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SE Asia
    Last Seen
    07-12-14 @ 10:52 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Left
    Posts
    2,333

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Grimm View Post
    A soldier is anyone who serves in the military, so, yes, marines are soldiers too.

  6. #176
    Advisor Lightning's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Last Seen
    07-14-13 @ 12:16 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    342

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Grimm View Post
    A soldier is anyone who serves in the military, so, yes, marines are soldiers too.
    NOO they are not.... they are MARINES....

    This statement just showcases the ignorance with which you speak.
    Last edited by Lightning; 04-05-13 at 09:30 AM.
    “They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.”
    -Benjamin Franklin

  7. #177
    Professor

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Colorado
    Last Seen
    12-03-15 @ 09:25 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    1,589

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by ReformCollege View Post
    Even if that disqualifies 99.999% of women from the job?
    Yes, of course. Nobody should be put in a position that they are not qualified for. But you're seriously underestimating women if you think only one out of 10000 could meet those requirements!

  8. #178
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    01-22-17 @ 09:27 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    4,136

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by kerussll View Post
    Yes, of course. Nobody should be put in a position that they are not qualified for. But you're seriously underestimating women if you think only one out of 10000 could meet those requirements!
    Why is that an underestimation? I have yet to see anything to suggest otherwise. Heck, it even disqualifies 15-20% of men as well.

  9. #179
    Professor

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Colorado
    Last Seen
    12-03-15 @ 09:25 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    1,589

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by ReformCollege View Post
    Why is that an underestimation? I have yet to see anything to suggest otherwise. Heck, it even disqualifies 15-20% of men as well.
    Well what exactly is it that you think a strong woman can't do? I think you're far overestimating the differences between the sexes. If you chart the strength of women vs the strength of men you get 2 bell curves that overlap. You speak as though they wouldn't even touch each other.... Not true. So even if you discount the bottom 20% of men, that might mean you discount the bottom 60 or 80% of women, but certainly not 100%

  10. #180
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    01-22-17 @ 09:27 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    4,136

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by kerussll View Post
    Well what exactly is it that you think a strong woman can't do? I think you're far overestimating the differences between the sexes. If you chart the strength of women vs the strength of men you get 2 bell curves that overlap. You speak as though they wouldn't even touch each other.... Not true. So even if you discount the bottom 20% of men, that might mean you discount the bottom 60 or 80% of women, but certainly not 100%
    They overlap yes, of course. But what I am saying, is that where they overlap is an area which is still below most armed forces standards that we are talking about. I made an error saying it disqualifies 15-20% of men, I meant to say it disqualifies all but 15-20% of men. Women usually have around ~ the strength of men. Now some men may be 2-3x times stronger then other men, so obviously there is overlap where the strongest woman who is half as strong as the strongest man might still be stronger then the bottom 30-40% of men. Put it into perspective, look at this site Women's Raw American Records
    Just quickly running through the collegiate women's powerlifters and weight lifters, the highest record bench press I could find was 253 pounds in the 198 pound class (most records were ~150ish). Personally, (not to brag or anything) I was doing close to 300 pounds at around 190 pounds by the time I was a sophomore in high school with two years of lifting under my belt. A sophomore in high school, doing more then the best collegiate women's athletes.

    Not saying that is enough to completely dismiss the idea, but I think you see my point. Its quite well known that the presence of a Y chromosome leads to an average of 10 times of a natural level of androgens for males as compared to females. Thats no insignificant number (its also why men commit 90% of all crimes and murders).

    Don't Put Women in Combat, Says Female Combat Veteran

    I found that article quite persuasive on the topic.

Page 18 of 19 FirstFirst ... 816171819 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •