View Poll Results: Are you for or against gay rights?

Voters
104. You may not vote on this poll
  • For Gay Rights

    76 73.08%
  • Against Gay Rights

    28 26.92%
Page 7 of 16 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 153

Thread: Opinions on Homosexuality

  1. #61
    Basketball Nerd
    StillBallin75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Vilseck, Germany
    Last Seen
    12-10-17 @ 07:52 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    21,896

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Hatuey View Post
    Not sure what you mean but I think you should read up on your civil rights history. Opposition to interracial marriage wasn't based around an opposition to state recognition of marriage. It was based around opposition to the interracial marriage itself (miscegenation laws). As a matter of fact states had laws which made it a point to not interracial marriage (most of them were still active up until the late 60s in the Southern US).
    Alright my bad i misunderstood your position.

    But a lot of the opposition to gay marriage is based on the opposition to gay marriage itself, wouldn't you say?
    Nobody who wins a war indulges in a bifurcated definition of victory. War is a political act; victory and defeat have meaning only in political terms. A country incapable of achieving its political objectives at an acceptable cost is losing the war, regardless of battlefield events.

    Bifurcating victory (e.g. winning militarily, losing politically) is a useful salve for defeated armies. The "stab in the back" narrative helped take the sting out of failure for German generals after WWI and their American counterparts after Vietnam.

    All the same, it's nonsense. To paraphrase Vince Lombardi, show me a political loser, and I'll show you a loser.
    - Colonel Paul Yingling

  2. #62
    Dungeon Master
    Hooter Babe

    DiAnna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Northern California
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    32,648
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    I am for the elimination of legalized discrimination, period. I believe it to be unconstitutional to single out any minority group, and forbid them to legally participate in something that every other adult in the country is allowed... marriage. States that are backward enough to discriminate by banning SSM should not be allowed to do so, and a federal mandate should ensure the rights of all homosexuals to marriage anywhere in this country, and force that marriage to be acknowledged for all legal purposes that are granted to heterosexual spouses.

  3. #63
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    The greatest city on Earth
    Last Seen
    08-04-12 @ 04:27 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    31,089

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    this thread is asking peoples' opinions on issues of gay rights.

    its very rude for people to then be attacked, for giving their opinions...especially if they do it politely & civily.

    .......this thread wasn't created to trap & ambush folks.

  4. #64
    Sage
    Hatuey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Last Seen
    Today @ 04:08 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    42,056

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Thunder View Post
    that's very rude.
    Don't you have somebody to accuse of being an antisemite or something? Run along now and go be offended elsewhere.
    I refuse to accept the view that mankind is so tragically bound to the starless midnight of racism and war that the bright daybreak of peace and brotherhood can never become a reality. - MLK

  5. #65
    Basketball Nerd
    StillBallin75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Vilseck, Germany
    Last Seen
    12-10-17 @ 07:52 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    21,896

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Thunder View Post
    this thread is asking peoples' opinions on issues of gay rights.

    its very rude for people to then be attacked, for giving their opinions...especially if they do it politely & civily.

    .......this thread wasn't created to trap & ambush folks.
    If you're referring to me and Kal, Thunder, i didn't "attack" you. I merely asked you a question about what I perceive to be an inconsistency in your position, (a question which you subsequently failed to answer). You are on a debate site. Debating is kinda what goes on here, y'know? Get your beliefs challenged by other posters and all that?
    Last edited by StillBallin75; 02-25-12 at 06:01 PM.
    Nobody who wins a war indulges in a bifurcated definition of victory. War is a political act; victory and defeat have meaning only in political terms. A country incapable of achieving its political objectives at an acceptable cost is losing the war, regardless of battlefield events.

    Bifurcating victory (e.g. winning militarily, losing politically) is a useful salve for defeated armies. The "stab in the back" narrative helped take the sting out of failure for German generals after WWI and their American counterparts after Vietnam.

    All the same, it's nonsense. To paraphrase Vince Lombardi, show me a political loser, and I'll show you a loser.
    - Colonel Paul Yingling

  6. #66
    Sage
    Hatuey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Last Seen
    Today @ 04:08 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    42,056

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by StillBallin75 View Post
    Alright my bad i misunderstood your position.

    But a lot of the opposition to gay marriage is based on the opposition to gay marriage itself, wouldn't you say?
    Yes. That's precisely my point. The whole "The state shouldn't recognize marriage" is a schtick the intellectually dishonest religious fringes fall back on to justify their opposition to gay marriage. I wish there was a poll that showed how many people were against state recognition of marriage 30 years ago vs how many there are today. If compared to support for SSM I bet you that they'd both rise similarly. Legal or governmental recognition of gay marriage undermines the whole farce that is this "christian nation". We can't have that.

    "States rights" is a fallback for whatever discrimination conservatives support.
    Last edited by Hatuey; 02-25-12 at 06:13 PM.
    I refuse to accept the view that mankind is so tragically bound to the starless midnight of racism and war that the bright daybreak of peace and brotherhood can never become a reality. - MLK

  7. #67
    Global Moderator
    The Truth is out there.
    Kal'Stang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bonners Ferry ID USA
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    32,863
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Hatuey View Post
    Yes. That's precisely my point. The whole "The state shouldn't recognize marriage" is a schtick the intellectually dishonest religious fringes fall back on to justify their opposition to gay marriage. I wish there was a poll that showed how many people were against state recognition of marriage 30 years ago vs how many there are today. If compared to support for SSM I bet you that they'd both rise similarly. Legal or governmental recognition of gay marriage undermines the whole farce that is this "christian nation". We can't have that.

    "States rights" is a fallback for whatever discrimination conservatives support.
    There isn't a law out there that can't be considered discriminatory.
    I have an answer for everything...you may not like the answer or it may not satisfy your curiosity..but it will still be an answer. ~ Kal'Stang

    My mind and my heart are saying I'm in my twenties. My body is pointing at my mind and heart and laughing its ass off. ~ Kal'Stang

  8. #68
    Global Moderator
    The Truth is out there.
    Kal'Stang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bonners Ferry ID USA
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    32,863
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Thunder View Post
    this thread is asking peoples' opinions on issues of gay rights.

    its very rude for people to then be attacked, for giving their opinions...especially if they do it politely & civily.

    .......this thread wasn't created to trap & ambush folks.
    Who in this thread is being attacked?
    I have an answer for everything...you may not like the answer or it may not satisfy your curiosity..but it will still be an answer. ~ Kal'Stang

    My mind and my heart are saying I'm in my twenties. My body is pointing at my mind and heart and laughing its ass off. ~ Kal'Stang

  9. #69
    Sage
    Fletch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Mentor Ohio
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 10:22 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    15,276

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    First of all, there is no such thing as gay rights, so I didnt vote in the poll. There are only individual rights that apply to each person equally. Among the rights you have is to associate with whomever you choose and engage in whatever living arrangements and sexual practices you wish with the only caveat being that they be between consenting adults. The issue isnt do you have the right to marry, it is must the state recognize any contractual arrangement as a marriage? And who decides? This doesnt strike me as an issue for judges to determine, but for the public to determine. Should marriage be between one man and one woman? Why not two men? Why not two men and one woman? Why not brother and sister? Father and son? That none of those groups can be rightly denied the freedom to choose to live in such arrangements is, or should be, beyond question. That society must recognize each of those arrangements as a marriage is another matter. And I believe it is one of those societal things that should be decided by popular vote.

  10. #70
    Global Moderator
    The Truth is out there.
    Kal'Stang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bonners Ferry ID USA
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    32,863
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Fletch View Post
    First of all, there is no such thing as gay rights, so I didnt vote in the poll. There are only individual rights that apply to each person equally. Among the rights you have is to associate with whomever you choose and engage in whatever living arrangements and sexual practices you wish with the only caveat being that they be between consenting adults. The issue isnt do you have the right to marry, it is must the state recognize any contractual arrangement as a marriage? And who decides? This doesnt strike me as an issue for judges to determine, but for the public to determine. Should marriage be between one man and one woman? Why not two men? Why not two men and one woman? Why not brother and sister? Father and son? That none of those groups can be rightly denied the freedom to choose to live in such arrangements is, or should be, beyond question. That society must recognize each of those arrangements as a marriage is another matter. And I believe it is one of those societal things that should be decided by popular vote.
    It shouldn't be a states rights issue or be put up to the public to vote on. Marriage is a fundemental right, this was determined by society and SCOTUS long before SSM came into the picture. And rights can only be denied if there is a legitimate state interest to do so. And the only legimate reason for the State to deny a fundemental right is if the exercise of that right in a particular situation is harmful to someone or to society as a whole.

    As for the rest of your post. Three words for ya...Slippery Slope Fallacy. And every single one of them has been debunked many times over.
    I have an answer for everything...you may not like the answer or it may not satisfy your curiosity..but it will still be an answer. ~ Kal'Stang

    My mind and my heart are saying I'm in my twenties. My body is pointing at my mind and heart and laughing its ass off. ~ Kal'Stang

Page 7 of 16 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •