View Poll Results: Pick as many as apply

Voters
31. You may not vote on this poll
  • The TSA can do whateverthey want - including strip searches and body cavaty searches

    3 9.68%
  • The TSA should have limits on how invasive a search can be

    15 48.39%
  • The TSA is ineffective and should not exist at all

    11 35.48%
  • The TSA is necessary, but currently ineffective

    7 22.58%
  • The TSA is necessary and effective

    5 16.13%
  • The TSA should not exist (for reason(s) other than being ineffective)

    8 25.81%
  • The enhanced patdowns are excessive and need to be dropped.

    13 41.94%
  • The enhanced patdowns are excessive and need to be modified.

    6 19.35%
  • The enhanced patdowns are necessary to assure safety.

    3 9.68%
  • Less invasive and equally thorough methods are available.

    12 38.71%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 1 of 16 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 159

Thread: Opinions about the TSA and practices

  1. #1
    200M yrs of experience
    Frolicking Dinosaurs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Southeastern USA
    Last Seen
    05-07-12 @ 12:19 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    2,166

    Opinions about the TSA and practices

    I get patted down every single time I board a plane or ship thanks to metal in my hip and leg. I've had respectful pat downs and several that had me wanting to file sexual assault charges.
    I don't want to see religious bigotry in any form. It would disturb me if there was wedding between the religious fundamentalists and political right. The hard right has no interest in religion except to manipulate it. ~ Billy Graham in Parade magazine February 1, 1981.

  2. #2
    Educator Jucon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    USA
    Last Seen
    04-22-14 @ 07:52 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    787

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by Frolicking Dinosaurs View Post
    I get patted down every single time I board a plane or ship thanks to metal in my hip and leg. I've had respectful pat downs and several that had me wanting to file sexual assault charges.
    I have been patted down before, and afterwards I went on with my day without thinking twice about what had happened. It is unfortunate that you have to deal with the pat downs every time you fly, and I feel better procedures can be implemented in your case and especially when dealing with children. But for me personally I have no objections to the pat downs.
    "There is nothing which I dread so much as a division of the republic into two great parties, each arranged under its leader, and concerting measures in opposition to each other. This, in my humble apprehension, it to be dreaded as the greatest political evil under our Constitution." —John Adams

  3. #3
    Sage
    jamesrage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    A place where common sense exists
    Last Seen
    12-10-17 @ 09:23 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    31,067

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Invasive pat downs and virtual strip searches should be illegal without a warrant. Last I checked "only applies only on the inside of your home" was not in the fourth amendment.If people wish for the government to strip search your and invasive pat downs without a warrant then there is an amendment process for changing the the constitution.
    "A nation can survive its fools, and even the ambitious. But it cannot survive treason from within. An enemy at the gates is less formidable, for he is known and carries his banner openly. But the traitor moves amongst those within the gate freely, his sly whispers rustling through all the alleys, heard in the very halls of government itself. For the traitor appears not a traitor; he speaks in accents familiar to his victims, and he wears their face and their arguments, he appeals to the baseness that lies deep in the hearts of all men. He rots the soul of a nation, he works secretly and unknown in the night to undermine the pillars of the city, he infects the body politic so that it can no longer resist. A murder is less to fear"

    Cicero Marcus Tullius

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    In your dreams...
    Last Seen
    05-29-12 @ 02:53 PM
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    10,621

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    How do we deter underwear bombers?

  5. #5
    200M yrs of experience
    Frolicking Dinosaurs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Southeastern USA
    Last Seen
    05-07-12 @ 12:19 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    2,166

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    I had a pat down in Hawaii last fall that involved being patted from ankle to ankle; having my bra strap pulled out, the agent reaching up in my cleavage and feeling around; and bending over to have my butt-crack checked. I think the agents were upset because I declined to be X-rayed. I declined because in previous airports I had to be patted down after the x-ray because it still shows a lot of metal in the area that could conceivably be a weapon.

    What really upsets me is that when I set the alarms off in courthouses and federal buildings, they use a hand-held wand to identify the area causing the alarm and just pat that area down. That just seems so much saner than the TSA method.
    I don't want to see religious bigotry in any form. It would disturb me if there was wedding between the religious fundamentalists and political right. The hard right has no interest in religion except to manipulate it. ~ Billy Graham in Parade magazine February 1, 1981.

  6. #6
    I'm kind of a big deal

    AGENT J's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Last Seen
    Today @ 01:01 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    44,807

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    not sure I can answer the poll but ill answer your question.

    Ill give you some opinions and facts.

    Opinions:
    "In general" I dont like the TSA, the need for them and their policies
    I think its sad we need the TSA
    If a person wants debate their policies vs effectiveness have at it.
    I dont like the poorly trained personnel

    Facts:
    no laws are broken by TSA Policies, they do NOT violate the constitution.


    Conclusion:

    While Im not a fan, I fly frequently and am not phased by the TSA, they dont bother me and Id rather have them than not. Before, during and after my searches I think about them very little beyond conversations that I come across.
    This space is currently owned by The Great Winchester, stay tuned for future messages!
    Make America Great Again!
    Pro-Equal Rights / Pro-Gun Rights / Pro-Human Rights / Pro-Choice

  7. #7
    Educator Jucon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    USA
    Last Seen
    04-22-14 @ 07:52 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    787

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by jamesrage View Post
    Invasive pat downs and virtual strip searches should be illegal without a warrant. Last I checked "only applies only on the inside of your home" was not in the fourth amendment.If people wish for the government to strip search your and invasive pat downs without a warrant then there is an amendment process for changing the the constitution.
    So by your analysis of the constitution, the TSA should need a warrant to search or scan your carry-on as well? Or am I reading your comment wrong?

    A police office shouldn't need a warrant to check you for weapons or contraband. Nor should a TSA officer who is ensuring safety on flights. If you don't like the pat downs, don't travel. Or drive to your destination. Or just quit looking so suspicious when you fly
    "There is nothing which I dread so much as a division of the republic into two great parties, each arranged under its leader, and concerting measures in opposition to each other. This, in my humble apprehension, it to be dreaded as the greatest political evil under our Constitution." —John Adams

  8. #8
    Dungeon Master
    Veni, vidi, dormivi!

    spud_meister's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Didjabringabeeralong
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    33,874
    Blog Entries
    8

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by SE102 View Post
    How do we deter underwear bombers?
    If they're strapping explosives to their penis, I don't think we can deter them.
    So follow me into the desert
    As desperate as you are
    Where the moon is glued to a picture of heaven
    And all the little pigs have God

  9. #9
    Electrician
    Bob Blaylock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    North 38°28′ West 121°26′
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 10:35 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    13,745

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by jamesrage View Post
    Invasive pat downs and virtual strip searches should be illegal without a warrant. Last I checked "only applies only on the inside of your home" was not in the fourth amendment.If people wish for the government to strip search your and invasive pat downs without a warrant then there is an amendment process for changing the the constitution.
    I completely agree.

    I'll go a bit further. These enhanced pat-downs and virtual strip searches ARE illegal.

    The Fourth Amendment is clear enough on setting limits on the authority of government to conduct any invasive searches of any kind. The searches being conducted by the TSA do not come anywhere even close to satisfying the Fourth Amendment, therefore, there is no authority to conduct these searches.

    Lacking such authority, various laws concerning assault apply. Touching someone without his consent is assault. Touching someone's intimate areas without consent is sexual assault. This conduct is illegal.

    I believe that the Fourth Nuremberg Principle should certainly apply here. “I was just following orders” should not be accepted as an excuse.

    TSA agents who conduct invasive strip searches and pat-downs, without proper probable cause, ought to be arrested and tried on appropriate charges of assault, sexual molestation, and violation of the victims' civil rights.

    As an American, I find it deeply shameful that my countrymen have become so complacent and cowardly that such outrageous conduct by agents of our government toward our people is tolerated. If the same spirit that prevailed at the time this nation was founded still prevailed today, this would not have gone nearly so far before it would have become routine for TSA perverts to be tarred and feathered, or even beaten to death by angry mobs.

    The great men who founded this country would not have even thought of tolerating this kind of crap from their government. Shame on us for tolerating it.
    The five great lies of the Left Wrong:
    We can be Godless and free. • “Social justice” through forced redistribution of wealth. • Silencing religious opinions counts as “diversity”. • Freedom without moral and personal responsibility. • Civilization can survive the intentional undermining of the family.

  10. #10
    Sage
    jamesrage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    A place where common sense exists
    Last Seen
    12-10-17 @ 09:23 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    31,067

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by Jucon View Post
    So by your analysis of the constitution, the TSA should need a warrant to search or scan your carry-on as well? Or am I reading your comment wrong?
    Carry-ons are personal effects and therefore one of those things the forth amendment protects against unreasonable searches and seizure without a warrant.

    The right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and no Warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause, supported by Oath or affirmation, and particularly describing the place to be searched, and the persons or things to be seized.

    A police office shouldn't need a warrant to check you for weapons or contraband.
    So a police office should be able to walk up to you on the street and give you an invasive patdown and strip search of you and your property?

    If you want police to be able to do that then you need to petition the government to go through the amendment process to flush the 4th amendment down the drain.


    Nor should a TSA officer who is ensuring safety on flights. If you don't like the pat downs, don't travel. Or drive to your destination. Or just quit looking so suspicious when you fly
    You realize that more terrorist attacks have happened on trains,cars and buses than on airplanes.So buy your logic if you do not like to be virtually stripped searched then you should not step foot outside your home.
    Last edited by jamesrage; 09-20-11 at 11:56 AM.
    "A nation can survive its fools, and even the ambitious. But it cannot survive treason from within. An enemy at the gates is less formidable, for he is known and carries his banner openly. But the traitor moves amongst those within the gate freely, his sly whispers rustling through all the alleys, heard in the very halls of government itself. For the traitor appears not a traitor; he speaks in accents familiar to his victims, and he wears their face and their arguments, he appeals to the baseness that lies deep in the hearts of all men. He rots the soul of a nation, he works secretly and unknown in the night to undermine the pillars of the city, he infects the body politic so that it can no longer resist. A murder is less to fear"

    Cicero Marcus Tullius

Page 1 of 16 12311 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •