View Poll Results: Are you for or against gay rights?

Voters
104. You may not vote on this poll
  • For Gay Rights

    76 73.08%
  • Against Gay Rights

    28 26.92%
Page 5 of 16 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 153

Thread: Opinions on Homosexuality

  1. #41
    Sage

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Goldsboro,PA
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:12 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    5,596
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Kal'Stang View Post
    I should note that there are times when it is perfectly acceptable to deny a right to a person/group. Example: child marriages. (and i'm not going to bother explaining why it is ok to deny child marriages because if I have to explain then you need your head examined!)
    And there are still societies on this planet where children are "married".
    Rights cannot be absolute and unlimited, obviously.
    There are a great many men who are offended by the very idea of "gay" marriage , this includes me... but to vote against it ???
    Why is our government even involved in marriage ?
    I say - if two people or even a man and his horse wish to share the same bed - so be it...
    But, as far as children go ....there has to be a limit......

  2. #42
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Last Seen
    02-13-13 @ 12:05 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    18,536
    Blog Entries
    4

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    My views are pretty simple.

    1) According to Traditional Christianity, I perceive homosexuality as a sin.

    2) You are to hate the sin, not the sinner.

    3) I don't support gay marriage, but I don't oppose it, either. If there was critical data I could use, I could change to oppose it. Some people say they don't oppose gay marriage because we're not a theocracy, but what exactly is a theocracy?

    4) I have no problem with them adopting/whatever. However, the nuclear family is important, and not something, IMHO, a gay couple can give.

    5) Having a gay cousin and a bisexual cousin, we've had good, respectful discussions on it. It'd be great if more people could be respectful when discussing this issue and not flip-out, per se.

  3. #43
    User Autumn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Last Seen
    03-14-12 @ 03:11 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Liberal
    Posts
    11

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    For

    I do not see how someone being gay hurts heterosexual relationships or society

  4. #44
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Last Seen
    02-13-13 @ 12:05 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    18,536
    Blog Entries
    4

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Autumn View Post
    For

    I do not see how someone being gay hurts heterosexual relationships or society
    It's not about hurting heterosexual relationships. Those who are against homosexuality/gay marriage seem to see it as a warping of our country's moral fiber and marriage.

  5. #45
    Basketball Nerd
    StillBallin75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Vilseck, Germany
    Last Seen
    12-10-17 @ 07:52 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    21,896

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Wake View Post
    It's not about hurting heterosexual relationships. Those who are against homosexuality/gay marriage seem to see it as a warping of our country's moral fiber and marriage.
    A completely subject judgment that is not based on any objective evidence whatsoever, but is rather based upon religious attitudes, many of which are inherently irrational.
    Nobody who wins a war indulges in a bifurcated definition of victory. War is a political act; victory and defeat have meaning only in political terms. A country incapable of achieving its political objectives at an acceptable cost is losing the war, regardless of battlefield events.

    Bifurcating victory (e.g. winning militarily, losing politically) is a useful salve for defeated armies. The "stab in the back" narrative helped take the sting out of failure for German generals after WWI and their American counterparts after Vietnam.

    All the same, it's nonsense. To paraphrase Vince Lombardi, show me a political loser, and I'll show you a loser.
    - Colonel Paul Yingling

  6. #46
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    The greatest city on Earth
    Last Seen
    08-04-12 @ 04:27 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    31,089

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    I support anti-discrimination laws to protect gays.

    However, at this point, I only support domestic partnership & civil union laws for gays. Not marriage.

    however, they should have the same rights..as married couples.

  7. #47
    Global Moderator
    The Truth is out there.
    Kal'Stang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bonners Ferry ID USA
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    32,897
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Goshin View Post
    Well first of all I've never had an opportunity to vote on the issues directly, and don't know that I ever will. Because of my religious beliefs I am obligated to view homosexual marriage as a contradiction in terms and cannot support it; if I were faced with voting "for or against" directly, I would probably have to vote against. Contrariwise I would probably vote 'yes' to civil unions; my objection is applying the term 'marriage' to such unions.

    It is, however, not a major issue to me. I am largely indifferent to what a candidate's position on SSM is and "opposition to SSM" is not one of my criteria for whether I will vote for a candidate. Frankly I think there are far more important things to worry about when voting and it doesn't even reach my Top 20 Things I Want To Know About A Candidate before casting my ballot.




    I do not believe in giving any group special protections. If someone assaults me violently and gets 5 years, there is no reason that an assault of similar severity against a gay man accompanied by anti-gay epithets should result in a 20 year sentence for HIS attacker.... that is not justice in a free country. Crime is crime and violence is violence.
    The only objection I have here is saying that you are obligated because of your religious beliefs to not support it, and by your following sentence I can only assume that is also the reason that you would vote against it.

    Just because you are a part of something does not mean that you are obligated to do everything that you are a part of. I am a part of the US yet I am under no obligation to support everything that the US does or says.
    I have an answer for everything...you may not like the answer or it may not satisfy your curiosity..but it will still be an answer. ~ Kal'Stang

    My mind and my heart are saying I'm in my twenties. My body is pointing at my mind and heart and laughing its ass off. ~ Kal'Stang

  8. #48
    Basketball Nerd
    StillBallin75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Vilseck, Germany
    Last Seen
    12-10-17 @ 07:52 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    21,896

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Thunder View Post
    I support anti-discrimination laws to protect gays.

    However, at this point, I only support domestic partnership & civil union laws for gays. Not marriage.

    however, they should have the same rights..as married couples.
    I don't understand this. If you think that gays should have the same rights and privileges as straight couples, doesn't that mean you support gay marriage in all but name only? What's the hold up?
    Nobody who wins a war indulges in a bifurcated definition of victory. War is a political act; victory and defeat have meaning only in political terms. A country incapable of achieving its political objectives at an acceptable cost is losing the war, regardless of battlefield events.

    Bifurcating victory (e.g. winning militarily, losing politically) is a useful salve for defeated armies. The "stab in the back" narrative helped take the sting out of failure for German generals after WWI and their American counterparts after Vietnam.

    All the same, it's nonsense. To paraphrase Vince Lombardi, show me a political loser, and I'll show you a loser.
    - Colonel Paul Yingling

  9. #49
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    The greatest city on Earth
    Last Seen
    08-04-12 @ 04:27 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    31,089

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by StillBallin75 View Post
    I don't understand this. If you think that gays should have the same rights and privileges as straight couples, doesn't that mean you support gay marriage in all but name only?....
    that sounds about right.

  10. #50
    Basketball Nerd
    StillBallin75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Vilseck, Germany
    Last Seen
    12-10-17 @ 07:52 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    21,896

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Thunder View Post
    that sounds about right.
    Well, forgive me if I think it's an irrational position for you to support gay marriage, but not want to call it gay marriage.
    Nobody who wins a war indulges in a bifurcated definition of victory. War is a political act; victory and defeat have meaning only in political terms. A country incapable of achieving its political objectives at an acceptable cost is losing the war, regardless of battlefield events.

    Bifurcating victory (e.g. winning militarily, losing politically) is a useful salve for defeated armies. The "stab in the back" narrative helped take the sting out of failure for German generals after WWI and their American counterparts after Vietnam.

    All the same, it's nonsense. To paraphrase Vince Lombardi, show me a political loser, and I'll show you a loser.
    - Colonel Paul Yingling

Page 5 of 16 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •