View Poll Results: Are you for or against gay rights?

Voters
104. You may not vote on this poll
  • For Gay Rights

    76 73.08%
  • Against Gay Rights

    28 26.92%
Page 3 of 16 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 153

Thread: Opinions on Homosexuality

  1. #21
    Equal Opportunity Hater
    obvious Child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    0.0, -2.3 on the Political Compass
    Last Seen
    12-09-14 @ 11:36 PM
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    19,883

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    I'm against the concept of government marriage period.

    Convert marriage to civil unions for all and let people define and value marriage on their own. The way it's suppose to be.

    I honestly feel that many people who are against gay marriage on the argument of sanctity define their marriage's value by what society tells them its worth, not what they put into it. And honestly, those people shouldn't be married in the first place.
    Last edited by obvious Child; 02-24-12 at 04:06 AM.
    "If your opponent is of choleric temperament, seek to irritate him." - Sun Tzu

  2. #22
    Finite and Precious
    Jredbaron96's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    With you.
    Last Seen
    Today @ 02:53 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    7,882
    Blog Entries
    2

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Why would I grant one group a privelage but deny it to another?
    "Human kindness has never weakened the stamina or softened the fiber of a free people. A nation does not have to be cruel to be tough."
    -FDR

  3. #23
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    United States
    Last Seen
    01-21-16 @ 12:21 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    51,124

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Jredbaron96 View Post
    Why would I grant one group a privelage but deny it to another?
    You can allow polygamy if you want, but this thread is about homosexuality, not marital status or free religious expression.

  4. #24
    Finite and Precious
    Jredbaron96's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    With you.
    Last Seen
    Today @ 02:53 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    7,882
    Blog Entries
    2

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Jerry View Post
    You can allow polygamy if you want, but this thread is about homosexuality, not marital status or free religious expression.
    I fail to see how polygamy relates to my statement.
    "Human kindness has never weakened the stamina or softened the fiber of a free people. A nation does not have to be cruel to be tough."
    -FDR

  5. #25
    Global Moderator
    Rage More!
    Your Star's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Georgia
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Liberal
    Posts
    26,362

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Jredbaron96 View Post
    I fail to see how polygamy relates to my statement.
    It doesn't.
    Eat me, drink me, love me;
    Laura make much of me

  6. #26
    Educator
    taxigirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Last Seen
    10-21-16 @ 06:42 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Socialist
    Posts
    1,205

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Viktyr Korimir View Post
    I support equal marriage and kinship rights for homosexuals, and for age-of-consent laws to be equivalent for heterosexual and homosexual sex. Beyond that, I can't think of any other "gay rights" that gays require or that I would support
    .

    A lot of people say this and don't that homosexuals do not have the same rights that heterosexuals, and there are no "extra rights". There is no federal law against housing discrimination that protects homosexuals, several states and municipalities have their own laws, but for the most part if you are gay a landlod can say you may not rent or you can be refused a loan for housing etc...

    There are few employment laws explicity protecting homosexuals, there are other laws that they can argue with (ex. sexual harrassment) but there is no guarantee that they will stand up.

    There are also no protections in place in cases of medical care (unless it comes to federal dollars) for visitation, rights to make medical decisions. The parties involved must have power of attorney, healthcare proxies etc.. If these are not in place then homosexuals do not have the rights as heterosexuals.

    Some federal laws have been enacted to protect them from discrimination in FEDERAL housing and employment, but nothing to stop the private sector.

    These are the rights that heterosexuals have. They are not "extra" rights.
    Last edited by taxigirl; 02-25-12 at 12:15 AM.

    "You know, when they came and took away my fourth amendment I kept my yap shut, what the hell, I really didnít have anything to hide anyway. When they grabbed up my second amendment I sat still and bit my tongue because, truth be told, Iím allergic to guns. But here we are, you with your cold hard fingers wrapped around the neck of my first amendment and Iíve got to shout as loud as I can, because if I donít, before you know it, you wonít let me say nothing at all"
    --Randolph J. Dworkin

    ďReading makes a full man, meditation a profound man, discourse a clear man.Ē
    -- Ben Franklin

    "It has been said that something as small as the flutter of a butterfly's wing can ultimately cause a typhoon halfway around the world"
    -- Chaos Theory

  7. #27
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    United States
    Last Seen
    01-21-16 @ 12:21 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    51,124

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Jredbaron96 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Jredbaron96 View Post
    Why would I grant one group a privelage but deny it to another?
    I fail to see how polygamy relates to my statement.
    When you use vague terms, you allow the reader to fill in the details.

  8. #28
    Guru
    ChuckBerry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Lafayette, Louisiana
    Last Seen
    10-28-13 @ 01:24 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    3,491

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by DaveFagan View Post
    After all, who would represent the animal in court?
    Gloria Allred.
    The morality of abortion is not a religious belief, any more than the morality of slavery, apartheid, rape, larceny, murder or arson is a religious belief. These are norms of the natural law of mankind and can be legislated even in a completely religionless society.

  9. #29
    Global Moderator
    The Hammer of Chaos
    Goshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Dixie
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 12:28 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    44,185

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by KnowYourRights! View Post
    What is your opinion on homosexuality? What are your beliefs and why?

    I personally believe that homosexuals should have the same rights as heterosexuals. If an attraction to the same gender makes someone happy who are you to tell them that it's wrong? If it makes them happy why do you want to interfere with that? Just because someone may have a different preference than you do that doesn't make them wrong. For those of you who oppose homosexuality I have a question for you. How would you feel if being gay was the "normal" thing and homosexuals were discriminating against you and telling you that your preference is wrong? Put yourself into their shoes and just consider what they go through. Homosexuals are people too and they deserve every right that a heterosexual has. Let them be together, let them get married, let them raise children, and let them be happy.

    The poll is too narrowly construed with too few options. Impossible to express any nuance of opinion, just on/off.

    Fiddling While Rome Burns
    ISIS: Carthago Delenda Est
    "I used to roll the dice; see the fear in my enemies' eyes... listen as the crowd would sing, 'now the old king is dead, Long Live the King.'.."

  10. #30
    Global Moderator
    The Truth is out there.
    Kal'Stang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bonners Ferry ID USA
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    32,868
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Opinions on Homosexuality

    Quote Originally Posted by Goshin View Post
    The poll is too narrowly construed with too few options. Impossible to express any nuance of opinion, just on/off.
    Maybe thats the way it should be. We always get into nuances when talking about gay rights. But in the end you are either for ALL gay rights or against gay rights. Even if you agree with them having some rights, if you think that they shouldn't have a "certain" right then you are ultimately against gay rights.

    Sometimes, simpler is better.
    I have an answer for everything...you may not like the answer or it may not satisfy your curiosity..but it will still be an answer. ~ Kal'Stang

    My mind and my heart are saying I'm in my twenties. My body is pointing at my mind and heart and laughing its ass off. ~ Kal'Stang

Page 3 of 16 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •