View Poll Results: Is majority/popular opinion always right?

Voters
98. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, the majority is always right.

    0 0%
  • The majority is right more often than not.

    9 9.18%
  • Meh. No correlation whatsoever.

    40 40.82%
  • They're never right. I'm always right!

    49 50.00%
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: Is majority/popular opinion always right?

  1. #11
    Advisor Blue Dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    New York
    Last Seen
    01-21-15 @ 06:53 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    426

    Re: Is majority/popular opinion always right?

    The majority does not always make something right any more than freedom of speech is absolute.
    My family is more important than my party.
    -Zell Miller

  2. #12
    Sage
    Ikari's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Colorado
    Last Seen
    12-08-17 @ 01:05 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Left
    Posts
    54,124

    Re: Is majority/popular opinion always right?

    Mob rule is rarely a good thing, and certainly not sustainable.
    You know the time is right to take control, we gotta take offense against the status quo

    Quote Originally Posted by A. de Tocqueville
    "I should have loved freedom, I believe, at all times, but in the time in which we live I am ready to worship it."

  3. #13
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Prague, Czech Rep.
    Last Seen
    10-10-12 @ 02:44 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    1,880

    Re: Is majority/popular opinion always right?

    It depends on the intellect of the majority. To wit: Islamic Fundamentalist winning elections and President Obama.

  4. #14
    Sage
    Bodhisattva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    New Zealand
    Last Seen
    Today @ 11:22 AM
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    64,083

    Re: Is majority/popular opinion always right?

    Quote Originally Posted by StillBallin75 View Post
    Uhh, of course not. What you are referring to is argumentum ad populum - appeal to the majority.

    There are many situations in which unpopular opinions seem to be proven correct in the end. You see this in all facets of life - sports, politics, economics, science, etc.
    Yeah... go to any local team and watch the fans boo a good call in which means their team will lose. 60,000 fans are wrong and 1 ref is right.
    Quote Originally Posted by Bucky View Post
    I have pooped in public, even in public neighborhoods.
    Quote Originally Posted by OldFatGuy View Post
    Usually a gag for wise mouthed insulting little girls. Then some good nylon rope so I can tie them up, toss them in the trunk of my car and forget about them.

  5. #15
    Sage
    SmokeAndMirrors's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    RVA
    Last Seen
    Today @ 04:08 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    18,174

    Re: Is majority/popular opinion always right?

    No. But how likely a majority is to indicate correctness depends on what their opinion is based on. Even if it's very good reason or evidence, that's still not a guarantee of being correct - it just up's the odds.

  6. #16
    Sage
    misterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Last Seen
    02-09-12 @ 08:41 AM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    12,913

    Re: Is majority/popular opinion always right?

    Who else finds it amusing that this thread is a poll?
    "Yes I read the 9th [amendment]. It doesn't say **** about abortion." -Jamesrage

  7. #17
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Prague, Czech Rep.
    Last Seen
    10-10-12 @ 02:44 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    1,880

    Re: Is majority/popular opinion always right?

    Quote Originally Posted by misterman View Post
    Who else finds it amusing that this thread is a poll?
    Weird, 71 people voted and only one response was correct. That's the problem with always being right, but I suppose it may be understandable since there was no Only Meathead is Right response.

  8. #18
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Last Seen
    02-13-13 @ 12:05 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    18,536
    Blog Entries
    4

    Re: Is majority/popular opinion always right?

    If mass = correct...

    ...then yes.

    You see it often, how the majority votes on our laws. Either numbers or might equals "right."

  9. #19
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    The greatest city on Earth
    Last Seen
    08-04-12 @ 04:27 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    31,089

    Re: Is majority/popular opinion always right?

    we have to first define "right".

    one man's right is another man's wrong.

  10. #20
    Iconoclast
    DaveFagan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    wny
    Last Seen
    Today @ 10:48 AM
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    7,307

    Re: Is majority/popular opinion always right?

    "If a lie is repeated 100 times, it is perceived to be a truth," and the media advertisers pay a lot of money to manage "perceptions." We'll be seeing a lot of it this coming year. An election year. There will be lots of opinions, but everyone will be wrong because noone will have truth to work with. However, a majority will be correct by default, or not. Just look back a little. We suffered eight years of GWShiiteForBrains, tax cuts that did not create jobs and now the GWSoupForBrains Great Depression and the majority ruled. Were they right?????

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •