View Poll Results: Are you for or against gay rights?

Voters
104. You may not vote on this poll
  • For Gay Rights

    76 73.08%
  • Against Gay Rights

    28 26.92%
Page 6 of 16 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 153

Thread: Opinions on Homosexuality

  1. #51
    Global Moderator
    The Truth is out there.
    Kal'Stang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bonners Ferry ID USA
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    32,858
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Thunder View Post
    that sounds about right.
    So....like stillballin75 asked...whats the holdup?
    I have an answer for everything...you may not like the answer or it may not satisfy your curiosity..but it will still be an answer. ~ Kal'Stang

    My mind and my heart are saying I'm in my twenties. My body is pointing at my mind and heart and laughing its ass off. ~ Kal'Stang

  2. #52
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    The greatest city on Earth
    Last Seen
    08-04-12 @ 04:27 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    31,089

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by StillBallin75 View Post
    Well, forgive me if I think it's an irrational position for you to support gay marriage, but not want to call it gay marriage.
    i understand.

  3. #53
    Professor
    iacardsfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Last Seen
    11-24-17 @ 09:51 PM
    Lean
    Libertarian
    Posts
    1,981

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    I'm not for gay rights, i'm for the rights of people in general. That is why I say they should be allowed to have rights.
    "Conservatism is the blind and fear-filled worship of dead radicals."
    - Mark Twain
    Run your own nation, play Cybernations.

  4. #54
    Basketball Nerd
    StillBallin75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Vilseck, Germany
    Last Seen
    12-10-17 @ 07:52 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    21,896

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Thunder View Post
    i understand.
    I don't think you do, Thunder. Post #50 was an invitation to explain the inconsistency in your position.
    Nobody who wins a war indulges in a bifurcated definition of victory. War is a political act; victory and defeat have meaning only in political terms. A country incapable of achieving its political objectives at an acceptable cost is losing the war, regardless of battlefield events.

    Bifurcating victory (e.g. winning militarily, losing politically) is a useful salve for defeated armies. The "stab in the back" narrative helped take the sting out of failure for German generals after WWI and their American counterparts after Vietnam.

    All the same, it's nonsense. To paraphrase Vince Lombardi, show me a political loser, and I'll show you a loser.
    - Colonel Paul Yingling

  5. #55
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    The greatest city on Earth
    Last Seen
    08-04-12 @ 04:27 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    31,089

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by StillBallin75 View Post
    I don't think you do, Thunder. Post #50 was an invitation to explain the inconsistency in your position.
    I was asked my opinion. I gave my opinion.


  6. #56
    Global Moderator
    The Hammer of Chaos
    Goshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Dixie
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:22 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    44,159

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by StillBallin75 View Post
    A completely subject judgment that is not based on any objective evidence whatsoever, but is rather based upon religious attitudes, many of which are inherently irrational.


    Nobody is rational about sex.







    An entirely rational man would make a few deposits to the sperm bank, then having done his duty to his species, he'd have himself neutered so that his dick couldn't lead him around by the libedo and get him in trouble.

    Fiddling While Rome Burns
    ISIS: Carthago Delenda Est
    "I used to roll the dice; see the fear in my enemies' eyes... listen as the crowd would sing, 'now the old king is dead, Long Live the King.'.."

  7. #57
    Sage
    Hatuey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Last Seen
    Today @ 11:44 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    42,046

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by digsbe View Post
    Am I for SSM and homosexuals being able to adopt? Yes.

    Am I for taking away the rights of states to define marriage? No.
    Marriage being defined by the state wasn't a problem until the homos wanted to get married too.
    I refuse to accept the view that mankind is so tragically bound to the starless midnight of racism and war that the bright daybreak of peace and brotherhood can never become a reality. - MLK

  8. #58
    Basketball Nerd
    StillBallin75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Vilseck, Germany
    Last Seen
    12-10-17 @ 07:52 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    21,896

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Hatuey View Post
    Is there a point in the history of mankind where the state hasn't defined marriage? It didn't seem to be an issue until the homos wanted to get marriage.
    I think he meant "states" as in the fifty states.

    As to your second point, interracial marriage.
    Nobody who wins a war indulges in a bifurcated definition of victory. War is a political act; victory and defeat have meaning only in political terms. A country incapable of achieving its political objectives at an acceptable cost is losing the war, regardless of battlefield events.

    Bifurcating victory (e.g. winning militarily, losing politically) is a useful salve for defeated armies. The "stab in the back" narrative helped take the sting out of failure for German generals after WWI and their American counterparts after Vietnam.

    All the same, it's nonsense. To paraphrase Vince Lombardi, show me a political loser, and I'll show you a loser.
    - Colonel Paul Yingling

  9. #59
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    The greatest city on Earth
    Last Seen
    08-04-12 @ 04:27 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    31,089

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Hatuey View Post
    Marriage being defined by the state wasn't a problem until the homos wanted to get married too.
    that's very rude.

  10. #60
    Sage
    Hatuey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Last Seen
    Today @ 11:44 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    42,046

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by StillBallin75 View Post
    I think he meant "states" as in the fifty states.

    As to your second point, interracial marriage.
    Not sure what you mean but I think you should read up on your civil rights history. Opposition to interracial marriage wasn't based around an opposition to state recognition of marriage. It was based around opposition to the interracial marriage itself (miscegenation laws). As a matter of fact states had laws which made it a point to not interracial marriage (most of them were still active up until the late 60s in the Southern US).
    I refuse to accept the view that mankind is so tragically bound to the starless midnight of racism and war that the bright daybreak of peace and brotherhood can never become a reality. - MLK

Page 6 of 16 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •