View Poll Results: How do you feel about female soldiers?

Voters
59. You may not vote on this poll
  • Like them, GI Jane is HOT

    16 27.12%
  • Like them, but not on the front lines

    11 18.64%
  • I'm a realist, I don't like them

    7 11.86%
  • Potato

    25 42.37%
Page 14 of 19 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 ... LastLast
Results 131 to 140 of 188

Thread: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

  1. #131
    Professor
    longknife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Sin City
    Last Seen
    05-18-15 @ 03:36 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    1,385

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    I think the only ones who have a right to discuss this are the guys in the trenches, in the air, or at sea who have to serve with them! Civilians should keep mum.

    I served with females and found them to be as dedicated and shaped up as men. If they can hack it in combat - go for it!
    Father Serra's Legacy - novels about the history of the California missions

  2. #132
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by ecofarm View Post
    The president of the US is scared of the military politically and diplomatically and is thus attempting to destroy it? And, I suppose, previous Dem presidents also attempted to destroy the US military because they feared it politically and diplomatically?

    Are you saving a part where Obama is trying to kill off vets?

    The thing is, there are not enough lunatics in this country to vote that monster you see into office, let alone to stand aside and watch it happen. Your accusations to motive are about as viable as Bush working with AlQ to cause 911.
    Meh. I don't think he's trying to "destroy" the military per se. I just think that he doesn't really give a sh*t about it one way or the other.

    I get the distinct impression that the POTUS looks at the military industrial complex with a generalized sense of low level contempt. I also think that he would be just fine if we had a (by all rights pathetic) European style military. His policies seem to be actively tailored towards bringing us towards that goal.

    In this regard, he is a more or less "textbook" progressive liberal. He dislikes nuclear weapons, committed warfare, and military minded people because he really understands none of them, but he is willing to waffle around with more passive (and ineffective) low level tactics like drone strikes and military aid when he feels that he simply has to do something.

    This is actually fairly reminiscent of Kennedy's half-assed approach to Cuba back during the 1960s, for instance.

    I think his stance on females in combat is just further indication of that generalized mindset. He doesn't really care about the "effectiveness of the force," because in his ideal world, we'd rarely, if ever, use it. He just wants a token plaything to parade around for his international buddies on special occassions and maybe waggle at people he doesn't like.

    And... By God (that he only sort of believes in), that token force is going to be squeaky clean, progressive, and politically correct, dammit!
    Last edited by Gathomas88; 04-01-13 at 10:10 PM.

  3. #133
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    The anals of history
    Last Seen
    07-25-15 @ 02:05 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    10,348

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by roguenuke View Post
    This I agree with. Most women can't be in combat MOS's. It isn't right to make quotas or reach certain goals to fill with women. But women can handle other roles in the military just fine at the same level of competence and ability as their male counterparts, if not more depending on the woman and the men she is serving with. And there are definitely places on the front lines for women, especially in the conflicts/wars we are currently fighting, even if they aren't technically combat roles. One that has been showing success is sending women in to relate to the women of the countries we are in, teaching them skills to make them more independent and showing them that women can be more than just property of men.
    You mean cultural arrogance and liberal brainwashing?

    Because American culture is so much better than Iraqi or Afghani culture.

  4. #134
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    The anals of history
    Last Seen
    07-25-15 @ 02:05 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    10,348

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by X Factor View Post
    I think it's fine. There's a lot more to the military now than combat. Now, there are legit concerns about women in combat but if you're "grossed out" (how old are you?) by women in the military that's your weird hang-up.
    Butch women don't do it for me. Nothing feminine about running around a swamp with a gun.

  5. #135
    Educator hallam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Philly
    Last Seen
    10-23-15 @ 09:44 AM
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    620

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    If you want to fight and possibly die for the country, I have no problem with you no matter your gender.

  6. #136
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    The anals of history
    Last Seen
    07-25-15 @ 02:05 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    10,348

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by roguenuke View Post
    PT tests are supposed to be about measuring a person's individual physical fitness level at a certain age, not showing a person can do a specific task a given number of times. This is why there are differences in requirements between men and women, and for different ages. The sexes are different on average and people are different at different ages.

    Run measures endurance and stamina, pushups measure upper body strength, and situps are supposed to measure core strength/stamina. It is all a very basic measurement of how much an individual is working out and putting effort into their workouts.
    So you're already bending the rules to try to qualify more women. That's why none should be allowed in the military at all. It's a slipperey slope, and liberals will always find a way to lawyer in as many women as possible to men's roles.

  7. #137
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    The anals of history
    Last Seen
    07-25-15 @ 02:05 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    10,348

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by AreteCourage View Post
    You are something else...

    Women can be as ruthless as men. Women have the ability to be soldiers, and damn good ones. This whole undermining them and classifying them as unworthy is asinine.

    Waste of tax dollars? Wars of aggression, Wars on intangible ideas (Drugs, Illiteracy, etc)....that is a waste. Women on the front lines are not a waste.

    You think now is only time women were soldiers or in battle? Joan of Ark is something you should research.

    Close minded thoughts like yours are really something...I tell ya
    LOL @ Joan of Ark being your example of women in battle throughout history. Is that really what you're going with?

  8. #138
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    The anals of history
    Last Seen
    07-25-15 @ 02:05 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    10,348

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by SMTA View Post
    You are just angry because it is acceptable for women to wear fishnet stockings and garter belts, and you have to hide yours.
    Haha bite your tongue grandpa. You're still here? I would have figured someone would have unplugged your respirator by now, you senile old bastard.

  9. #139
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    The anals of history
    Last Seen
    07-25-15 @ 02:05 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    10,348

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by cpwill View Post
    When I was in the infantry I occasionally took part of the zeitgeist. If every Marine was supposed to be a rifleman, and women were incapable of being riflemen, how could women be Marines? It was more of a commonly accepted joke than a fervently defended belief because we only very rarely interacted with female Marines.

    Since leaving the Infantry, I've been fortunate enough to serve with females who have powerfully disabused me of that notion - while I still think putting them in the infantry would be very problematic, there are indeed Marines who happen to be female rather than Females who call themselves Marines. Sure you get alot of drama seekers. Take a girl who wasn't much in High School, and then put her in a scenario where she is one of 10 females out of 120 people, and all the males are usually young, fit, and more likely to be alpha-type personalities, it's hard to see how they wouldn't enjoy and take advantage of the attention. That's one of the strongest temptations, when you're young.

    But you get those who rise above. I had a female corporal under me who I fought like hell to get meritoriously promoted to Sgt, and whom I would have no problem seeing fill the role of the first female SgtMaj of the Marine Corps. She embodied disciplined, motivated, professionalism. If I was stuck out there and heard that she was leading the team to come get me, I'd take sincere comfort in that, knowing it was only a matter of time. Depending on how generous I was feeling, I might even apologize to my captors for what was about to happen to them. Half a world away, and I still contact her when I have a question, and visa-versa.


    Men and women arent' the same in every respect. The hollywood crap where 120 pound women throw 210 pound bruisers around like dolls with their super skills? That's crap. But women can still make fantastic Marines, and I rather tend to assume that they would be outstanding soldiers, sailors, or airmen as well.
    Well that story is fine and all, but there are a few positions a woman just shouldn't be in.

    First one is a soldier.

    Second one is an airline pilot.

    Third one is a priest.

    None of the three sit right with me.

  10. #140
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Last Seen
    12-02-16 @ 01:15 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    28,659

    Re: What's your opinion on female soldiers?

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Grimm View Post
    Well that story is fine and all, but there are a few positions a woman just shouldn't be in.

    First one is a soldier.

    Second one is an airline pilot.

    Third one is a priest.

    None of the three sit right with me.
    Why airline pilot? What's your opinion on female soldiers?-wtf-gif

    I'd think that anyone could sit behind a console and occasionally adjust a course. Most of the actual flying is done by the autopilot these days anyway.

Page 14 of 19 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •