View Poll Results: Are you for or against gay rights?

Voters
104. You may not vote on this poll
  • For Gay Rights

    76 73.08%
  • Against Gay Rights

    28 26.92%
Page 1 of 16 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 153

Thread: Opinions on Homosexuality

  1. #1
    User
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Last Seen
    02-19-12 @ 11:55 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Liberal
    Posts
    8

    Opinions on Homosexuality

    What is your opinion on homosexuality? What are your beliefs and why?

    I personally believe that homosexuals should have the same rights as heterosexuals. If an attraction to the same gender makes someone happy who are you to tell them that it's wrong? If it makes them happy why do you want to interfere with that? Just because someone may have a different preference than you do that doesn't make them wrong. For those of you who oppose homosexuality I have a question for you. How would you feel if being gay was the "normal" thing and homosexuals were discriminating against you and telling you that your preference is wrong? Put yourself into their shoes and just consider what they go through. Homosexuals are people too and they deserve every right that a heterosexual has. Let them be together, let them get married, let them raise children, and let them be happy.

  2. #2
    Stigmatized! End R Word! Kali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Last Seen
    08-19-12 @ 12:29 AM
    Lean
    Very Liberal
    Posts
    13,334
    Blog Entries
    7

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Right now the vote is tied and what dummies still in this day and age have a problem with this Equal Rights Issue? I mean it is disgusting that people in the year 2012 still feel as if all humans are not created equal.
    ~Following My Own Flow~

  3. #3
    Educator Black_Zawisza's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    United States
    Last Seen
    12-20-13 @ 04:15 AM
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    604

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Most people are fine with homosexuals getting due process. Fewer are okay with them serving openly in the military, same-sex legal marriages existing or laws against discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation. This poll really needs more nuance to be useful.
    Last edited by Black_Zawisza; 02-17-12 at 01:49 AM.

  4. #4
    User
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Last Seen
    02-02-17 @ 02:26 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Liberal
    Posts
    71

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Why is it an issue at all? Gays should be able to have the choices that every other American has.

  5. #5
    Educator
    taxigirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Last Seen
    10-21-16 @ 06:42 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Socialist
    Posts
    1,205

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    If everyone is honest with themselves they will realize that someone else being homosexual will not affect their own life. People need to get over themselves and if their "mission" in life is to save the souls of "sinners", let them save themselves for judging.

    "You know, when they came and took away my fourth amendment I kept my yap shut, what the hell, I really didnít have anything to hide anyway. When they grabbed up my second amendment I sat still and bit my tongue because, truth be told, Iím allergic to guns. But here we are, you with your cold hard fingers wrapped around the neck of my first amendment and Iíve got to shout as loud as I can, because if I donít, before you know it, you wonít let me say nothing at all"
    --Randolph J. Dworkin

    ďReading makes a full man, meditation a profound man, discourse a clear man.Ē
    -- Ben Franklin

    "It has been said that something as small as the flutter of a butterfly's wing can ultimately cause a typhoon halfway around the world"
    -- Chaos Theory

  6. #6
    Baby Eating Monster
    Korimyr the Rat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Laramie, WY
    Last Seen
    11-23-17 @ 02:02 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Left
    Posts
    18,709
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    I support equal marriage and kinship rights for homosexuals, and for age-of-consent laws to be equivalent for heterosexual and homosexual sex. Beyond that, I can't think of any other "gay rights" that gays require or that I would support.

    But I'll confess, I have yet to see a "gay pride parade" that didn't make me long for the days of attack dogs and firehoses. There are always hundreds or thousands of respectable men and women marching in decent clothes with their partners-- and a bunch of goddamned perverts running around naked, or wearing S&M gear, or just generally being offensive to moral order. And the decent family queers put up with them because they're "fighting for the same cause".

  7. #7
    Stigmatized! End R Word! Kali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Last Seen
    08-19-12 @ 12:29 AM
    Lean
    Very Liberal
    Posts
    13,334
    Blog Entries
    7

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Viktyr Korimir View Post
    I support equal marriage and kinship rights for homosexuals, and for age-of-consent laws to be equivalent for heterosexual and homosexual sex. Beyond that, I can't think of any other "gay rights" that gays require or that I would support.

    But I'll confess, I have yet to see a "gay pride parade" that didn't make me long for the days of attack dogs and firehoses. There are always hundreds or thousands of respectable men and women marching in decent clothes with their partners-- and a bunch of goddamned perverts running around naked, or wearing S&M gear, or just generally being offensive to moral order
    . And the decent family queers put up with them because they're "fighting for the same cause".

    Big Whoop. You can see worse on Burbon St. in Nola during Mardi Gras or at a Bike Rally during Bike Weeks in Myrtle Beach, S.C
    ~Following My Own Flow~

  8. #8
    Baby Eating Monster
    Korimyr the Rat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Laramie, WY
    Last Seen
    11-23-17 @ 02:02 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Left
    Posts
    18,709
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Kali View Post
    Big Whoop. You can see worse on Burbon St. in Nola during Mardi Gras or at a Bike Rally during Bike Weeks in Myrtle Beach, S.C
    You seem to think that I'd be more tolerant of those things because they're not queer. You're mistaken.

  9. #9
    Global Moderator
    Truth will set you free
    digsbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Metro Washington DC
    Last Seen
    Today @ 01:03 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    18,983

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Am I for SSM and homosexuals being able to adopt? Yes.

    Am I for taking away the rights of states to define marriage? No.
    When the debate is lost, slander becomes the tool of the loser. -Socrates
    Tired of elections being between the lesser of two evils.

  10. #10
    Sage
    CriticalThought's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 08:36 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    18,125

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by digsbe View Post
    Am I for SSM and homosexuals being able to adopt? Yes.

    Am I for taking away the rights of states to define marriage? No.
    The problem is whether it is the domain of states to define marriage. If marriage is a civil right, then it is protected by the federal Constitution and a state cannot arbitrarily pass a law to discriminate on the basis of sex who is worthy of that right. If marriage is a privilege, then it is absolutely within the domain of the states to regulate it as they see fit. It will ultimately be up to the courts to decide that fact one way or the other.
    Quote Originally Posted by Bucky View Post
    The economy will improve under this bill. If a few people die, it will be for the betterament of this country.

Page 1 of 16 12311 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •