View Poll Results: How do you feel about female soldiers?

Voters
59. You may not vote on this poll
  • Like them, GI Jane is HOT

    16 27.12%
  • Like them, but not on the front lines

    11 18.64%
  • I'm a realist, I don't like them

    7 11.86%
  • Potato

    25 42.37%
Page 16 of 19 FirstFirst ... 61415161718 ... LastLast
Results 151 to 160 of 188

Thread: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

  1. #151
    Professor

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Colorado
    Last Seen
    12-03-15 @ 09:25 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    1,589

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by shlunka View Post
    Sorry if I'm misinformed, but, wouldn't some women struggle to carry the heavy gear?
    Of course some would. As would some men.

  2. #152
    Fourum Addmean
    shlunka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Land of the sodomizers
    Last Seen
    03-18-16 @ 09:40 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    1,758

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    I may be misinformed again, but, feel free to rail on me with knowledge if I'm incorrect anyways. Shouldn't basic training incorporate the full weight of combat gear so that any individuals who couldn't carry the maximum load would break in training?
    Either I'm right or you're wrong.

  3. #153
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by shlunka View Post
    I may be misinformed again, but, feel free to rail on me with knowledge if I'm incorrect anyways. Shouldn't basic training incorporate the full weight of combat gear so that any individuals who couldn't carry the maximum load would break in training?
    It depends. I went through the non-combat arms version of basic training, which is why it was co-ed. I think the most we ever rucked was about 30 lbs over 10 miles. The all male version of basic training meant to ready an infantryman for combat in the field would be much, much harder.

    Ranger School would be even harder than that, and Special Forces Selection would be outright insane.

    The point still stands, however. If a non-negligible percentage of female recruits have trouble getting through even the most dumbed down desk jockey version of basic training without physically breaking down and injuring themselves, the chances that many would be able to survive dedicated infantry training (let alone the daily rigors of their job in the field) are rather slim.
    Last edited by Gathomas88; 04-02-13 at 07:12 PM.

  4. #154
    Sage

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    okla-freakin-homa
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 09:53 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    12,620

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by APACHERAT View Post
    Did you go to the link and read "The Porcelain Soldier" ? It's all there.

    As for the Navy SEAL's, I don't speak for them, I can only go by what I personally observe and by what I'm personally told by those in the Naval Special Warfare community.

    You know what a MEU is don't you ? Marine Expeditionary Unit. It roughly a reinforced Marine rifle battalion that is deployed on six month cruise on U.S. Navy amphibious assault ships. There's usually Navy SEAL's attached to every MEU.

    NAVY SEALs - MEU(SOC) & FAST Marines

    Naval Special Warfare Group ONE

    BTW: did you get to read "Bush's Secret War Against Al Qaeda" when some idiot back in 2011 started to put up classified information on the internet before it was scrubbed from the internet. Just about all of the SEAL's missions mentioned started from the sea and involved swimming. Yemen is not a land locked country and neither is Somalia.
    The nicest thing I can say about Hackworth's op-ed is it is pure hackery. First he can't get even simple facts straight. Ft. Jackson doesn't produce Grunts. Not one. Ft. Jackson produces soldiers. Big differences. Another fact is no matter what a few think the vast majority of these soldiers are never going anywhere the primary purpose of the Army- kill people and break things. That in Hack's 'story' he seems to see every E-Vile he can conjure up again makes me throw the BS flag. I can tell you that if a Drill can get a 'cruit to do the task once the 'cruit can and will go on to succeed in training. Where the Drill earns his money and why the angry spit flinging Drill of my day is no more is all about understanding most of the 'troops' are not going to be crawling under fire to bring ammo to the machine gun post- part of my training back in the day.

    Oh I know what a 'mew' is There is a wee little Jarhaid I know who's claim to fame is being one of the shortest Marines to certify as a Scout/Sniper. Has a CAR for that oil rig attack in the Gulf. He said force Recon sure, but a dedicated SEAL unit- no.

    I'll stand by a Marine's training isn't harder or does 'more' than a SEAL trainee, you should read Kyle's book and talk to some SEALs.

    Oh please give a bit more detail on the SEALs swimming in on al-Queera. Yemen and Somalia do have surf n turf, but that in no way means the SEALs are going to do that recruiter poster 'rise from the sea' mission. But like I said you don't need every SEAL team to be scuba qualified. Those Marines like Force Recon can surf and turf as well, maybe not SEALs but not too shabby on Mission Compete.

  5. #155
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    01-22-17 @ 09:27 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    4,136

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Grimm View Post
    I'll be honest, they gross me out. I don't like them one bit.

    First, it's a waste of tax dollars to give women guns and have them running around playing GI Jane.

    Second, what happens if a woman is caught in battle? A woman is a liability out there.

    Women are physically, mentally, and emotionally not cut out to be soldiers. For that reason, they have not been soldiers all throughout human history.

    It's only in our modern, metrosexual era where Hollywood replaces reality that we are deluded enouigh to believe that men and women are exactly the same in every respect.
    I would stop at physical not cut out. The rest is just hoopla. I think of it like this. Eliminate the separate standards for men and women in the army, and let the rest play itself out.

  6. #156
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Seen
    01-22-17 @ 09:27 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    4,136

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by kerussll View Post
    Of course some would. As would some men.
    Which is why they have standards.

  7. #157
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Behind the Orange Curtain
    Last Seen
    01-30-15 @ 01:29 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    15,633

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by notquiteright View Post
    The nicest thing I can say about Hackworth's op-ed is it is pure hackery. First he can't get even simple facts straight. Ft. Jackson doesn't produce Grunts. Not one. Ft. Jackson produces soldiers. Big differences. Another fact is no matter what a few think the vast majority of these soldiers are never going anywhere the primary purpose of the Army- kill people and break things. That in Hack's 'story' he seems to see every E-Vile he can conjure up again makes me throw the BS flag. I can tell you that if a Drill can get a 'cruit to do the task once the 'cruit can and will go on to succeed in training. Where the Drill earns his money and why the angry spit flinging Drill of my day is no more is all about understanding most of the 'troops' are not going to be crawling under fire to bring ammo to the machine gun post- part of my training back in the day.

    Oh I know what a 'mew' is There is a wee little Jarhaid I know who's claim to fame is being one of the shortest Marines to certify as a Scout/Sniper. Has a CAR for that oil rig attack in the Gulf. He said force Recon sure, but a dedicated SEAL unit- no.

    I'll stand by a Marine's training isn't harder or does 'more' than a SEAL trainee, you should read Kyle's book and talk to some SEALs.

    Oh please give a bit more detail on the SEALs swimming in on al-Queera. Yemen and Somalia do have surf n turf, but that in no way means the SEALs are going to do that recruiter poster 'rise from the sea' mission. But like I said you don't need every SEAL team to be scuba qualified. Those Marines like Force Recon can surf and turf as well, maybe not SEALs but not too shabby on Mission Compete.
    I don't know where you get your information from, books or movies but you should show a little respect to fallen heros who are no longer with us.

    How do you think U.S. Navy SEAL's got to Yemen and were inserted and extracted undetected ? Did they take a Taxi or came on a chartered commercial flight ?



    Baicaly I'm not going to argue with an idiot who believes that Navy SEAL's don't need to be able to swim or who thinks all SEAL operations have taken place on dry land hundreds of miles from the sea. I wonder what SEAL Teams 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, and 9 have been doing for the past twelve years ? (You are aware there is no SEAL Team Six ? It was deactivated back in 1986)




    ENTITLEMENTS OF COL. DAVID H. HACKWORTH
    (U.S. ARMY, RETIRED)

    AWARDS & DECORATIONS
    COLONEL DAVID H. HACKWORTH
    (U.S. ARMY, RETIRED)




    Individual Decorations & Service Medals:

    Distinguished Service Cross (with one Oak Leaf Cluster)
    Silver Star (with nine Oak Leaf Clusters)
    Legion of Merit (with three Oak Leaf Clusters)
    Distinguished Flying Cross
    Bronze Star Medal (with "V" Device & seven Oak Leaf Clusters)(Seven of the awards for heroism)
    Purple Heart (with seven Oak Leaf Clusters)
    Air Medal (with "V" Device & Numeral 34)(One for heroism and 33 for aerial achievement)
    Army Commendation Medal (w/ "V" Device & 3 Oak Leaf Clusters)
    Good Conduct Medal
    World War II Victory Medal
    Army of Occupation Medal (with Germany and Japan Clasps)
    National Defense Service Medal (with one Bronze Service Star)
    Korean Service Medal (with Service Stars for eight campaigns)
    Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal
    Vietnam Service Medal (2 Silver Service Stars = 10 campaigns)
    Armed Forces Reserve Medal
    Unit Awards:

    Presidential Unit Citation
    Valorous Unit Award (with one Oak Leaf Cluster)
    Meritorious Unit Commendation
    Badges & Tabs:

    Combat Infantryman Badge (w/ one Star; representing 2 awards)
    Master Parachutist Badge
    Army General Staff Identification Badge
    Foreign Awards:

    United Nations Service Medal (Korea)
    Republic of Vietnam Campaign Medal with Device (1960)
    Vietnam Cross of Gallantry (with two Gold Stars)
    Vietnam Cross of Gallantry (with two Silver Stars)
    Vietnam Armed Forces Honor Medal (1st Class)
    Vietnam Staff Service Medal (1st Class)
    Vietnam Army Distinguished Service Order, 2d Class
    Vietnam Parachutist Badge (Master Level)
    Republic of Korea Presidential Unit Citation
    Republic of Vietnam Presidential Unit Citation
    Republic of Vietnam Gallantry Cross Unit Citation (with three Palm oak leaf clusters)
    Republic of Vietnam Civil Actions Honor Medal, First Class Unit Citation (with one Palm oak leaf cluster)
    World War II Merchant Marine Awards:

    Pacific War Zone Bar
    Victory Medal

    Note: As per a Department of the Army audit conducted by COL Pam Mitchell, Chief Personnel ServiceSupport Division on May 6 1999.
    David H. Hackworth [hackworth.com]


    Wear you National Defense Ribbon (aka National Firewatch Ribbon) proudly notquiteright, you probably earned it at Camp Snoopy.

  8. #158
    Civil Libertarian
    DashingAmerican's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Alabama
    Last Seen
    08-31-17 @ 05:39 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    3,357

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    This topic has been beat to death, eh?

    To say that all women lack the skills to be front line soldiers, or especially soldiers at all, is just ignorant. There are women who are better shots, mentally stronger, and as physically adept as the average man.

    You can't tell me that a woman getting shot at on the front lines is more of a liability than a man you've shared a barracks with for the length of your stent in the army coming under fire.
    If you strike me down, I'll become more powerful than you could possibly imagine.

  9. #159
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by DashingAmerican View Post
    This topic has been beat to death, eh?

    To say that all women lack the skills to be front line soldiers, or especially soldiers at all, is just ignorant. There are women who are better shots, mentally stronger, and as physically adept as the average man.

    You can't tell me that a woman getting shot at on the front lines is more of a liability than a man you've shared a barracks with for the length of your stent in the army coming under fire.
    Yes, and there are certain dogs who can bark out the tune to jingle bells. That doesn't mean that every dog, or even a great number of them, are capable of the same feat.

    Women work just fine in non-combat positions. However, on average, women are simply a lot less physically capable of the kind of sustained strenuous physical activity that is demanded of a frontline combat soldier. They also tend to psychologically complicate matters of morale for male soldiers. These are indisputable facts.

    There is a reason why virtually every army in recorded human history has been made up of men. I hate to break it to everyone, but objective reality is not "politically correct."

  10. #160
    Professor

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Colorado
    Last Seen
    12-03-15 @ 09:25 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    1,589

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by ReformCollege View Post
    Which is why they have standards.
    Exactly.

Page 16 of 19 FirstFirst ... 61415161718 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •