View Poll Results: Are you for or against gay rights?

Voters
104. You may not vote on this poll
  • For Gay Rights

    76 73.08%
  • Against Gay Rights

    28 26.92%
Page 8 of 16 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 153

Thread: Opinions on Homosexuality

  1. #71
    Sage
    Fletch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Mentor Ohio
    Last Seen
    Today @ 07:30 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    15,268

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Kal'Stang View Post
    It shouldn't be a states rights issue or be put up to the public to vote on. Marriage is a fundemental right, this was determined by society and SCOTUS long before SSM came into the picture. And rights can only be denied if there is a legitimate state interest to do so. And the only legimate reason for the State to deny a fundemental right is if the exercise of that right in a particular situation is harmful to someone or to society as a whole.

    As for the rest of your post. Three words for ya...Slippery Slope Fallacy. And every single one of them has been debunked many times over.
    Then you wont mind debunking it for me now then. Besides, if I have a "fundamental" right to marry, then upon what grounds do you decide to deprive me of my right to marry two women?

  2. #72
    Global Moderator
    The Truth is out there.
    Kal'Stang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bonners Ferry ID USA
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    32,857
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Fletch View Post
    Then you wont mind debunking it for me now then. Besides, if I have a "fundamental" right to marry, then upon what grounds do you decide to deprive me of my right to marry two women?
    Here we go again...

    Why not two men and one woman? (or visa versa)

    Answer: Monogamy reduces major social problems of polygamist cultures

    This applies to polyandry also which is what your example is.

    Why not brother and sister?

    Answer: In otherwords incest....Children born from incestuous relationships are more prone to both mental and physical problems.

    Father and son?

    Answer: Not allowed because a father (or mother) can subtly coerce their child into things like this. Making them think that it is OK and perfectly natural for daddy or mommy to be boinking their child...and this kind of teaching can last well into adulthood and even until they die. And if it is instead a "Father and daughter" or a "mother and son" type of deal then you again go into incest along with coercing.

    Man/woman and animal marriage

    Answer: The most basic ability in order to go into a marriage is that it MUST be consentual. And animals cannot consent.

    Man/woman and child marriage

    Answer: Not only is that pedophilia but again, a child cannot legally consent to a marriage because they are not mentally capable of doing so.

    These are just simple, basic common sense answers. If you want more detail then I would suggest doing your homework and looking this stuff up yourself.
    Last edited by Kal'Stang; 02-25-12 at 07:30 PM.
    I have an answer for everything...you may not like the answer or it may not satisfy your curiosity..but it will still be an answer. ~ Kal'Stang

    My mind and my heart are saying I'm in my twenties. My body is pointing at my mind and heart and laughing its ass off. ~ Kal'Stang

  3. #73
    Sage
    roguenuke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Last Seen
    05-17-17 @ 05:55 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    28,935

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Fletch View Post
    Then you wont mind debunking it for me now then. Besides, if I have a "fundamental" right to marry, then upon what grounds do you decide to deprive me of my right to marry two women?
    Simple logistics of the marriage contract and the laws that currently go with it. The laws and contract are set up to deal with 2 people and only two people in the relationship. It would take some fundamental changes in those laws in order to accommodate more than two people in a marriage or a person being involved in two marriage contracts at the same time.
    "A woman is like a teabag, you never know how strong she is until she gets in hot water." - Eleanor Roosevelt

    Keep your religion out of other people's marriages.

  4. #74
    Sage
    roguenuke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Last Seen
    05-17-17 @ 05:55 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    28,935

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by earthworm View Post
    And there are still societies on this planet where children are "married".
    Rights cannot be absolute and unlimited, obviously.
    There are a great many men who are offended by the very idea of "gay" marriage , this includes me... but to vote against it ???
    Why is our government even involved in marriage ?
    I say - if two people or even a man and his horse wish to share the same bed - so be it...
    But, as far as children go ....there has to be a limit......
    Marriage is not about sex. Why is this such a hard concept for people to accept?

    Legal marriage is about making two adults legally each other's closest relative. This comes with responsibilities, as well as rights and benefits because the government wants to encourage stable relationships since they have been shown to greatly benefit society as a whole. Plus, the government wants to try to protect adults who are in relationships of a certain type, particularly when each play different roles economically in what they provide to the relationship, when such relationships end poorly.
    "A woman is like a teabag, you never know how strong she is until she gets in hot water." - Eleanor Roosevelt

    Keep your religion out of other people's marriages.

  5. #75
    Sage
    roguenuke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Last Seen
    05-17-17 @ 05:55 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    28,935

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by StillBallin75 View Post
    Well, forgive me if I think it's an irrational position for you to support gay marriage, but not want to call it gay marriage.
    Especially since economically speaking, changing the name of marriage or having two separate institutions that do the same exact thing is a huge waste of money, tax-payer money, over the name of a legal contract.
    "A woman is like a teabag, you never know how strong she is until she gets in hot water." - Eleanor Roosevelt

    Keep your religion out of other people's marriages.

  6. #76
    Sage
    roguenuke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Last Seen
    05-17-17 @ 05:55 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    28,935

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Goshin View Post
    Nobody is rational about sex.

    An entirely rational man would make a few deposits to the sperm bank, then having done his duty to his species, he'd have himself neutered so that his dick couldn't lead him around by the libedo and get him in trouble.
    Which has what to do with marriage?

    Any marriage based on sex is generally a bad idea no matter who is involved.
    "A woman is like a teabag, you never know how strong she is until she gets in hot water." - Eleanor Roosevelt

    Keep your religion out of other people's marriages.

  7. #77
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Last Seen
    10-13-12 @ 02:26 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    2,556

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Like someone once said:


    "It doesn't matter what you do in the bedroom as long as you don't do it in the street and frighten the horses."



  8. #78
    Global Moderator
    The Truth is out there.
    Kal'Stang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bonners Ferry ID USA
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    32,857
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by roguenuke View Post
    Marriage is not about sex. Why is this such a hard concept for people to accept?

    Legal marriage is about making two adults legally each other's closest relative. This comes with responsibilities, as well as rights and benefits because the government wants to encourage stable relationships since they have been shown to greatly benefit society as a whole. Plus, the government wants to try to protect adults who are in relationships of a certain type, particularly when each play different roles economically in what they provide to the relationship, when such relationships end poorly.
    I agree whole heartedly with this post.

    I would just like to say that while marriage is not about sex...marriage does lead to sex. There is a difference.
    I have an answer for everything...you may not like the answer or it may not satisfy your curiosity..but it will still be an answer. ~ Kal'Stang

    My mind and my heart are saying I'm in my twenties. My body is pointing at my mind and heart and laughing its ass off. ~ Kal'Stang

  9. #79
    OWL Forever
    katiegrrl0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    at the computer
    Last Seen
    07-07-17 @ 07:11 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Socialist
    Posts
    4,121

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by digsbe View Post
    Am I for SSM and homosexuals being able to adopt? Yes.

    Am I for taking away the rights of states to define marriage? No.
    Why should the states have that right when it directly inhibits the rights of certain citizens. They should be able to define marriage in a way that treats everyone the same. Legalized bigotry should not be tolerated.
    The flame that is between us could set every soul on fire. I would love to take that heat and let's fill the whole world with desire.
    Sophie B. Hawkins

  10. #80
    Global Moderator
    Truth will set you free
    digsbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Metro Washington DC
    Last Seen
    Today @ 09:37 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    18,953

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    I wouldn't say that my view on homosexuality reflects my view of gay rights. But I do support gay rights.
    When the debate is lost, slander becomes the tool of the loser. -Socrates
    Tired of elections being between the lesser of two evils.

Page 8 of 16 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •