View Poll Results: Is majority/popular opinion always right?

Voters
98. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, the majority is always right.

    0 0%
  • The majority is right more often than not.

    9 9.18%
  • Meh. No correlation whatsoever.

    40 40.82%
  • They're never right. I'm always right!

    49 50.00%
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Is majority/popular opinion always right?

  1. #1
    Phonetic Mnemonic
    radcen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Look to your right... I'm that guy.
    Last Seen
    Today @ 12:08 AM
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    33,432

    Is majority/popular opinion always right?

    Is majority/popular opinion always right?

    This question is prompted by various current discussions regarding (in)tolerance, political correctness, specific world views, and so on. A general underlying theme seems to be that "X" is correct because most people say "X" is correct. Now, most people, I think, would deny this and insist on their absolute independence in thought, but that's not necessarily what I observe.

    I guess what I'm getting at is: How often does unpopular opinion or points-of-view prove to be the correct ones in the end?

  2. #2
    Basketball Nerd
    StillBallin75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Vilseck, Germany
    Last Seen
    12-10-17 @ 07:52 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    21,896

    Re: Is majority/popular opinion always right?

    Uhh, of course not. What you are referring to is argumentum ad populum - appeal to the majority.

    There are many situations in which unpopular opinions seem to be proven correct in the end. You see this in all facets of life - sports, politics, economics, science, etc.
    Nobody who wins a war indulges in a bifurcated definition of victory. War is a political act; victory and defeat have meaning only in political terms. A country incapable of achieving its political objectives at an acceptable cost is losing the war, regardless of battlefield events.

    Bifurcating victory (e.g. winning militarily, losing politically) is a useful salve for defeated armies. The "stab in the back" narrative helped take the sting out of failure for German generals after WWI and their American counterparts after Vietnam.

    All the same, it's nonsense. To paraphrase Vince Lombardi, show me a political loser, and I'll show you a loser.
    - Colonel Paul Yingling

  3. #3
    Educator Dogger807's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Last Seen
    12-15-17 @ 11:47 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Liberal
    Posts
    979

    Re: Is majority/popular opinion always right?

    One word "disco"
    Ignorance is the refuge of faith
    It's become very apparent that there is nothing respectable about faith
    "If you could reason with religious people, there would be no religious people"

  4. #4
    Sage

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Goldsboro,PA
    Last Seen
    12-15-17 @ 04:07 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    5,596
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Is majority/popular opinion always right?

    A thread for 41 egotists !
    By the time we are finished defining terms...but its obvious...only sometimes is the majority right..there is no correlation.
    Last edited by earthworm; 12-14-11 at 09:05 AM.

  5. #5
    Global Moderator
    Custom User Title
    LaughAtTheWorld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Seoul/Chicago
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 05:35 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    9,542

    Re: Is majority/popular opinion always right?

    What kind of an idiotic motion is this anyways?
    "The misery of being exploited by capitalists is nothing compared to the misery of not being exploited at all" - Joan Robinson
    "The inherent vice of capitalism is the unequal sharing of blessings; the inherent virtue of socialism is the equal sharing of miseries" - Winston Churchill

  6. #6
    Educator
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    ATL
    Last Seen
    07-07-12 @ 09:00 PM
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    1,172

    Re: Is majority/popular opinion always right?

    An opinion is an opinion whether it is shared by the majority or the minority. Opinions are neither right or wrong.
    I love the smell of burning moonbat in the morning.

  7. #7
    Light△Bender

    grip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    ☚ ☛
    Last Seen
    12-13-17 @ 02:42 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    17,224
    Blog Entries
    2

    Re: Is majority/popular opinion always right?

    A mob is a majority. When the majority is united for self interested reasons, then they're selfish but when it's for the purpose of fairness they're being fair... depends on the majority and your opinion.

    I never liked cliques in high school because they had superficial qualifications to become members. Though I was invited into many I thought they were kind of cruel to those (nerds) who couldn't seem to fit in. I didn't hate the cliques and had many friends in them, they were just sort of lame-o, shunning uniqueness.

    But if you think the whole world is crazy and you're the only sane one, you might be wrong.
    Last edited by grip; 12-14-11 at 11:01 AM.

  8. #8
    Sage
    lpast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Fla
    Last Seen
    05-21-16 @ 10:12 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    13,565

    Re: Is majority/popular opinion always right?

    The majority isnt always right....but the majority mostly rules...especially in politics which I believe we are referring to.

  9. #9
    Sage
    Medusa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Turkey
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 12:16 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    38,081

    Re: Is majority/popular opinion always right?

    the majority mustnt have the right of being right because of their majority

  10. #10
    Guru
    99percenter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Chicago
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:20 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    4,076

    Re: Is majority/popular opinion always right?

    Sometimes we have to protect the minority from the majority.
    bears, bulls, white sox fan 4 life!!!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •