View Poll Results: Are you for or against gay rights?

Voters
104. You may not vote on this poll
  • For Gay Rights

    76 73.08%
  • Against Gay Rights

    28 26.92%
Page 4 of 16 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 153

Thread: Opinions on Homosexuality

  1. #31
    Global Moderator
    The Hammer of Chaos
    Goshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Dixie
    Last Seen
    Today @ 12:03 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    44,158

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Kal'Stang View Post
    Maybe thats the way it should be. We always get into nuances when talking about gay rights. But in the end you are either for ALL gay rights or against gay rights. Even if you agree with them having some rights, if you think that they shouldn't have a "certain" right then you are ultimately against gay rights.

    Sometimes, simpler is better.

    Perfect is the enemy of good.

    This would make me an "enemy of gay rights" simply because I decline to support gay marriage, and oppose special protections like hate-crime laws, I guess.

    Oh well.

    Fiddling While Rome Burns
    ISIS: Carthago Delenda Est
    "I used to roll the dice; see the fear in my enemies' eyes... listen as the crowd would sing, 'now the old king is dead, Long Live the King.'.."

  2. #32
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Where they have FOX on in bars and restaurants
    Last Seen
    09-14-14 @ 02:09 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    14,700

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Live and let live, I truly don't care what you do in bed or who you do it with.

  3. #33
    Global Moderator
    Moderator

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    36,896

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Kal'Stang View Post
    Maybe thats the way it should be. We always get into nuances when talking about gay rights. But in the end you are either for ALL gay rights or against gay rights. Even if you agree with them having some rights, if you think that they shouldn't have a "certain" right then you are ultimately against gay rights.

    Sometimes, simpler is better.
    Either/or, eh?

  4. #34
    Global Moderator
    The Truth is out there.
    Kal'Stang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bonners Ferry ID USA
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    32,858
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Goshin View Post
    Perfect is the enemy of good.

    This would make me an "enemy of gay rights" simply because I decline to support gay marriage, and oppose special protections like hate-crime laws, I guess.

    Oh well.
    First: There is a difference between "declining to support" and actively voting against. Which are you? If you actively vote against it (or would) then yes you are against gay rights. If not then you are not against gay rights. Its like me with abortion, I personally am against it, but I will never vote on a law that tries to ban it.

    Second: Hate crime laws are a whole different ball of wax. While hate crime laws are meant to protect certain groups they are not designed to deny the rights of others or even give special rights. They are simply laws that give a harsher sentence for attacking X group/person.
    I have an answer for everything...you may not like the answer or it may not satisfy your curiosity..but it will still be an answer. ~ Kal'Stang

    My mind and my heart are saying I'm in my twenties. My body is pointing at my mind and heart and laughing its ass off. ~ Kal'Stang

  5. #35
    Global Moderator
    The Truth is out there.
    Kal'Stang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bonners Ferry ID USA
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    32,858
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by nota bene View Post
    Either/or, eh?
    Pretty much yeah. If you attempt to deny even one right to a particular group then you are against them having the full amount of rights that you have.
    I have an answer for everything...you may not like the answer or it may not satisfy your curiosity..but it will still be an answer. ~ Kal'Stang

    My mind and my heart are saying I'm in my twenties. My body is pointing at my mind and heart and laughing its ass off. ~ Kal'Stang

  6. #36
    Sage

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Goldsboro,PA
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 12:16 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    5,595
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    So, exactly what is "gay" about them ?
    A lifetime of facing sneers to outright hatred ? ... even death...
    And the question is utterly stupid....so - no vote !
    The disabled, disabled in any way, must have their rights.
    To take them away is the height of hatred and fear...and cowardness.
    By "disabled", I mean anyone other than "perfect"..

  7. #37
    Global Moderator
    The Truth is out there.
    Kal'Stang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bonners Ferry ID USA
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    32,858
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    I should note that there are times when it is perfectly acceptable to deny a right to a person/group. Example: child marriages. (and i'm not going to bother explaining why it is ok to deny child marriages because if I have to explain then you need your head examined!)
    I have an answer for everything...you may not like the answer or it may not satisfy your curiosity..but it will still be an answer. ~ Kal'Stang

    My mind and my heart are saying I'm in my twenties. My body is pointing at my mind and heart and laughing its ass off. ~ Kal'Stang

  8. #38
    Educator
    taxigirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Last Seen
    10-21-16 @ 06:42 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Socialist
    Posts
    1,205

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Kal'Stang View Post
    I should note that there are times when it is perfectly acceptable to deny a right to a person/group. Example: child marriages. (and i'm not going to bother explaining why it is ok to deny child marriages because if I have to explain then you need your head examined!)
    you mean 10 year olds or 16 year olds

    "You know, when they came and took away my fourth amendment I kept my yap shut, what the hell, I really didnít have anything to hide anyway. When they grabbed up my second amendment I sat still and bit my tongue because, truth be told, Iím allergic to guns. But here we are, you with your cold hard fingers wrapped around the neck of my first amendment and Iíve got to shout as loud as I can, because if I donít, before you know it, you wonít let me say nothing at all"
    --Randolph J. Dworkin

    ďReading makes a full man, meditation a profound man, discourse a clear man.Ē
    -- Ben Franklin

    "It has been said that something as small as the flutter of a butterfly's wing can ultimately cause a typhoon halfway around the world"
    -- Chaos Theory

  9. #39
    Sage

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Goldsboro,PA
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 12:16 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    5,595
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Viktyr Korimir View Post
    I support equal marriage and kinship rights for homosexuals, and for age-of-consent laws to be equivalent for heterosexual and homosexual sex. Beyond that, I can't think of any other "gay rights" that gays require or that I would support.

    But I'll confess, I have yet to see a "gay pride parade" that didn't make me long for the days of attack dogs and firehoses. There are always hundreds or thousands of respectable men and women marching in decent clothes with their partners-- and a bunch of goddamned perverts running around naked, or wearing S&M gear, or just generally being offensive to moral order. And the decent family queers put up with them because they're "fighting for the same cause".
    And you call yourself a "Progressive" ??
    Well, at least you are honest...
    And, when are we going to see a cancer sufferers rights parade ???
    We need a more intelligent people.
    I for one find the "moral order" to be offensive !
    Last edited by earthworm; 02-25-12 at 09:04 AM.

  10. #40
    Global Moderator
    The Hammer of Chaos
    Goshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Dixie
    Last Seen
    Today @ 12:03 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    44,158

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Kal'Stang View Post
    First: There is a difference between "declining to support" and actively voting against. Which are you? If you actively vote against it (or would) then yes you are against gay rights. If not then you are not against gay rights. Its like me with abortion, I personally am against it, but I will never vote on a law that tries to ban it.
    Well first of all I've never had an opportunity to vote on the issues directly, and don't know that I ever will. Because of my religious beliefs I am obligated to view homosexual marriage as a contradiction in terms and cannot support it; if I were faced with voting "for or against" directly, I would probably have to vote against. Contrariwise I would probably vote 'yes' to civil unions; my objection is applying the term 'marriage' to such unions.

    It is, however, not a major issue to me. I am largely indifferent to what a candidate's position on SSM is and "opposition to SSM" is not one of my criteria for whether I will vote for a candidate. Frankly I think there are far more important things to worry about when voting and it doesn't even reach my Top 20 Things I Want To Know About A Candidate before casting my ballot.


    Second: Hate crime laws are a whole different ball of wax. While hate crime laws are meant to protect certain groups they are not designed to deny the rights of others or even give special rights. They are simply laws that give a harsher sentence for attacking X group/person.
    I do not believe in giving any group special protections. If someone assaults me violently and gets 5 years, there is no reason that an assault of similar severity against a gay man accompanied by anti-gay epithets should result in a 20 year sentence for HIS attacker.... that is not justice in a free country. Crime is crime and violence is violence.

    Fiddling While Rome Burns
    ISIS: Carthago Delenda Est
    "I used to roll the dice; see the fear in my enemies' eyes... listen as the crowd would sing, 'now the old king is dead, Long Live the King.'.."

Page 4 of 16 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •